Concert Jazz in the Basement featuring Just Another Foundry

Just Another Foundry © Jonas Loellmann

Sun, 05/06/2018

Goethe-Institut Washington

1990 K Street NW, Suite 03
(Entrance on 20th Street NW, lower level)
Washington, DC 20006

The DC Public Library, the German Embassy, and the Goethe-Institut Washington present a continuation of the Sunday jazz series which took place at the Martin Luther King, Jr. Public Library until it closed for renovations in Spring 2017.
 
For May, Jazz in the Basement presents the band Just Another Foundry, a contemporary Jazz trio from Cologne, Germany. The trio includes Jonas Engel (Saxophone), Florian Herzog (Bass), and Stephen Boegehold (Drums).
 
Jonas Engel studied saxophone at the University of Music Cologne and then at the Rytmisk Music Conservatory in Copenhagen. He was a member of the Germany Jazz Orchestra and now is part of both of the above cities’ music scene. Several projects as a leader and a sideman allowed him to play concerts all over the world.
 
Florian Herzog first studied upright bass at the Conservatorium Maastricht and then at the University of Music Cologne. He is an active member in the local music scene in Cologne and in the German Jazz scene as a whole. He has worked with nationally and internationally renowned musicians. At the moment he lives in New York City where he pursues his own projects and has studied with Mark Turner and Drew Gress.
 
Stephen Boegehold is a drummer and composer based in New York City. Brought up in Southeastern Michigan and receiving his bachelor’s degree from Wayne State University in Detroit, he has performed on stages in Europe and the US. In 2015, he helped to found the Polyfold Musical Arts Collective, which presents concerts, residencies, and albums in Detroit and New York. He is an active musical collaborator and focuses on improvised music.

Just Another Foundry will be joined by the Baltimore-based Afrofuturist jazz ensemble dauda. For this performance, the ensemble will include David Dauda Jacquil Diongue (Alto Saxophone), Michael Gary II (Bass), Charles Wilson (Drums), Michael Esber (Guitar), and Ignatius Perry (Piano).
 
David Dauda Jacquil Diongue, saxophonist and rapper, was raised in Baltimore and fortunate to learn from many of the city’s musicians, such as Carl Grubbs and Andrew Mitroff. He performed in Baltimore, D.C., and New York with Kevin Robinson’s ensemble KREation, and went on to lead his own trio at age thirteen, receiving awards from the Baltimore City Council and the Baltimore Jazz Alliance. Diongue studied at the Baltimore School for the Arts and the Oberlin Conservatory, under instructors including jazz icon Gary Bartz. Oberlin awarded him the Flint Initiative Grant during his senior year to study in Senegal, exploring traditional music and reconnecting with his heritage. Diongue is currently working on recording a suite to be released in 2019 composed to reflect his experiences in Senegal.

Jazz in the Basement is a monthly concert series featuring local jazz artists, coordinated with the assistance of volunteers Bertrand Uberall and John Cook. The concerts are intended to highlight young artists, new composers, or unique jazz sounds to broaden the listening landscape of our Washington, D.C. audiences. DC Public Library is a proud supporter of our local music community and looks forward to expanding valuable resources to assist musicians in their creative and professional endeavors.

REGISTER
This event is part of the European Month of Culture in DC
 

Back

Konzert Jazz in the Basement mit Just Another Foundry

Just Another Foundry © Jonas Loellmann

So, 06.05.2018

14:00 - 16:00

Goethe-Institut Washington

Die DC Public Library, die Deutsche Botschaft und das Goethe-Institut Washington präsentieren eine Fortsetzung der Sonntag Jazz Reihe, die in der Martin Luther King, Jr. Public Library stattfand, bis diese aufgrund von Renovierungen im Frühjahr 2017 vorübergehend geschlossen wurde.

Im Mai bietet Jazz in the Basement ein Konzert des Kölner Modern Jazz Trios Just Another Foundry an. Die Band besteht aus den Musikern Jonas Engel (Saxophon), Florian Herzog (Bass) und Stephen Boegehold (Drums). 
 
Jonas Engel studierte Saxophon an der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln und später am Rytmisk Musikkonservatorium in Copenhagen. Er war Mitglied des Bundesjazzorchesters und ist nun als Instrumentalist und Komponist Teil der Musikszene beider Städte. Diverse eigene und fremde Projekte führten ihn zu Konzerten auf der ganzen Welt.
 
Florian Herzog studierte zunächst Kontrabass am Conservatorium Maastricht und später an der Hochschule für Musik und Tanz Köln. In der Stadt am Rhein ist er aktiver Bestandteil der lokalen und der deutschen Jazzszene, arbeitete mit nationalen und internationalen Größen. Derzeit lebt er in New York City wo er eigene Projekte verfolgt und bei Mark Turner und Drew Gress studiert hat.
 
Der Komponist und Schlagzeuger Stephen Boegehold wuchs im Bundesstaat Michigan auf und lebt heute in New-York. Er absolvierte einen Bachelor an der Wayne State University in Detroit und wurde durch verschiedene Konzerte in den USA und in Europa bekannt. Boegehold ist Mitgründer des 2015 ins Leben gerufene Polyfold Musical Arts Collective, das Konzerte, Künstlerprogramme sowie Musikalben in Detroit und in New-York organisiert, fördert und präsentiert. Er kollaboriert in vielen musikalischen Produktionen, mit einem Schwerpunkt auf Improvisation. 
 
Das afrofuturistische Jazz Ensemble dauda aus Baltimore wird vor der deutschen Gruppe Just Another Foundry auftreten. Als Musiker werden dabei sein David Dauda Jacquil Diongue (Alt-Saxophon), Michael Gary II (Bass), Charles Wilson (Schlagzeug), Michael Esber (Gitarre) und Ignatius Perry (Klavier).
 
David Dauda Jacquil Diongue, Saxophonist und Rapper, wuchs in Baltimore auf und hatte das Glück, von vielen Musikern der Stadt wie Carl Grubbs und Andrew Mitroff zu lernen. Er ist in Baltimore, D.C. und New York mit Kevin Robinsons Ensemble KREation aufgetreten und hatte bereits im Alter von 13 Jahren sein eigenes Trio, das Preise des Baltimore City Council und der Baltimore Jazz Alliance gewann. Diongue studierte an der Baltimore School for the Arts und am Oberlin Conservatory mit herausragenden Lehrern, wie Jazz-Ikone Gary Bartz. Oberlin verlieh ihm in seinem letzten Jahr den Flint Initiative Grant, um in Senegal zu studieren, dort traditionelle Musik zu studieren und sich mit seiner eigenen Kultur vertraut zu machen. Diongue arbeitet derzeit an der Aufnahme einer Suite, die 2019 veröffentlicht werden soll, um seine Erfahrungen in Senegal reflektieren.

Jazz in the Basement ist eine monatliche Konzertreihe mit lokalen Jazz Künstlern, koordiniert mit der Hilfe von Bertrand Uberall und John Cook. Die Konzerte geben jungen Künstlern, neuen Komponisten oder ungewöhnlichen Jazz Klängen eine Bühne und erweitern damit die Bandbreite der Konzertangebote in Washington D.C. Die DC Public Library ist stolzer Unterstützer der lokalen Musikszene und freut sich darauf, die Musiker in ihrem Schaffen auch zukünftig tatkräftig zu unterstützen.
 
anmelden

Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil der European Month of Culture in DC
 

Zurück