Film “Hördur” at Kids Euro Festival 2017

Hördur © Sebastian Wunderlich Hördur © Sebastian Wunderlich

Sat, 10/28/2017

Goethe-Institut Washington

1990 K Street NW, Suite 03
(Entrance on 20th Street NW, lower level)
Washington, DC

Germany, 83 min., German with English subtitles, Director: Ekrem Ergün.

After a run-in with the law, Aylin - a 17-year-old Muslim girl and part of the Turkish diaspora - finds herself sentenced to community service at an out-of-town horse stable in Germany. Beset by troubles at home and school, it is here that she, despite all odds, is set on the road to self-discovery. As the pace quickens, her blossoming relationship with the stallion Hördur and her fledgling dreams are tested to the breaking point. Can Aylin build a bridge between worlds? And if she can, will others follow?

Ekrem Ergün initially studied Media Science at the University of Potsdam, followed by studies in Acting in Berlin and Directing at the New York Film Academy. In 2012, he co-founded Storming Donkey Productions with Stefanie Plattner and directed the company's first short film, Patchwork. Hördur is his feature debut.

Eventbrite – Film: “Hördur” at Kids Euro Festival 2017



Kids Euro Festival:

Europe comes to Washington again this fall with the 10th Kids Euro Festival, starring the most talented European children’s entertainers in performances all around the city. The festival is one of the biggest performing arts festivals for children, geared to kids ages six through twelve, and features artists in many performing genres. A project of the Washington-based European Union embassies and major local cultural institutions.

Kids Euro Festival takes place from October 21 to November 5, 2017.

Back

Film “Hördur” auf dem Kids Euro Festival 2017

Hördur © Sebastian Wunderlich Hördur © Sebastian Wunderlich

Sa, 28.10.2017

Goethe-Institut Washington

1990 K St. NW
(Eingang von 20th Street NW, Erdgeschoss)
Washington, DC

Deutschland, 83 min., deutsch mit englischen Untertiteln, Regie: Ekrem Ergün.

Nachdem Aylin – ein 17 jähriges muslimisches Mädchen und Teil der türkischen Diaspora – mit dem Gesetz aneinander gerät, wird sie zu Sozialstunden auf einem ländlichen Pferdegestüt in Deutschland verdonnert. Während sie noch von Problemen zu Hause und in der Schule heimgesucht wird, beginnt sie hier, so seltsam es auch klingen mag, sich selbst zu finden. Als die Geschichte Fahrt aufnimmt werden ihr aufblühendes Verhältnis mit dem Hengst Hördur und ihre frischgebackenen Träume auf eine harte Probe gestellt. Kann Aylin eine Brücke zwischen zwei Welten bauen? Und wenn ja, werden ihr andere folgen?

Ekrem Ergün studierte zunächst Medienwissenschaften an der Universität Potsdam, um anschließend auf Schauspiel in Berlin und Regie an der New York Film Academy zu wechseln. In 2012 gründete er zusammen mit Stefanie Plattner Storming Donkey Productions und führte bei Patchwork, dem ersten Kurzfilm der Firma, Regie. Hördur ist sein Spielfilm-Debüt.

Eventbrite – Film: “Hördur” at Kids Euro Festival 2017


Kids Euro Festival:

Diesen Herbst kommt Europa wieder nach Washington – mit dem 10. Kids Euro Festival,  welches die größten europäischen Talente der Kinderunterhaltung in das gesamte Stadtgebiet bringt. Das Festival ist eines der größten Kinder-Kunstfestivals in den Vereinigten Staaten, besonders für Kinder zwischen sechs und zwölf Jahren geeignet und präsentiert Künstler aus verschiedensten Genres. Ein Projekt der in Washington ansässigen Botschaften der Europäischen Union und bedeutender lokaler Kulturinstitutionen.

Das Kids Euro Festival findet vom 21. Oktober bis zum 5. November 2017 statt.

Zurück