Film Kino-Q: The Einstein of Sex (Der Einstein des Sex), dir. Rosa von Praunheim (1999)

Einstein of Sex © Rosa von Praunheim Productions © Rosa von Praunheim Productions

Sat, 05/11/2019

AFI Silver Theatre and Cultural Center

8633 Colesville Road
20910 Silver Spring, MD

This event is part of the Goethe-Institut New York's "Queer as German Folk" series, with which we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots as a milestone in the fight for gender diversity and equality.

"Queer as German Folk" is a project of the Goethe-Instituts North America in cooperation with the Schwules Museum Berlin, and the Federal Agency for Civic Education (Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung).

Realized in cooperation with The DC Center for the LGBT Community, The Rainbow History Project, and Whitman-Walker Health.

#queerasgermanfolk #qagf #stonewall50 #smu #bpb


As a part of the Goethe-Institut North America’s Queer as German Folk series – in which we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Inn Uprising as a milestone in the fight for gender diversity and equality – the Goethe-Institut Washington and its many local project partners have selected a number of culturally- and historically-significant films from Germany and North America, highlighting various aspects of queer rights movements. We present Kino-Q, a film series that guides viewers through parts of this history, paired with expert-led discussions.

The Einstein of Sex (Der Einstein des Sex)
Germany, 1999, 96 min., Director:  Rosa von Praunheim, Screenplay: by Chris Kraus and Valentin Passoni

An introduction to the film will be provided by Dr. Richard Wetzell, a Research Fellow at the German Historical Institute in Washington, DC. A discussion will follow.

In 1897, Dr. Magnus Hirschfeld – a gay Jewish sexologist based in Berlin – founded the Scientific-Humanitarian Committee, the first LGBTQ+ rights organization in history. Von Praunheim’s film, a mixture of fact and fiction, examines Hirschfeld’s close inner circle of friends and their collective efforts to achieve equal rights for queer people in the Weimar Republic – including the 1919 establishment of the Institute for Sex Research, Hirschfeld’s 1919 collaboration with filmmaker Richard Oswald in making Different from the Others (Anders als die Andern), and the group’s battle to continue their movement despite the rise of the Nazis.

Directed by Rosa von Praunheim, a pioneer of Queer Cinema and staunch queer rights activist, the film addresses both Hirschfeld’s personal life and his public advocacy for human rights, law reform, and the abolition of Paragraph 175 – a law left over from the Prussian German Empire which outlawed homosexual relationships between men. Portraying the devastating effect that the criminalization of homosexuality had on Germany’s queer population, Hirschfeld’s film Different from the Others was one of the first films with a gay protagonist, explicitly addressing the harmfulness of punishing queerness and treating it as an abomination. Much of Hirschfeld’s research with the Institute for Sex Research was destroyed when the Nazis took power in Germany, and his institute was shut down. The research that was salvaged or smuggled out of Germany serves as some of the earliest pro-trans, pro-gay, and pro-queer scientific work of the 20th century.
Buy Tickets Director Rosa von Praunheim was born in Riga, Latvia, during the Nazi occupation of the Baltic States in 1942. He was born in a Latvian prison where his mother, Edith Radtke, was being held captive. When his mother was murdered by Nazi doctors in a Berlin psychiatric hospital, von Praunheim was adopted and christened Holger Bernhard Bruno Waldemar Mischwitzky. Initially an East Berliner, von Praunheim’s family escaped into West Germany in 1953. He began working in film and creative writing in the 1960, at which point he chose “Rosa von Praunheim” as his stage name. In 1971, he released his groundbreaking documentary, It Is Not the Homosexual Who Is Perverse, But the Society in Which He Lives, which prompted the founding of several gay rights groups throughout Germany, Austria, and Switzerland. A prolific documentarian and feature film director, von Praunheim regularly pushed the envelope across genres, and closely examined activism, the AIDS crisis, societal norms, and shifting social dynamics within queer communities. An eccentric and at times controversial filmmaker, von Praunheim continues to work and live in Berlin.

Discussion moderator Dr. Richard Wetzell is a Research Fellow at the German Historical Institute in Washington DC, editor of the GHI’s Bulletin, and an adjunct faculty member of Georgetown University. He studied at Swarthmore College (BA) and did his graduate work in European history at Columbia University (MA) and Stanford University (Ph.D). He was a Postdoctoral fellow at Harvard University and has taught at the University of Maryland and the Catholic University of America. His publications include Beyond the Racial State: Rethinking the Third Reich (co-edited, 2017), Crime and Criminal Justice in Modern Germany (ed., 2014), and Engineering Society: The Role of the Human and Social Sciences in Modern Societies, 1880-1980 (co-edited, 2012). His main areas of research interest include modern German history, legal history, cultural history, history of science and medicine, history of deviance and social control and history of sexuality.

Presented as a part of the Washington Jewish Film Festival, a collaboration with the Edlavitch Jewish Community Center of Washington.

Co-presented by the Embassy of Germany, the German Historical Institute, the Jewish Historical Society of Greater Washington, and GLOE-The Kurlander Program for GLBT Outreach & Engagement.
 

Back

Film Kino-Q: Der Einstein des Sex, Reg: Rosa von Praunheim (1999)

Einstein of Sex © Rosa von Praunheim Productions © Rosa von Praunheim Productions

Sa, 11.05.2019

AFI Silver Theatre and Cultural Center

8633 Colesville Road
Silver Spring, MD 20910

Diese Veranstaltung findet statt im Rahmen der Reihe „Queer as German Folk“, mit der das Goethe-Institut New York 2019 den 50. Jahrestag der Stonewall Riots als Meilenstein des Kampfes um Gendervielfalt und -gleichberechtigung begeht.

Queer as German Folk ist ein Projekt der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schwulen Museum, Berlin, und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung

Die Realisation in Washington erfolgt gemeinsam mit The DC Center for the LGBT Community, The Rainbow History Project und Whitman-Walker Health.

#queerasgermanfolk #qagf #stonewall50 #smu #bpb


Als Teil der Serie Queer as German Folk der Goethe-Institute Nordamerika, in der wir das 50-jährige Jubiläum des Stonewall Inn Aufstandes als Meilenstein im Kampf für Vielfalt und Gleichstellung feiern, hat das Goethe-Institut Washington gemeinsam mit lokalen Projektpartnern eine Reihe kulturell und historisch bedeutender Filme aus Deutschland und Nordamerika ausgewählt, welche verschiedene Aspekte der Queer Rights-Bewegung hervorheben. Wir präsentieren: Kino-Q, eine Filmreihe, die die Zuschauer*innen durch Teile dieser Geschichte führt. Nach jedem Film laden wir zu einer Diskussionen mit Expert*innen ein.

Der Einstein des Sex
Deutschland, 1999, 96 min., Regie: Rosa von Praunheim, Drehbuch: Chris Kraus und Valentin Passoni

Eine Einführung in den Film gibt Dr. Richard Wetzell, wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am Deutschen Historischen Institut (GHI) in Washington, DC. Eine Diskussion wird folgen.

Dr. Magnus Hirschfeld, ein schwuler jüdischer Sexualforscher mit Sitz in Berlin, gründete 1897 das Wissenschaftlich-Humanitäre Komitee, die erste LGBTQ+-Rechtsorganisation der Geschichte. Von Praunheims Film, eine Mischung aus Fakten und Fiktion, untersucht Hirschfelds engen Freundeskreis und deren gemeinsames Bestreben, gleiche Rechte für queere Menschen in der Weimarer Republik zu erreichen. Thematisiert werden darüber hinaus die Gründung des Instituts für Sexualwissenschaft im Jahre 1919, die Zusammenarbeit von Hirschfeld mit dem Filmemacher Richard Oswald für den Film Anders als die Andern und der Kampf der Gruppe, ihre Bewegung trotz des Aufstiegs der Nazis fortzusetzen.

Unter der Regie von Rosa von Praunheim, einem Pionier des queeren Kinos und überzeugtem Queer-Rights-Aktivisten, spricht der Film sowohl das persönliche Leben von Hirschfeld als auch seine öffentliche Befürwortung von Menschenrechten, Gesetzesreformen und die Aufhebung des Paragraphen 175 an – einem vom Preußischen Reich initiierten Gesetz, das homosexuelle Beziehungen zwischen Männern verbot. Hirschfelds Film Anders als die Andern war einer der ersten Filme mit einem schwulen Protagonisten, der die verheerenden Auswirkungen der Kriminalisierung von Homosexualität auf Deutschlands queere Bevölkerung darstellte. Er widmete sich explizit den Folgen der Bestrafung von Queerness und behandelte diese als Abscheulichkeit. Hirschfelds Forschung mit dem Institut für Sexualforschung wurde weitgehend zerstört, als die Nationalsozialisten in Deutschland die Macht übernahmen und sein Institut geschlossen wurde. Die Forschung, die aus Deutschland gerettet oder geschmuggelt wurde, dienten als eine der ersten wissenschaftlichen pro-trans-, pro-gay- und pro-queer-Arbeiten des 20. Jahrhunderts.
Tickets kaufen Regisseur Rosa von Praunheim wurde während der NS-Besetzung des Baltikums im Jahr 1942 in Riga, Lettland, geboren. Als seine Mutter von Nazi-Ärzten in einer Berliner Psychiatrie ermordet wurde, wurde von Praunheim adoptiert und unbenannt in Holger Bernhard Bruno Waldemar Mischwitzky. 1953 flüchtete die ursprünglich Ost-Berliner Familie von Praunheims in die Bundesrepublik. Er begann 1960 mit dem Film- und Kreativschreiben und wählte „Rosa von Praunheim“ als Künstlernamen. 1971 veröffentlichte er seinen bahnbrechenden Dokumentarfilm Nicht der Homosexuelle ist pervers, sondern die Situation, in der er lebt, der die Gründung mehrerer Gruppen für Lesben- und Schwulenrechte in ganz Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz veranlasste. Der langjährige Dokumentarfilmer und Spielfilmregisseur von Praunheim überschritt regelmäßig die Gattung und untersuchte aktiv den Aktivismus, die AIDS-Krise, gesellschaftliche Normen und die sich wandelnde soziale Dynamik in queeren Gemeinschaften. Als exzentrischer und zuweilen kontrovers diskutierter Filmemacher lebt und arbeitet von Praunheim weiterhin in Berlin.

Dr. Richard Wetzell ist wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter am German Historical Institute in Washington DC, Herausgeber des GHI-Bulletins und Mitglied der Fakultät der Georgetown University. Er studierte am Swarthmore College (BA) und absolvierte seine Diplomarbeit in europäischer Geschichte an der Columbia University (MA) und der Stanford University (Ph.D). Er war Postdoktorand an der Harvard University und lehrte an der University of Maryland und der Catholic University of America. Zu seinen Veröffentlichungen gehören Beyond the Racial State: Rethinking the Third Reich (Mitherausgeber, 2017), Crime and Criminal Justice in Modern Germany (Hrsg. 2014) und Engineering Society: The Role of the Human and Social Sciences in Modern Societies, 1880-1980 (Mitherausgeber, 2012). Seine Forschungsschwerpunkte liegen in der modernen deutschen Geschichte, Rechtsgeschichte, Kulturgeschichte, Wissenschafts- und Medizingeschichte, Geschichte der Devianz und sozialer Kontrolle sowie Geschichte der Sexualität.

Präsentiert als Teil des Washington Jewish Film Festival; eine Zusammenarbeit mit dem Edlavitch Jewish Community Center in Washington.

Co-Präsentiert von der Deutschen Botschaft, dem Deutschen Historischen Institut (GHI), der Jewish Historical Society in Greater Washington und dem GLOE-The Kurlander-Programm für GLBT Outreach & Engagement.
 

Zurück