Author Talk / Book Signing BOOKS FIRST: The Club (2017/2019) by Takis Würger - Author Talk and Book Signing

Takis Würger © Grove Atlantic, Inc.

Tue, 04/30/2019

Politics and Prose at Union Market

1270 5th St. NE
Washington, DC 20002

As part of the 2018-2019 initiative "Year of German-American Friendship (Deutschlandjahr)," encompassed by the motto #WunderbarTogether, the Goethe-Institut Washington, Politics and Prose Bookstore, and Grove Atlantic Press invite you to an author talk, reading, and book signing with Takis Würger. This engagement is part of the BOOKS FIRST program, which seeks to bring awareness of German-language literature to the English-speaking world.

The English-language debut of Takis Würger, one of Germany’s most highly regarded young writers, The Club (Grove Press; March 12, 2019; $26.00; ISBN-13: 978-0-8021-2896-0) is a blistering and timely novel set at Cambridge University, centering around an all-male dining club for the most privileged and wealthy young men at Cambridge and following an outsider who exposes the dark secrets of this group, the Pitt Club.

Book Summary:

As a boy, Hans Stichler enjoys a fable-like childhood among the rolling hills and forests of North Germany, living an idyll that seems uninterruptable. A visit from Hans’s ailing English aunt Alex, who comes to stay for an entire summer, has a profound effect on the young Hans, all the more so when she invites him to come to university at Cambridge, where she teaches art history. Alex will ensure his application to St. John’s College is accepted, but in return he must help her investigate an elite university club of young aristocrats and wealthy social climbers, the Pitt Club.

The club has existed at Cambridge for centuries, its long legacy of tradition and privilege largely unquestioned. As Hans makes his best efforts to prove club material and infiltrate its ranks, including testing his mettle in the boxing ring, he is drawn into a world of extravagance, debauchery, and macho solidarity. And when he falls in love with fellow student Charlotte, he sees a potential new life of upper-class sophistication opening up to him. But there are secrets in the club’s history, as well as in its present—and Hans soon finds himself in the inner sanctum of what proves to be an increasingly dangerous institution, forced to grapple with the notion that sometimes one must do wrong to do right.
RSVP
Takis Würger Headshot © Sven Döring Takis Würger is a reporter working for the German news magazine Der Spiegel. He studied Human, Social, and Political Science at St. John’s College Cambridge for a year before dropping out. During this time, he boxed for the University, broke two ribs and his hand, and became a member of the Adonians, the Hawks’ Club, and the Pitt Club.

Named one of Medium’s “Top 30 Journalists under 30,” alongside other accolades, Würger’s work as a journalist has taken him to Afghanistan, Libya, Mexico, and Ukraine. The Club, which won the lit. Cologne debut prize and has become a runaway bestseller in Germany, is his first novel.

The novel's English translation will be released on March 12, 2019, and can be purchased on the Politics and Prose website (see link at right).

Back

Autorengespräch / Signierstunde BOOKS FIRST: Der Club (2017) von Takis Würger - Autorengespräch und Signierstunde

Takis Würger © Grove Atlantic, Inc.

Di, 30.04.2019

Politics and Prose at Union Market

1270 5th St. NE

Im Rahmen der 2018 und 2019 stattfindenden Initiative "Jahr der Deutsch-Amerikanischen Freundschaft (Deutschlandjahr)", die unter dem Motto #WunderbarTogether steht, laden das Goethe-Institut Washington, Politics and Prose Bookstore und Grove Atlantic Press zu einem Autorengespräch, einer Lesung und einer Signierstunde mit Takis Würger ein. Diese Veranstaltung ist Teil des Programms BOOKS FIRST, dessen Ziel es ist das Bewusstsein für die deutschsprachige Literatur im englischsprachigen Raum zu fördern.

Der Club (Grove Press; 12. März 2019; 26,00 $; ISBN-13: 978-0-8021-2896-0) ist das englischsprachige Debüt von Takis Würger, einem der angesehensten jungen Schriftsteller Deutschlands. Dieser brisante und aktuelle Roman dreht sich um einen rein männlichen Dining Club für die privilegiertesten und wohlhabendsten jungen Männer der Cambridge Universität, dem Pitt Club, dessen dunklen Geheimnisse schließlich von einem Außenstehenden enthüllt werden.

Zusammenfassung des Romans:

Hans Stichler hat eine wohlbehütete Kindheit zwischen den sanften Hügeln und Wäldern Norddeutschlands und lebt in einer Idylle, die unzerstörbar scheint. Ein Besuch von Hans' kränkelnder englischer Tante Alex, die einen ganzen Sommer lang zu Gast ist, hat tiefgreifende Auswirkungen auf den jungen Hans, umso mehr, als sie ihn einlädt an die Universität in Cambridge zu kommen, wo sie Kunstgeschichte unterrichtet. Alex wird dafür sorgen, dass seine Bewerbung am St. John's College angenommen wird, aber im Gegenzug muss er ihr helfen, einen elitären Universitätsclub junger Aristokraten und wohlhabender Aufsteiger, den Pitt Club, zu untersuchen.

Der Club existiert seit Jahrhunderten in Cambridge, sein langes Erbe aus Tradition und Privileg ist weitgehend unbestritten. Während Hans sein Bestes gibt, um sich als würdig zu erweisen und in die Reihen einzudringen, einschließlich einer Mutprüfung im Boxring, wird er in eine Welt der Extravaganz, Verkommenheit und Macho-Solidarität entführt. Als er sich dann in die Kommilitonin Charlotte verliebt, sieht er, dass sich ihm ein potenziell neues Leben der Oberklasse eröffnet. Aber es gibt Geheimnisse in der Geschichte des Vereins, und auch in seiner Gegenwart - Hans befindet sich bald im inneren Heiligtum einer immer gefährlicheren Institution und ist gezwungen sich mit dem Gedanken auseinanderzusetzen, dass man manchmal etwas Falsches machen muss, um das Richtige zu erreichen.
RSVP
Takis Würger Headshot © Sven Döring Takis Würger ist als Journalist und Autor tätig und arbeitet für das deutsche Nachrichtenmagazin Der Spiegel. Er studierte ein Jahr lang Human, Social, and Political Science am St. John's College Cambridge, bevor er abbrach. Während dieser Zeit boxte er für die Universität, brach sich zwei Rippen und die Hand und wurde Mitglied der Adonier, des Hawks' Club und des Pitt Club.

Als einer der von Medium gekürten "Top 30 Journalisten unter 30 Jahren" wurde Würger neben anderen Auszeichnungen auch für seine journalistische Arbeit in Afghanistan, Libyen, Mexiko und der Ukraine ausgezeichnet. Der Club ist sein erster Roman und wurde mit dem Debütantenpreis der lit.Cologne ausgezeichnet.

Zurück