Staged Reading JxJ: Yankl the Blacksmith (Yankl der shmid), by David Pinski

Yiddish Theater Lab © Theater J

Mon, 05/20/2019

Goethe-Institut Washington

1990 K St. NW (Entrance on 20th St., lower level)
Washington, DC 20006

The Goethe-Institut Washington, in partnership with JxJ Arts Festival and Theater J’s Yiddish Theater Lab, presents a staged reading of Yankl the Blacksmith (Yankl der shmid) by David Pinski, translated by Nahma Sandrow and directed by Adam Immerwahr.

A psychological domestic drama that "feels" modern, not only in its language and construction, but also in its concerns with class, marriage, and the status of women. Yankl, a handsome, womanizing, inarticulate blacksmith, with depths he is dimly aware of but cannot develop, falls in love with the sensitive and well-bred Tamara, and marries her. He resolves to transform himself into a faithful husband and upstanding citizen, but the couple rent a room to Rivke, a passionate woman who has left her husband. This endangers their own marriage, as their honest, affectionate conversation becomes constricted into oblique fencing and denial.

Originally written and performed in 1906, Yankl the Blacksmith was translated by Nahma Sandrow (from whose website this summary was sourced).
Tickets David Pinski, author and critic, was the "grand old man" of Yiddish letters. For many years, he was the President of the Yiddish writers' section of PEN International. Pinski was famed for his psychological explorations of character, especially in relation to sex. A film version entitled The Singing Blacksmith (1938), transformed into a musical comedy, is still screened rather often. The translation by Nahma Sandrow was subsidized by a National Endowment for the Arts Literary Fellowship.

Nahma Sandrow is the author of Vagabond Stars: A World History of Yiddish Theater, now in its third edition and still the definitive work in the field. Her other books include God, Man, and Devil: Yiddish Plays in Translation and Surrealism: Theater, Arts, Ideas. In addition, she has written feature articles for the New York Times, the New York Sun, ARTnews, and other newspapers, magazines, and journals. Dr. Sandrow lectures widely. She has spoken at universities such as Harvard and Oxford, as well as the Smithsonian Institution and many other academic and cultural organizations. She is a graduate of Bryn Mawr College and the Yale School of Drama.

Back

Inszenierte Lesung JxJ: Yankl the Blacksmith (Yankl der shmid) von David Pinski

Yiddish Theater Lab © Theater J

Mo, 20.05.2019

Goethe-Institut Washington

1990 K St. NW, Ste. 03 (Eingang 20th St., Erdgeschoss)
Washington, DC 20006

Das Goethe-Institut Washington präsentiert in Partnerschaft mit dem JxJ Arts Festival und dem Yiddish Theater Lab des Theater J eine szenische Lesung von David Pinskis Stück Yankl the Blacksmith (Yankl der shmid) in der Übersetzung von Nahma Sandrow und Adam Immerwahr.

Ein psychologisches Familiendrama, das sich modern anfühlt, nicht nur in seiner Sprache und Gestaltung, sondern auch in Bezug auf die Darstellung von Klasse, Ehe und dem Status von Frauen. Yankl, ein gutaussehender, verführerischer, aber unartikulierter Schmied, besitzt eine Tiefe, derer er sich zwar bewusst ist, welche er jedoch nicht entfalten kann. Er verliebt sich in die sensible und wohlerzogene Tamara und heiratet sie, woraufhin er beschließt, sich in einen treuen Ehemann und aufrechten Bürger zu verwandeln. Das Paar vermietet ein Zimmer an Rivke, eine leidenschaftliche Frau, die ihren Ehemann verlassen hat. Dies gefährdet die Ehe von Yankl und Tamara, denn ihre vormals ehrlichen, liebevollen Unterhaltungen werden zu erbitterten Kämpfen und Abweisungen.

Yankl the Blacksmith, das im Jahre 1906 geschrieben und uraufgeführt wurde, wurde von Nahma Sandrow (von deren Website diese Zusammenfassung stammt) übersetzt.
Tickets David Pinski, Autor und Kritiker und Präsident der jiddischen Autorenabteilung von PEN International, gilt als der Altmeister jiddischer Sprache. Pinski war berühmt für seine psychologischen Charakteruntersuchungen, insbesondere in Bezug auf Sex. Eine Filmversion mit dem Titel The Singing Blacksmith (1938), die in eine Musical-Komödie umgewandelt wurde, wird immer noch häufig aufgeführt. Die Übersetzung von Nahma Sandrow wurde von einem National Endowment for the Arts Literary Fellowship unterstützt. Für viele Jahre war er Präsident der jiddischen Autorenabteilung von PEN International.

Nahma Sandrow ist die Autorin von Vagabond Stars: A World History of Yiddish Theater, das in der dritten Auflage erschienen und immer noch das Standardwerk auf diesem Gebiet ist. Ihre anderen Bücher umfassen God, Man, and Devil: Yiddish Plays in Translation und Surrealism: Theater, Arts, Ideas. Darüber hinaus hat sie Artikel für die New York Times, die New York Sun, ARTnews und andere Zeitungen, Zeitschriften und Fachzeitschriften geschrieben. Dr. Sandrow hält zudem zahlreiche Vorträge an Universitäten wie Harvard und Oxford sowie an der Smithsonian Institution und vielen anderen akademischen und kulturellen Organisationen referiert. Sie absolvierte das Bryn Mawr College und die Yale School of Drama.

Zurück