Talk San Francisco - Chronicling the Century Before Stonewall

Demonstration gegen Paragraph 218 Westberlin um 1974 Foto Anke-Rixa Hansen (Vedant) Foto: Anke-Rixa Hansen

Tue, 07/09/2019

James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Center, Main Library

100 Larkin Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

In conjunction with the Goethe-Institut's exhibition-on-demand Queer as German Folk: A Transatlantic Commemoration of the Stonewall Riots local co-curator Jim Van Buskirk offers a visual timeline and talk about the many pioneering individuals, organizations, publications and activities in San Francisco during the 100 years leading up to the pivotal Stonewall Rebellion of 1969. The Stonewall Rebellion was a series of spontaneous, violent demonstrations by queer people against a police raid in Greenwich Village, New York in June 1969. The important incident is celebrated worldwide as sparking the modern LGBTQIA civil rights movement.

Jim Van Buskirk was the founding program manager of the James C. Hormel LGBGTQIA Center at the San Francisco Public Library from 1992-2007, and currently works as a book group facilitator, writer, editor, public speaker, exhibit curator, and collections manager. His writing has appeared in various books, newspapers, magazines, websites, and broadcasts and he presents programs on film, queer history, and other topics. He co-authored with Susan Stryker Gay by the Bay: A History of Queer Culture in the San Francisco Bay Area and co-edited with Katherine V. Forrest Love, Castro Street: Reflections of San Francisco.
Visit jimvanbuskirk.com.
 

This event is part of the Goethe-Institut New York’s Queer as German Folk series, with which we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall riots in 2019 as a milestone in the fight for gender diversity and equality.

 

Queer as German Folk is a project of the Goethe-Institut North America in collaboration with the Schwules Museum, Berlin, and the German Federal Agency for Civic Education.

Back

Vortrag San Francisco - Chronicling the Century Before Stonewall

Demonstration gegen Paragraph 218 Westberlin um 1974 Foto Anke-Rixa Hansen (Vedant) Photo: Anke-Rixa Hansen

Di, 09.07.2019

James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Center, Main Library

100 Larkin Street
San Francisco, CA 94102

Jim Van Buskirk, unser lokaler Kurator von Queer as German Folk, stellt den lokalen Teil der Ausstellung vor. Er berichtet über die vielen für die Bewegung prägenden Menschen, Organisationen, Publikationen und Aktionen, die in San Francisco stattgefunden und zuletzt zu der entscheidenden Stonewall Rebellion 1969 geführt haben. Die Stonewall Rebellion war eine Reihe spontaner, gewaltvoller Demonstrationen von Queer-Leuten gegen eine Razzia der Polizei in Greenwich Village, New York im Juni 1969. Dieser bedeutende Vorfall wird heute weltweit als Auslöser der LGBTQIA-Bewegung gefeiert.

Jim Van Buskirk war zwischen 1992 und 2007 Gründer und Programmmanager des James C. Hormel LGBTQIA Centers der San Francisco Public Library. Derzeit arbeitet er als Schriftsteller, Herausgeber, Redner, Ausstellungskurator und in der Betreuung von Sammlungen. Seine Aufsätze erschienen bereits in zahlreichen Büchern, Zeitungen, Magazinen, auf unterschiedlichen Webseiten und in Form von Rundfunksendungen. Darüber hinaus gestaltet und organisiert Van Burskirk Rahmenprogramme zu Filmen, Queer-Geschichte und weiteren Themen. Zusammen mit Susan Stryker ist er Mitverfasser des Buches Gay by the Bay: A History of Queer Culture in San Francisco Bay Area und mit Katherine V. Forrest Mitherausgeber von Love, Castro Street: Reflections of San Francsico.
Mehr Informationen finden Sie unter jimvanbuskirk.com.
 

Diese Veranstaltung findet statt im Rahmen der Reihe Queer as German Folk, mit der das Goethe-Institut New York 2019 den 50. Jahrestag der Stonewall Riots als Meilenstein des Kampfes um Gendervielfalt und -gleichberechtigung begeht.

Queer as German Folk ist ein Projekt der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schwulen Museum, Berlin, und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.


 

Zurück