Exhibition Queer As German Folk

Abschlussdemonstration des Pfingsttreffens der Homosexuellen Aktion-West Photo: Rüdiger Trautsch, SMU Berlin

Sat, 06/15/2019 -
Thu, 09/26/2019

James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Center, Main Library

100 Larkin Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

A Transatlantic Commemoration of the Stonewall Riots

The 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots in New York offers an opportunity to outline the current state of discourse on queer emancipation.

The German component of the exhibit was curated by Birgit Bosold, from the curatorial team of the Homosexualität_en exhibition and the management team of the Schwules Museum Berlin. Co-curated by Carina Klugbauer, also from the Schwules Museum, the exhibition aims to focus on the close and vital interactions between the German and US-American movements while also taking criticisms into account about the perceived illegitimate appropriation of this pivotal moment of queer history by a white, gay, middle-class mainstream. The exhibition will attempt to draw a picture that is historically more comprehensive, which also means not losing sight of the growth of the homosexual emancipation movement in the GDR. Even though the striking milestones of German-American rainbow friendship may be well known, the collection will tap into specifically marginalized and as yet under-researched traditions, for example with regard to the Black German Movement or the history of the trans movement.

The scenography is being developed by the Berlin agency chezweitz, who were also responsible for the Homosexualität_en exhibition by the German Historical Museum and the Schwules Museum.

A companion booklet will be printed in English, Spanish, French and German.

Partner of the Goethe-Institut San Francisco is the James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Center, San Francisco Public Library.

#queerasgermanfolk #stonewall50 #Goethe San Francisco

Exhibition Curators

Birgit Bosold has been a member of the board of the Gay Museum since 2006. She was the project manager and co-curator of the exhibition "Homosexualität_en", initiated by the Gay Museum in collaboration with the German Historical Museum. Most recently, together with Vera Hofmann, she was project manager for the "Jahr der Frau_en" - a queer-feminine annual program of the Gay Museum for 2018. In this context she curated the overview exhibition Lesbian Vision with more than 30 positions of queer artists from the past 100 years together with Carina Klugbauer.

Carina Klugbauer is a research assistant at the Gay Museum Berlin. She helped curate the 2017 traveling exhibition "Outrageous" for the Hessian Ministry of Social Affairs and Integration within the framework of the research project on the persecution and discrimination of lesbian women and gay men in Hesse from 1945-1985. In 2018 she curated the queer art exhibition "Lesbian Vision" together with Birgit Bosold for the annual program "Jahr der Frau_en". She supervised the museum education programs in the Gay Museum and conceived the youth workshop "Magnus, Lili and Rosa" to convey LGBTIQ* history and to raise awareness of sexual and gender diversity.

Jim Van Buskirk was the founding program manager of the James C. Hormel LGBGTQIA Center at the San Francisco Public Library from 1992-2007, and currently works as a book group facilitator, writer, editor, public speaker, exhibit curator, and collections manager. His writing has appeared in various books, newspapers, magazines, websites, and broadcasts and he presents programs on film, queer history, and other topics. He co-authored with Susan Stryker Gay by the Bay: A History of Queer Culture in the San Francisco Bay Area and co-edited with Katherine V. Forrest Love, Castro Street: Reflections of San Francisco. Visit www.jimvanbuskirk.com.
 

This event is part of the Goethe-Institut New York’s Queer as German Folk series, with which we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall riots in 2019 as a milestone in the fight for gender diversity and equality.

Queer as German Folk is a project of the Goethe-Institut North America in collaboration with the Schwules Museum, Berlin, and the German Federal Agency for Civic Education.

Back

Ausstellung Queer As German Folk

Abschlussdemonstration des Pfingsttreffens der Homosexuellen Aktion-West Foto: Rüdiger Trautsch, SMU Berlin

Sa, 15.06.2019 -
Do, 26.09.2019

James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Center, Main Library

100 Larkin Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

A Transatlantic Commemoration of the Stonewall Riots

Queer as German Folk nimmt das 50-jährige Jubiläum der Stonewall Riots in New York zum Anlass, den aktuellen Diskurs zur Queer-Emanzipation vor dem Hintergrund des vergangenen halben Jahrhunderts zu skizzieren und zu hinterfragen.

Die Ausstellungsteile zur deutschen Emanzipationsbewegung wurden von Birgit Bosold und Carina Klugbauer vom Schwulen Museum Berlin kuratiert. Diese Komponenten konzentrieren sich einerseits auf die engen und vitalen Wechselwirkungen zwischen der deutschen und der US-amerikanischen Bewegung. Andererseits wird der Kritik an der als illegitim wahrgenommenen Aneignung zentraler Momente queerer Geschichte durch einen Mainstream Rechnung getragen. Hierüber stellt die Ausstellung einen Versuch dar, ein historisch vollständigeres Bild zu zeichnen, was auch bedeutet, die Entwicklung der homosexuellen Emanzipationsbewegung in der DDR miteinzubeziehen. Obgleich markante Meilensteine der deutsch-amerikanischen Regenbogenfreundschaft bekannt sein mögen, werden gezielt marginalisierte und bisher wenig erforschte und entsprechend unterrepräsentierte Traditionen erschlossen. Den lokalen Teil der Ausstellung kuratiert Jim Van Buskirk.

Die Entwicklung der Szenografie übernimmt die Berliner Agentur chezweitz, die bereits an der Ausstellung „Homosexualität_en“ des Deutschen Historischen Museums und des Schwulen Museums beteiligt war.

Ein Begleitbuch zur Ausstellung liegt in deutscher, englischer, spanischer und französischer Sprache vor.

In Kooperation mit dem James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Center und der San Francisco Public Library.

#queerasgermanfolk #qagf #stonewall50 #smu #bpb


Ausstellungskuration

Birgit Bosold ist seit 2006 (erstes weibliches) Vorstandsmitglied des Schwulen Museums. Sie war Projektleiterin und Co-Kuratorin der Ausstellung „Homosexualität_en“, die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Deutschen Historischen Museum vom Schwulen Museum initiiert wurde. Zuletzt war sie gemeinsam mit Vera Hofmann 2018 Projektleiterin für das „Jahr der Frau_en“ – einem queer-feministischen Jahresprogramm des Schwulen Museums. In diesem Kontext kuratierte sie zusammen mit Carina Klugbauer die Überblicksausstellung „Lesbian Vision“ mit mehr als 30 Positionen von queeren Künstler_Innen der letzten 100 Jahre.

Carina Klugbauer ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin am Schwulen Museum Berlin. 2017 unterstützte sie die Kuration der Wanderausstellung „Unverschämt“ für das Hessische Ministerium für Soziales und Integration im Rahmen des Forschungsprojekts zur Verfolgung und Diskriminierung lesbischer Frauen und schwuler Männer in Hessen zwischen 1945-1985. Im Jahr 2018 kuratierte sie zusammen mit Birgit Bosold die queere Kunstausstellung „Lesbisches Sehen“ für das Jahresprogramm „Jahr der Frau_en“. Sie betreute die museumspädagogischen Programme im Schulen Museum und konzipierte den Jugendworkshop „Magnus, Lili und Rosa“, um LGBTIQ*- Geschichte zu vermitteln und das Bewusstsein für sexuelle und geschlechterspezifische Vielfalt zu schärfen.

Jim Van Buskirk war zwischen 1992 und 2007 Gründer und Programmmanager des James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Centers der San Francisco Public Library. Derzeit arbeitet er als Schriftsteller, Herausgeber, Redner, Ausstellungskurator und in der Betreuung von Sammlungen. Seine Aufsätze erschienen bereits in zahlreichen Büchern, Zeitungen, Magazinen, auf unterschiedlichen Webseiten und in Form von Rundfunksendungen. Darüber hinaus gestaltet und organisiert Van Burskirk Rahmenprogramme zu Filmen, Queer-Geschichte und weiteren Themen. Zusammen mit Susan Stryker ist er Mitverfasser des Buches Gay by the Bay: A History of Queer Culture in San Francisco Bay Area und mit Katherine V. Forrest Mitherausgeber von Love, Castro Street: Reflections of San Francsico.
Mehr Informationen finden Sie unter www.jimvanbuskirk.com.

Diese Veranstaltung findet statt im Rahmen der Reihe Queer as German Folk, mit der das Goethe-Institut New York 2019 den 50. Jahrestag der Stonewall Riots als Meilenstein des Kampfes um Gendervielfalt und -gleichberechtigung begeht.

Queer as German Folk ist ein Projekt der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schwulen Museum, Berlin, und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.

Zurück