Reading and Discussion Merle Kröger’s Collision (Havarie)

Havarie (c) Philip Scheffner pong film GmbH Havarie (c) Philip Scheffner pong film

Mon, 10/09/2017

Goethe-Institut Washington

1990 K Street NW, Suite 03
(Entrance on 20th Street NW, lower level)
Washington, DC

A raft with eleven Algerian refugees, running low on fuel. A cruise ship with a small town’s worth of international passengers and crew members. An Irish freighter. A Spanish rescue vessel. One single point of convergence in a vast wash of blue water.

Miami-based The Spirit of Europe, the third largest cruise liner in the world, plows through the Mediterranean every summer, offering its passengers a temporary escape from their everyday lives. But even the bloated tackiness of the ship’s much-hyped belly flop competition is not immune to the chaos of the European migration crisis. When a disabled raft nears The Spirit of Europe, the ship’s captain is forced to do something headquarters in Miami wants to avoid: cut the engines.

Collision is a maritime thriller by one of Germany’s most celebrated crime writers, building suspense through the eyes of a diverse array of memorable characters, among them Karim Yacine, the Algerian captain of the raft disable; Lalita Masarangi, member of the massive cruise ship’s security team; and Sybille Malinowski, an elderly passenger on holiday with her sister, which, as the drama at sea continues to unfold, seems to be turning increasingly sinister. Central to all of it is Nikhil “Nike” Mehta, the cruise ship’s ambitious head of security who, like an illusionist, makes the ship’s relentless problems disappear. As Collision races toward its surprising conclusion, Nike’s particular solution for the Algerian refugees at sea might be his greatest sleight of hand yet.

Discussion follows with author Merle Kröger in conversation with Amanda Sheffer, German professor, The Catholic University of America.

Eventbrite – Goethe-Institut Washington

Presented as part of the festival Films Across Borders: Stories of Migration, showcasing inspiring stories of courage, hope, and determination. International voices and perspectives are portrayed via dramatic features, documentaries and shorts. Despite tremendous challenges, immigrants and refugees are often able to overcome and even prosper. Discover the provocative tales of those who strike out for a new life – facing uncertainty, deprivation, and new and often confusing cultures and dangers – as their determination and a longing for a more peaceful life or in some cases, reunion with beloved family members, propel them to migrate. Through panel events and post-screening discussions, experts will engage with the audience to answer questions and further explore the issues.

Films Across Borders: Stories of Migration is presented by AFI Silver Theater and Cultural Center; American University School of Communication and College of Arts and Sciences; the National Gallery of Art; the DC LaborFest; the Immigration Film Fest; the Cultural Services of the French Embassy; the Goethe-Institut; the Mexican Cultural Institute and SPAIN Arts & Culture. 

Back

Lesung und Diskussion Merle Krögers Havarie

Havarie © Merle Kröger © Merle Kröger

Mo, 09.10.2017

Goethe-Institut Washington

1377 R St. NW, 3. Stock
Washington, DC 20009

Ein kleines Boot mit elf algerischen Flüchtlingen, das kaum noch Treibstoff hat. Ein Kreuzfahrtschiff mit einer Kleinstadt-Ladung an Gästen und Besatzung aus aller Welt. Ein irischer Frachter. Ein spanisches Rettungsboot. Ein einziger Punkt des Zusammentreffens in den schier unendlichen Weiten blauen Wassers.

The Spirit of Europe aus Miami, das drittgrößte Kreuzfahrtschiff der Welt, pflügt jeden Sommer durchs Mittelmeer, um seinen Gästen eine kleine Ausflucht von ihren alltäglichen Leben zu bieten. Aber selbst die kaum zu übertreffende Oberflächlichkeit des beliebten Bauchklatsch-Wettbewerbs an Bord des Kreuzers ist nicht gegen das Chaos der europäischen Flüchtlingskrise immun. Als sich das manövrierunfähige Boot der The Spirit of Europe nähert, ist der Kapitän des Schiffs zu etwas gezwungen, was die Zentrale in Miami gerne vermeiden würde: Die Motoren ausschalten.

Merle Kröger © Merle Kröger © Merle Kröger Havarie ist ein Thriller auf hoher See, geschrieben von einer der beliebtesten deutschen Krimi-Schriftstellerinnen. Die Spannung der Geschichte baut sich erzählt durch die Augen von denkwürdigen Charakteren auf, wie sie unterschiedlicher nicht sein könnten. Unter ihnen ist Karim Yacine, der algerische Kapitän des heruntergekommenen Bootes; Lalita Masarangi, ein Mitglied des Sicherheitsteams des massiven Kreuzfahrtschiffes, und Sybille Malinowski, eine ältere Passagierin des Schiffes im Urlaub mit ihrer Schwester, die, als sich das Drama entwickelt, in immer dunklere Gemütslagen abzurutschen scheint. Im Mittelpunkt des Geschehens steht Nikhil „Nike“ Mehta, der ambitionierte Chef des Sicherheitsteams. Wie ein Zauberer lässt er die unaufhörlichen Probleme des Schiffs verschwinden und als Havarie auf ein überraschendes Ende zurast, ist Nikes besondere Lösung für die Algerier in Seenot sein wohl bisher größter Zaubertrick. 

Es folgt eine Diskussion mit der Autorin Merle Kröger im Gespräch mit Amanda Sheffer, Deutsch Professorin der Catholic University of America.

Eventbrite – Goethe-Institut Washington

Der Film Havarie wird am 8. Oktober in der National Gallery of Art vorgeführt. Im Anschluss folgt eine Diskussion mit Regisseur Philip Scheffner.
Film

Präsentiert im Rahmen des Films Across Borders: Stories of Migration Festivals, das inspirierende Geschichten über Mut, Hoffnung und Entschlossenheit zeigt. Internationale Perspektiven und Stimmen werden mit dramatischen Spielfilmen, Dokumentationen und Kurzfilmen portraitiert. Auch angesichts unfassbarer Herausforderungen sind Immigranten und Flüchtlinge häufig imstande, ihre Hürden zu überwinden und sogar daran zu wachsen. Entdecken Sie die provokanten Geschichten jener, die sich in ein neues Leben aufmachen – im Angesicht von Unsicherheit, Entbehrungen und neuen, oftmals verwirrenden Kulturen und Gefahren – während ihre Entschlossenheit und Sehnsucht nach einem friedlicheren Leben und einem Wiedersehen mit geliebten Familienmitgliedern, sie zum Auswandern antreiben. In Panel-Veranstaltungen nach den Vorstellungen diskutieren Experten und Zuschauer Fragen und können die Probleme weiter erkunden.

Films Across Borders: Stories of Migration wird präsentiert vom AFI Silver Theater und Cultural Center, der American University School of Communication and College of Arts and Sciences, der National Gallery of Art, dem DC LaborFest, dem Immigration Film Fest, den Cultural Services der Französischen Botschaft, dem Goethe-Institut, dem Mexikanischen Kulturinstitut und SPAIN Arts & Culture. 

Zurück