Exhibition BERLIN WONDERLAND

Berlin Wonderland © Rolf Zöllner

Fri, 11/08/2019 -
Fri, 12/27/2019

Pro Arts Gallery


150 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza
Oakland

Wild Years Revisited 1990—1996

Shortly after the Wall fell, subculture blossomed in central Berlin. Featuring previously unknown images and commentary from key protagonists, the exhibition Berlin Wonderland brings back to life an almost forgotten era while showing how Berlin’s Wonderland years made the city what it is today.

When the Berlin Wall fell in 1989, artists, punks, anarchists, squatters, visionaries, and oddballs discovered the no man’s land behind it—a practically lawless zone in the heart of the city. The compelling photography in Berlin Wonderland brings this almost forgotten era back to life and shows just how much the city has changed since then. In the free spaces among the crumbling façades of old buildings unbridled creativity was unleashed and a variety of clubs, bars, techno parties, galleries, uprisings, and exhibitions sprung up. These new spaces became a magnet for young people from around the world, who flocked to the burgeoning scene. As these wild years may seem long past, their effect is still palpable and has made Berlin into what it is today.

The photographers Ben de Biel, Hendrik Rauch, Philipp von Recklinghausen, Stefan Schilling, Hilmar Schmundt, Andreas Trogisch and Rolf Zöllner were part of this process, and with their works they form the dynamics of change and this unique time of upheaval, resistance and new order.

The exhibition Berlin Wonderland is a project of the two curators Anke Fesel and Chris Keller. They both came to Berlin in 1990 and right from the start were active in various projects like Tacheles, IM Eimer, Schokoladen and Synlabor. Anke Fesel is a designer and operates the graphic office capa, Chris Keller is a musician and freelance photographer. In 2007, they founded the photo agency bobsairport and self-published the photobook »Berlin Wonderland – Wild Years Revisited« that is now already available in the third edition. In 2017, a second book called »Berlin Heartbeats« was published by Suhrkamp Verlag. The books feature photographs by Ben de Biel, Ute Mahler, Harald Hauswald, Rolf Zöllner, Philip von Recklinghausen, Hendrik Rauch and Sven Marquard among others.

The exhibition will take place from the November 8 till December 27, 2019 at the Pro Arts Gallery in Oakland. The striking photography in Berlin Wonderland is supplemented by interviews and quotes from those who shaped this subculture. The exhibit is presented by the Goethe-Institut San Francisco and the German Consulate General San Francisco together with Pro Arts Gallery.

In addition to the photographies, there are podcasts available produced by Arndt Peltner including original footage of this vibrant time after the German reunification.

Arndt Peltner is an international journalist. He is founder, producer and host of Radio Goethe, a music show on currently over 40 College and Community stations in the US, Canada, Germany, Poland, Switzerland, Austria and Namibia. Under the title “Wunderbar Together” he puts together several music stories that connect Germany and the United States.

Back

Ausstellung BERLIN WONDERLAND

Berlin Wonderland © Rolf Zöllner

Fr, 08.11.2019 -
Fr, 27.12.2019

Pro Arts Gallery

150 Frank H. Ogawa Plaza
Oakland

Wild Years Revisited 1990—1996

Kurz nach dem Fall der Mauer blühte mitten in Berlin eine Subkultur auf. Mit bisher unbekannten Bildern und Kommentaren wichtiger Protagonisten dieser Zeit lässt Berlin Wonderland eine fast vergessene Ära wieder aufleben. Die Ausstellung zeigt, wie diese einzigartige Zeit Berlin geprägt hat.

Als 1989 in Berlin die Mauer fiel, läutete dieses epochale Ereignis eine einzigartige Zeit ein. Sie währte nur einige Jahre, und doch ist sie unwiderruflich in die DNA Berlins eingegangen. Die heutige Metropole wäre ohne sie nicht denkbar. Gerade im Bezirk Mitte standen 1989 viele Gebäude leer, waren ganze Straßenzüge verwaist. Unklare Zuständigkeiten und Besitzverhältnisse schufen für einige Jahre ein Vakuum, das von vielen Künstlern und Kulturschaffenden exzessiv genutzt wurde. Aus aller Welt kamen junge Kreative nach Berlin, um in dieser »temporären autonomen Zone« an den besonderen Möglichkeiten zu partizipieren und ein neues Lebensgefühl zu schaffen. Kunst- und Kulturprojekte entstanden, die schnell weit über die Grenzen Berlins bekannt wurden.

Die Fotografen Ben de Biel, Hendrik Rauch, Philipp von Recklinghausen, Stefan Schilling, Hilmar Schmundt, Andreas Trogisch und Rolf Zöllner waren Teil dieses Prozesses und bilden mit ihren Werken die Dynamik des Wandels und diese einmalige Zeit von Aufbruch, Widerstand und Neuordnung – die Berlin wieder zu dem gemacht hat, was es ist: ein kreativer Meltingpot mit internationaler Ausstrahlung – spürbar ab.

Berlin Wonderland ist ein gemeinsames Projekt von Anke Fesel und Chris Keller. Beide sind 1990 nach Berlin gekommen und waren von Beginn an in verschiedenen Projekten wie Tacheles, IM Eimer, Schokoladen oder Synlabor aktiv. Anke Fesel ist Gestalterin und betreibt das Grafikbüro capa, Chris Keller ist Musiker und freier Fotograf. 2007 gründeten sie die Fotoagentur bobsairport und gaben 2014 im Eigenverlag den Bildband Berlin Wonderland – Wild Years Revisited 1990–1996 heraus, der bereits in dritter Auflage vorliegt. Das Buch erzählt in Bildern sowie Stimmen von Protagonisten, wie nach der Wende in Berlin Mitte die Subkultur blühte. Die Veröffentlichung wurde begleitet von zahlreichen Veranstaltungen und Ausstellungen in Berlin und im europäischen Ausland. Im Jahre 2017 folgte der zweite Band Berlin Heartbeats, der im Suhrkamp Verlag erschienen ist. Die Bände zeigen Fotos von Ben de Biel, Ute Mahler, Harald Hauswald, Rolf Zöllner, Philipp von Recklinghausen, Hendrik Rauch, Sven Marquardt u.a.

Die Ausstellung findet vom 8. November bis 27. Dezember 2019 in der Pro Arts Gallery in Oakland statt. Ergänzt wird die markante Fotografie im Berliner Wunderland durch Interviews und Zitate derjenigen, die diese Subkultur geprägt haben. Die Ausstellung wird vom Goethe-Institut San Francisco und dem Generalkonsulat der Bundesrepublik Deutschland in San Francisco in Zusammenarbeit mit der Pro Arts Gallery präsentiert.

Neben den Fotografien beinhaltet die Ausstellung Podcasts, produziert von Arndt Peltner, mit Originalaufnahmen aus dieser pulsierenden Zeit nach der deutschen Wiedervereinigung.

Arndt Peltner arbeitet als internationaler Journalist. Er ist Gründer, Produzent und Moderator von Radio Goethe, einer Musikshow auf derzeit über 40 College- und Community-Sendern in den USA, Kanada, Deutschland, Polen, der Schweiz, Österreich und Namibia. Unter dem Titel „Wunderbar Together“ stellt er verschiedene Musikgeschichten zusammen, die Deutschland und die USA verbinden.

Zurück