Film Kino-Q: Ticket of No Return (Bildnis einer Trinkerin), dir. Ulrike Ottinger (1979)

Ticket of No Return (Bildnis einer Trinkerin) © Arsenal © Arsenal

Sat, 05/18/2019

Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden

Independence Ave SW & 7th St SW
Washington, DC 20560

As a part of the Goethe-Institut North America’s Queer as German Folk series – in which we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Inn Uprising as a milestone in the fight for gender diversity and equality – the Goethe-Institut Washington and its many local project partners have selected a number of culturally- and historically-significant films from Germany and North America, highlighting various aspects of queer rights movements. We present Kino-Q, a film series that guides viewers through parts of this history, paired with expert-led discussions.

Ticket of No Return (Bildnis einer Trinkerin)
West Germany, 1979, 108 min., Director and screenplay: Ulrike Ottinger

An introduction to the film will be provided by Dr. Hester Baer, Associate Professor and Head of Germanic Studies at the University of Maryland. A discussion will follow.

Glamorous, silent, and nameless, an enigmatic and impeccably-dressed young French woman (Tabea Blumenschein) purchases a one-way ticket from Paris to West Berlin. Her goal is simple: to drink, perhaps even until she drops dead. Perpetually drunk, she wanders through the odd landscape of the city, moving through the seedy bars and decrepit spaces around Bahnhof Zoologischer Garten. She encounters, befriends, and develops relationships with fellow bizarre characters, especially a homeless woman who pushes a shopping cart filled with her bags around the city. Together, they get thrown out of luxury restaurants, share bottles of expensive wine, and turn a glitzy apartment into a dump.

We encourage all guests to arrive early. Any open seats may be released to walk-up visitors 10 minutes before the program.
RSVP Director Ulrike Ottinger was born in Konstanz in 1942 to journalist Maria Weinberg and painter Ulrich Ottinger. Initially set on a path to become a banker, Ottinger attended the Academy of Arts in Munich at 17, where she was a visiting student and worked as a painter. After working as a freelance artist in Paris during the 1960s, Ottinger retured to West Germany and began focusing on filmmaking. At this time, she met Tabea Blumenschein, an actress, director, and musician who became Ottinger’s muse and girlfriend. Throughout the 1970s and 1980s, Ottinger developed her own distinct style of surrealist, nonlinear storytelling through films like Ticket of No Return, Madame X: An Absolute Ruler (Madame X – Eine absolute Herrscherin), and Dorian Gray in the Mirror of the Yellow Press (Dorian Gray im Spiegel der Boulevardpresse). Ottinger continues to make feature films, short films, and documentaries. She has been based in Berlin since 1973.

Discussion moderator Dr. Hester Baer is Associate Professor and Head of Germanic Studies at the University of Maryland, College Park. Baer is also the Graduate Director in Germanic Studies, a core faculty member in Film Studies and Comparative Literature, and an affiliate faculty member in Women’s Studies. She co-edits the journal Feminist German Studies. Her research interests focus on gender and sexuality in film and media; historical and contemporary feminisms; environmental humanities; and German literature and culture in the 21st Century. She is the author of Dismantling the Dream Factory: Gender, German Cinema, and the Postwar Quest for a New Film Language (Berghahn Books, 2009). Baer is also a project leader of the Digital Feminist Collective, a research commons focusing on digital feminisms.

Presented in partnership with the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden.
 

Back

Film Kino-Q: Bildnis einer Trinkerin, Reg: Ulrike Ottinger (1979)

Bildnis einer Trinkerin © Arsenal © Arsenal

Sa, 18.05.2019

Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden

Independence Ave SW & 7th St SW
Washington, DC 20560

Diese Veranstaltung findet statt im Rahmen der Reihe „Queer as German Folk“, mit der das Goethe-Institut New York 2019 den 50. Jahrestag der Stonewall Riots als Meilenstein des Kampfes um Gendervielfalt und -gleichberechtigung begeht.

Queer as German Folk ist ein Projekt der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schwulen Museum, Berlin, und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung

Die Realisation in Washington erfolgt gemeinsam mit The DC Center for the LGBT Community, The Rainbow History Project und Whitman-Walker Health.

#queerasgermanfolk #qagf #stonewall50 #smu #bpb


Als Teil der Serie Queer as German Folk der Goethe-Institute Nordamerika, in der wir das 50-jährige Jubiläum des Stonewall Inn Aufstandes als Meilenstein im Kampf für Vielfalt und Gleichstellung feiern, hat das Goethe-Institut Washington gemeinsam mit lokalen Projektpartnern eine Reihe kulturell und historisch bedeutender Filme aus Deutschland und Nordamerika ausgewählt, welche verschiedene Aspekte der Queer Rights-Bewegung hervorheben. Wir präsentieren: Kino-Q, eine Filmreihe, die die Zuschauer*innen durch Teile dieser Geschichte führt. Nach jedem Film laden wir zu einer Diskussionen mit Expert*innen ein.

Bildnis einer Trinkerin
Bundesrepublik Deutschland, 1979, 108 Minuten, Regie und Drehbuch:  Ulrike Ottinger

Eine Einführung in den Film wird von Dr. Hester Baer, Professorin und Leiterin der Germanistik an der University of Maryland, gegeben. Auf den Film folgt eine Diskussion.

Glamourös, ruhig und namenlos – eine rätselhafte und tadellos gekleidete junge Französin (Tabea Blumenschein) kauft eine einfache Fahrkarte von Paris nach West-Berlin. Ihr Ziel ist simpel: zu trinken, vielleicht sogar bis sie stirbt. Ständig betrunken wandert sie durch die merkwürdige Landschaft der Stadt, durch die schäbigen Bars und heruntergekommenen Orte um den Bahnhof Zoologischer Garten. Sie hat seltsame Begegnungen und freundet sich an mit anderen bizarren Charakteren, insbesondere zu einer Obdachlosen, die einen mit ihren Taschen gefüllten Einkaufswagen durch die Stadt schiebt. Zusammen werden sie aus Luxusrestaurants geworfen, tauschen Weinflaschen aus und verwandeln eine schillernde Wohnung in eine Müllkippe.

Wir empfehlen allen Gästen, bereits spätestens 10 min vor der Veranstaltung vor Ort zu sein. Etwa 10 Minuten vor dem Programm werden noch freie Plätze vergeben.
Zur Reservierung Regisseurin Ulrike Ottinger wurde 1942 in Konstanz als Tochter der Journalistin Maria Weinberg und des Malers Ulrich Ottinger geboren. Mit 17 Jahren besuchte Ottinger, die ursprünglich Bankerin werden wollte, die Akademie der Künste in München, wo sie als Gaststudentin und als Malerin tätig war. Nachdem sie in den 1960er Jahren als freischaffende Künstlerin in Paris gearbeitet hatte, zog sie sich nach Westdeutschland zurück und konzentrierte sich auf das Filmemachen. Zu dieser Zeit lernte sie Tabea Blumenschein kennen, eine Schauspielerin, Regisseurin und Musikerin, die zu Ottingers Muse und Freundin wurde. In den 1970er und 1980er Jahren entwickelte Ottinger ihren eigenen Stil des surrealen, nichtlinearen Geschichtenerzählens durch Filme wie Madame X - Eine absolute Herrscherin und Dorian Gray im Spiegel der Boulevardpresse. Ottinger produziert weiterhin Spielfilme, Kurzfilme und Dokumentationen. Seit 1973 lebt sie in Berlin.

Dr. Hester Baer ist außerordentliche Professorin und Leiterin der Germanistik an der University of Maryland, College Park. Sie ist außerdem Leiterin der Germanistik für Postgraduierte, ein Hauptmitglied der Fakultät für Filmwissenschaft und Vergleichende Literaturwissenschaft sowie für Frauenstudien. Sie ist Herausgeberin der Zeitschrift Feminist German Studies. Ihre Forschungsinteressen konzentrieren sich auf Gender und Sexualität in Film und Medien, historischen und zeitgenössischen Feminismus, Umweltgeisteswissenschaften und deutsche Literatur und Kultur im 21. Jahrhundert. Sie ist Autorin von Dismantling the Dream Factory: Gender, German Cinema, and the Postwar Quest for a New Film Language (Berghahn Books, 2009)). Baer ist zudem Projektleiterin des Digital Feminist Collective, einer Forschungsvereinigung, die sich auf digitale Feminismen konzentriert.

Präsentiert in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Hirshhorn Museum und Sculpture Garden.
 

Zurück