Digital exhibition Queer as German Folk goes digital

Queer as German Folk

Sun, 08/09/2020 -
Mon, 08/09/2021

Online

The Goethe-Institut USA is launching a digitally modified version of the exhibition Queer as German Folk – a global initiative meant to outline the current state of discourse on queer emancipation. The exhibition will be accessible on queerexhibition.org starting August 9th, 2020.

Queer as German Folk was originally launched in 2019 as an “exhibition on-demand” coinciding with the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots. The project puts a spotlight on the transatlantic dialogue between civil society LGBTIQ+ actors, discussing the adjusting historical perspectives, and questioning the dominance of the traditional cis-male narrative. It focuses on the close and vital interactions between the German and U.S. movements, while also taking criticisms into account about the perceived illegitimate appropriation of this pivotal moment of queer history by a white, gay, middle-class mainstream.

This extensive exhibition has now been converted into a compact, digital experience. This new format allows visitors to experience the queer movement past and present from anywhere in the world – furthering the project’s goals of maximum accessibility. Audiovisual, moving, and interactive forms of presentation provide visitors with an exciting, structureless experience that is simple to navigate and is accessible across a range of devices in both English and German.

The exhibition’s launch will be accompanied by a full program of virtual events organized by various Goethe-Institut locations in the U.S. which will feature additional work and perspectives from LGBTIQ+ artists. The program will kick off on August 7th, 2020 with a digital film series coordinated by various regional partners that will be available to stream online. These screenings will be accompanied by Q&As with the films’ directors and conversations with the audience.

Queer As German Folk was developed in coordination with the Schwules Museum Berlin (SMU), led by Birgit Bosold from the curatorial team of the Homosexualität_en exhibition and the management team of the Schwules Museum Berlin (SMU) as the curatorial director and Carina Klugbauer, also from the SMU, serving as the co-curator.

The digitally modified version of the exhibition Queer as German Folk and a full program of virtual events is presented by the entire network of Goethe-Instituts in North America in collaboration with its pop-up branches and the Schwules Museum Berlin (SMU).

Birgit Bosold has been a board member at Schwules Museum Berlin since 2006. As such, she is responsible for the museum’s finances and played a central role in its strategic realignment. 

She was project manager and co-curator of the exhibition Homosexualität_en, which was initiated by Schwules Museum in collaboration with the German Historical Museum in Berlin. In 2015, with substantive support from the Federal and State Cultural Foundations, the exhibition was presented in both museums; in 2016, it was taken over by the LWL Museum für Kunst und Kultur in Münster, which is owned by the Regional Authority of Westfalen-Lippe (LWL). 

Together with Vera Hofmann, in 2018 Birgit Bosold was project manager for “Jahr der Frau_en,” a yearlong queer feminist program of Schwules Museum, sponsored by the Berlin Senate’s Department of Cultural and European Affairs. As part of this program, together with Carina Klugbauer, she curated the survey exhibition Lesbisches Sehen with over 30 works by queer artists from the 20th century. 

Birgit Bosold made a career in private banking. After obtaining a PhD in literature, she worked many years for various renowned banks. Today she works as a freelance portfolio management consultant for companies, foundations, and private clients, and as a writer and lecturer.

Carina Klugbauer is a research associate at the Schwules Museum, Berlin. She currently works in the field of exhibition management and as a project manager for the art exhibition Intimacy – New Queer Art from Berlin & Beyond, which opens in late 2020. In 2018, Carina Klugbauer curated the queer art exhibition Lesbisches Sehen with Birgit Bosold, and in 2017, while a trainee, she co-curated the traveling exhibition Unverschämt. She has also coordinated the museum’s educational activities and designed youth workshops on the history of the LGBTIQ+ movement and on sexual and gender diversity.

Find more details about the project’s history and future here: www.goethe.de/usa/queer

Back

Digitale Ausstellung Queer as German Folk goes digital

Queer as German Folk

So, 09.08.2020 -
Mo, 09.08.2021

Online

Das Goethe-Institut USA eröffnet eine digitale Version seiner Ausstellung Queer as German Folk - die den aktuellen Stand des Diskurses zur queeren Bewegungsgeschichte in Deutschland für eine weltweite Öffentlichkeit zugänglich machen wird. Die Ausstellung ist ab dem 9. August 2020 online über queerexhibition.org abrufbar.

Queer as German Folk eröffnete 2019 als „Ausstellung on-demand“ zum 50. Jubiläum der Stonewall Riots. Das Projekt rückt den transatlantischen Dialog zwischen zivilgesellschaftlichen LSBTIQ+-Akteur_innen in den Mittelpunkt, diskutiert unterschiedliche historische Perspektiven und stellt die Dominanz der traditionellen cis-männlichen Erzählung in Frage. Die Ausstellung geht auch der Kritik an der von vielen als illegitim bewerteten Aneignung dieses Schlüsselmoments der queeren Geschichte durch einen weißen, schwulen, bürgerlichen Mainstream nach.

Die Online-Ausstellung führt das physische Ausstellungserlebnis nun in eine kompakte, digitale Erfahrung über. Dieses neue Format ermöglicht es den Besucher_innen, die Geschichte der queeren Bewegungen in Deutschland von jedem Ort der Welt aus zu erleben. Audiovisuelle, bewegte und interaktive Präsentationsformen bieten den Besucher_innen ein aufregendes Erlebnis, das einfach zu navigieren ist und in englischer und deutscher Sprache zugänglich ist.

Die Eröffnung der Ausstellung wird von einem umfassenden Programm mit Online-Veranstaltungen begleitet, die von verschiedenen Standorten des Goethe-Instituts in den USA organisiert werden und ein breites Spektrum von Arbeiten und Perspektiven von LSBTIQ+ Künstler_innen vorstellen. Das Programm beginnt am 7. August 2020 mit einer digitalen Filmreihe, die von verschiedenen regionalen Partner_innen koordiniert wird und online zu sehen ist. Begleitend werden einige der Regisseur_innen für ein Q&A und Gespräche mit dem Publikum nach den Filmvorführungen eingeladen.

Queer As German Folk wurde entwickelt in Kooperation mit dem Schwulen Museum Berlin (SMU), unter der Leitung von Birgit Bosold (u.a. Projektleiterin der Ausstellung Homosexualität_en und Mitglied des Vorstands des Schwulem Museum Berlin) und Carina Klugbauer (wiss. Mitarbeiterin am SMU) als Ko-Kuratorin.

Die digital modifizierte Version der Ausstellung Queer as German Folk und das Rahmenprogramm werden von den Goethe-Instituten Nordamerikas in Zusammenarbeit mit den Pop Ups und dem Schwules Museum Berlin (SMU) präsentiert.

Birgit Bosold ist seit 2006 Mitglied des Vorstands des Schwulen Museums. In dieser Funktion ist sie für die Finanzen des Hauses zuständig und war maßgeblich an der strategischen Neuorientierung des Schwulen Museums beteiligt u.a. auch mit von ihr (co-) kuratierten Ausstellungen. Sie war Projektleiterin und Co-Kuratorin der Ausstellung „Homosexualität_en“, die vom Schwulen Museum* initiiert in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Deutschen Historischen Museum mit maßgeblicher Unterstützung durch die Kulturstiftungen des Bundes und der Länder 2015 in beiden Häusern gezeigt und 2016 vom LWL-Museum für Kunst und Kultur, Münster übernommen wurde. 2018 war sie zusammen mit Vera Hofmann Projektleiterin für das Jahr der Frau_en - ein queerfeministisches Jahresprogramm des Schwulen Museums gefördert von der Berliner Senatsverwaltung für Kultur und Europa. In diesem Rahmen kuratierte sie zusammen mit Carina Klugbauer die Überblicksausstellung Lesbisches Sehen mit mehr als 30 künstlerischen Positionen queerer Frauen* aus mehr als 100 Jahren.

Beruflich ist sie im Private Banking zu Hause, war nach Studium und Promotion im Fach Literaturwissenschaften langjährig bei verschiedenen renommierten Banken tätig und arbeitet heute freiberuflich als Beraterin im Portfoliomanagement für Unternehmen, Stiftungen und private Mandanten_innen sowie als Fachautorin und -dozentin.

Carina Klugbauer ist wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin im SMU Berlin. Aktuell arbeitet sie im Bereich Ausstellungsmanagement sowie als Projektleitung für die Kunstausstellung Intimacy – New Queer Art from Berlin & Beyond, die Ende 2020 eröffnet. 2018 hat sie gemeinsam mit Birgit Bosold die Kunstausstellung Lesbisches Sehen kuratiert sowie 2017 während ihres wissenschaftlichen Volontariats die Wanderausstellung Unverschämt mitentwickelt. Sie betreute im SMU die museumspädagogischen Angebote und konzipierte u.a. Jugend-Workshops zur Vermittlung von LSBTIQ*- Bewegungsgeschichte und zur Sensibilisierung für sexuelle und geschlechtliche Vielfalt.

Weitere Details zum Projekt finden Sie hier: www.goethe.de/usa/queer

Zurück