Film Films Across Borders: 24 Weeks (24 Wochen)

24 Weeks © Friede Clausz - Zero One Film 24 Weeks © Friede Clausz - Zero One Film

Thu, 10/25/2018

Goethe-Institut Washington

1990 K Street NW, Suite 03
(Entrance on 20th Street NW, lower level)
Washington, DC 20006

Films Across Borders: Stories of Women

Germany, 2016, 102 min., Director: Anne Zohra Berrached

24 Weeks (Film|Neu 2016) tells the story of cabaret performer Astrid (Julia Jentsch), who six months pregnant, learns that her unborn child will be severely disabled. She and her husband Marcus (Bjarne Maedel) have a choice, but little time… A person with a strong nature and a witty answer to everything, Astrid now feels lost, on her own, impossible to continue her comedy routine. Ultimately only she who is bearing the child can make this weighty decision. What will she do? Who decides whether the child will have a life worth living?

Anne Zohra Berrached was born in Erfurt, East Germany, in 1982. After she got her degree in social education with a focus on psychology in Frankfurt, she worked as a drama teacher in London for two years. She spent several months in Madrid, Spain and Yaoundé, Cameroon before she became a director’s assistant at the Hansatheater and Ballhaus Ost in Berlin. In 2009, she began to study directing at the Film Academy, Baden-Württemberg.

Her second year movie Saint & Whore was invited to over 80 film festivals around the globe. In her third year, she completed her first feature film Two Mothers. It premiered at the 63rd International Film Festival in Berlin in 2013. The feature was released in five countries on DVD, and has earned the First Steps No Fear Award and the “Dialogues in Perspective” of the section Perspective German Cinema at the Berlin Film Festival. 24 Weeks is her second feature film.
 
Films Across Borders: Stories of Women, a multi-cultural film series, showcases an eclectic selection of cinematic works by and about women. Now more than ever, the importance of gender-balanced perspectives and parity in representation is clear. Stories of Women gives voice to vital and diverse female viewpoints through dramatic features, documentaries and shorts.

Screenings, panels and audience Q&As will explore key issues around the female gaze, women in film, and the ways in which women, fighting for equality on screen and behind the camera, raise awareness about key social issues, inspire action and pave the way for stories of other underrepresented populations to be brought to the fore.

Register

 

Back

Film Films Across Borders: 24 Wochen

24 Wochen © Friede Clausz - Zero One Film 24 Wochen © Friede Clausz - Zero One Film

Do, 25.10.2018

Goethe-Institut Washington

1990 K Street NW, Suite 03
(Eingang von 20th Street NW, Erdgeschoss)
Washington, DC 20006

Films Across Borders: Stories of Women

Deutschland, 2016, 102 min., Regie: Anne Zohra Berrached

24 Wochen (Film|Neu 2016) erzählt die Geschichte der Kabarettistin Astrid, die im 6. Monat ihrer Schwangerschaft erfährt, dass ihr Kind schwer erkrankt ist.  Sie und ihr Ehemann Markus stehen vor einer Entscheidung – und haben nur wenig Zeit. Astrid, die den Dingen sonst mit Witz und Gelassenheit begegnet, fühlt sich nun verloren, auf sich selbst gestellt und nicht in der Lage, ihr Kabarettprogramm fortzusetzen. Letztendlich kann nur sie, die das Kind in sich trägt, diese schwerwiegende Entscheidung treffen. Was wird sie tun? Wer entscheidet, was ein lebenswertes Leben ist?

Anne Zohra Berrached wurde im Jahr 1982 in Erfurt geboren. Nach ihrem Studium der Sozialpädagogik mit Fokus auf Psychologie in Frankfurt, arbeitete sie zwei Jahre lang als Theaterpädagogin in London. Sie verbrachte mehrere Monate in Madrid und Yaoundé, Kamerun, ehe sie als Regieassistentin am Hansatheater und Ballhaus Ost in Berlin arbeitete. 2009 begann sie Ihr Regie-Studium an der Filmakademie Baden-Württemberg.

Ihr dokumentarischer Kurzfilm Heilige & Hure aus ihrem zweiten Studienjahr wurde weltweit zu mehr als 80 Filmfestivals geladen. In ihrem dritten Jahr an der Filmakademie stellte sie ihren ersten Spielfilm Zwei Mütter fertig, der im Rahmen der 63. Berlinale 2013 Premiere feierte. Der Film wurde in fünf Ländern auf DVD veröffentlicht und gewann den First Steps No Fear Award, sowie den Dialogues en Perspective Award in der Berlinale-Sektion Perspektive deutsches Kino. 24 Wochen ist Berracheds zweiter Spielfilm.
 
Films Across Borders: Stories of Women, eine multikulturelle Filmreihe, zeigt eine vielseitige Auswahl an filmischen Arbeiten von und über Frauen. Mehr als je zuvor, ist die Bedeutung ausgewogener Geschlechterperspektiven in das öffentliche Bewusstsein getreten. Stories of Women gibt durch Spielfilme, Kurzfilme und Dokumentationen der Vielzahl weiblicher Sichtweisen eine Stimme.

Filmaufführungen, Panels und Q&As werden Schlüsselfragen rund um den „female gaze“ und Frauen im Film behandeln. Dabei werden die verschiedenen Wege beleuchtet, mit denen Frauen vor und hinter der Kamera für Gleichberechtigung kämpfen, auf soziale Themen aufmerksam machen und zum Handeln inspirieren.

Zur Anmeldung

Zurück