Film Luther the Reformer: Films from the GDR

Copyright by Luther © DEFA-Stiftung Copyright by Luther © DEFA-Stiftung

Thu, 10/26/2017

Goethe-Institut Washington

1990 K Street NW, Suite 03
(Entrance on 20th Street NW, lower level)
Washington, DC

Introduced by Anne Schenderlein, German Historical Institute.

Copyright by Luther
GDR, 1983, 17 min., Director: Lew Hohmann

The animated short film Copyright by Luther shows that the printing industry functions according to the conditions of supply and demand. The printing industry not only helped to spread reformist ideas, but also promoted a new "mass medium."

Bear Ye One Another's Burden... (Einer trage des anderen Last...) © DEFA-Stiftung Norbert Kuhr+Âber Bear Ye One Another's Burden... (Einer trage des anderen Last...) © DEFA-Stiftung Norbert Kuhr+Âber Bear Ye One Another's Burden... (Einer trage des anderen Last...)
GDR, 1988, 118 min., Director: Lothar Warneke

Two roommates in a private sanatorium in early-1950s East Germany are extremely different from one another. Josef is a communist policeman, while Hubertus is a Lutheran vicar. The film offers both suspense and comedy, as the two begrudgingly develop tolerance and respect for one another.

Anne Schenderlein is a Research Fellow at the German Historical Institute in Washington, DC. She holds a PhD in Modern German History from the University of California, San Diego. She is currently working on her first book on the topic of German-Jewish refugees in the United States and their relationship to Germany from 1933 to 1938.

No charge; reservations requested. Seating is limited.

Eventbrite – Goethe-Institut Washington

Back

Film Luther der Reformator: Filme aus der DDR

Copyright by Luther © DEFA-Stiftung Copyright by Luther © DEFA-Stiftung

Do, 26.10.2017

Goethe-Institut Washington

1990 K St. NW
(Eingang von 20th Street NW, Erdgeschoss)
Washington, DC

Mit einer Einführung von Anne Schenderlein vom Deutsch Historischen Institut.

Copyright by Luther
DDR, 1983, 17 Min., Regie: Lew Hohmann

Copyright by Luther zeigt, dass das Druckereigewerbe, weil es nach Angebot und Nachfrage funktioniert, zur Durchsetzung reformistischer Ideen beigetragen und damit einem Massenmedium zum Durchbruch verholfen hat.

Einer trage des anderen Last... © DEFA-Stiftung, Norbert Kuhröber Einer trage des anderen Last... © DEFA-Stiftung, Norbert Kuhröber Einer trage des anderen Last...
DDR, 1988, 118 Min., Regie: Lothar Warneke

Ein privates Lungensanatorium um 1950 in der DDR. Ein junger Volkspolizist und ein junger Vikar teilen sich ein Krankenzimmer. Der eine trällert seine Kampflieder und liest im Kommunistischen Manifest, der andere bereitet sich laut auf eine Predigt vor. Die vielen kontroversen, teils komischen Diskussionen fördern schließlich gegenseitigen Respekt und Toleranz zutage.

Anne Schenderlein ist eine Forschungsmitarbeiterin am Deutschen Historischen Institut in Washington, DC. Sie erhielt ihren Doktor in Moderner Deutscher Geschichte von der University of California, San Diego. Zurzeit arbeitet sie an ihrem ersten Buch über deutschjüdische Flüchtlinge in den USA und deren Beziehungen zu Deutschland in den Jahren 1933 bis 1938.

Freier Eintritt; Reservierung erforderlich. Sitzplätze sind begrenzt.

Eventbrite – Goethe-Institut Washington

Zurück