QUEER AS GERMAN FOLK

Abschlussdemonstration des Pfingstreffens der Homosexuellen Aktion Westberlin Foto: Rüdiger Trautsch, SMU Berlin

A Transatlantic Commemoration of the Stonewall Riots

The 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots in New York offers an opportunity to outline the current state of discourse on queer emancipation.

The German component of the exhibit was curated by Birgit Bosold, from the curatorial team of the Homosexualität_en exhibition and the management team of the Schwules Museum Berlin. Co-curated by Carina Klugbauer, also from the Schwules Museum, the exhibition aims to focus on the close and vital interactions between the German and US-American movements while also taking criticisms into account about the perceived illegitimate appropriation of this pivotal moment of queer history by a white, gay, middle-class mainstream. The exhibition will attempt to draw a picture that is historically more comprehensive, which also means not losing sight of the growth of the homosexual emancipation movement in the GDR. Even though the striking milestones of German-American rainbow friendship may be well known, the collection will tap into specifically marginalized and as yet under-researched traditions, for example with regard to the Black German Movement or the history of the trans movement.

The scenography is being developed by the Berlin agency chezweitz, who were also responsible for the Homosexualität_en exhibition by the German Historical Museum and the Schwules Museum.

Queer as German Folk is a project of the Goethe-Instituts in North America in collaboration with Schwules Museum Berlin, The Federal Agency for Civic Education, as well as local partners in Chicago, Guadalajara, Mexico City, Montreal, New York City, San Francisco, Toronto, and Washington.

Partner of the Goethe-Institut San Francisco is the James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Center, San Francisco Public Library.

In conjunction with the exhibition, the Goethe-Institut San Francisco and the James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Center, San Francisco Public Library, are presenting film screenings and other events throughout San Francisco.

QUEER AS GERMAN FOLK

Abschlussdemonstration des Pfingstreffens der Homosexuellen Aktion Westberlin Foto: Rüdiger Trautsch, SMU Berlin

A Transatlantic Commemoration of the Stonewall Riots

Queer as German Folk nimmt das 50-jährige Jubiläum der Stonewall Riots in New York zum Anlass, den aktuellen Diskurs zur Queer-Emanzipation vor dem Hintergrund des vergangenen halben Jahrhunderts zu skizzieren und zu hinterfragen.

Die Ausstellungsteile zur deutschen Emanzipationsbewegung wurden von Birgit Bosold und Carina Klugbauer vom Schwulen Museum Berlin kuratiert. Diese Komponenten konzentrieren sich einerseits auf die engen und vitalen Wechselwirkungen zwischen der deutschen und der US-amerikanischen Bewegung. Andererseits wird der Kritik an der als illegitim wahrgenommenen Aneignung zentraler Momente queerer Geschichte durch einen Mainstream Rechnung getragen. Hierüber stellt die Ausstellung einen Versuch dar, ein historisch vollständigeres Bild zu zeichnen, was auch bedeutet, die Entwicklung der homosexuellen Emanzipationsbewegung in der DDR miteinzubeziehen. Obgleich markante Meilensteine der deutsch-amerikanischen Regenbogenfreundschaft bekannt sein mögen, werden gezielt marginalisierte und bisher wenig erforschte und entsprechend unterrepräsentierte Traditionen erschlossen. Den lokalen Teil der Ausstellung kuratiert Jim Van Buskirk.

Die Entwicklung der Szenografie übernimmt die Berliner Agentur chezweitz, die bereits an der Ausstellung „Homosexualität_en“ des Deutschen Historischen Museums und des Schwulen Museums beteiligt war.

Queer as German Folk ist ein Projekt der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schwulen Museum, Berlin, und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung, Berlin, sowie lokalen Partnern in Chicago, Guadalajara, Mexiko Stadt, Montreal, New York City, San Francisco, Toronto und Washington.

In Kooperation mit dem James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Center und der San Francisco Public Library.  

Zusätzlich zur Ausstellung präsentieren wir gemeinsam mit dem James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Center, San Francisco Public Library, ein Filmprogramm und weitere Veranstaltungen, die über gesamte Stadt verteilt sind.