Exhibition Queer as German Folk: Celebrating 50 Years of Transatlantic Rainbow Friendship

Queer as German Folk - DC Queer as German Folk - DC

Thu, 05/23/2019 -
Fri, 08/23/2019

Goethe-Institut Washington + The DC Center for the LGBT Community

Goethe-Institut Washington: 1990 K St. NW Ste. 03 (Entrance 20th St.)
The DC Center: 2000 14th St. NW #105
Washington, DC

This event is part of the Goethe-Institut New York's "Queer as German Folk" series, with which we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the Stonewall Riots as a milestone in the fight for gender diversity and equality.

"Queer as German Folk" is a project of the Goethe-Instituts North America in cooperation with the Schwules Museum Berlin, and the Federal Agency for Civic Education (Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung).

Realized in cooperation with The DC Center for the LGBT Community, The Rainbow History Project, and Whitman-Walker Health.

#queerasgermanfolk #qagf #stonewall50 #smu #bpb


Celebrating 50 Years of Transatlantic Rainbow Friendship: An Exploration of LGBTQ+ History in Germany and Washington, DC

May 23, 2019, 6:30 pm – August 23, 2019

Goethe-Institut Washington
1990 K St NW, Ste. 03
Washington, DC 20006
Gallery Hours: M-F 10:00 - 6:30

The DC Center for the LGBT Community
2000 14th St NW #105
Washington, DC 20009
Gallery Hours: M-F 12:00 - 6:00

Join the Goethe-Institut Washington, The DC Center for the LGBT Community, The Rainbow History Project, and Whitman-Walker Health in celebration of Queer as German Folk ­– a new exhibition at the Goethe-Institut Washington and The DC Center for the LGBT Community.

Fifty years ago, in 1969, the Stonewall Uprising in New York City launched the modern queer rights movement in the United States and around the world. In response to violence and discrimination against queer people – among them many people of color, drag queens, women, trans people, and sex workers – this act of resistance highlighted a turning point in the struggle for social justice and equality for queer people across the globe.

Queer as German Folk takes the fiftieth anniversary of Stonewall as an opportunity to outline the current state of discourse on queer emancipation against the backdrop of the past half-century. With a focus on adjusting historical perspectives and questioning the dominance and hegemony of the traditional cis-male narrative, the exhibition will be in the form of a hands-on deconstructed archive that visitors can browse at their own pace.

The DC Center for the LGBT Community at 2000 14th St NW #105 will host a portion of the exhibit as well.

The exhibition consists of two major elements: the first being a set of materials curated by Birgit Bosold and Carina Klugbauer of the Schwules Museum Berlin, and the second being a set of materials selected by Mary Claire Phillips, a local curator who has gathered artifacts from DC-based archives. This will allow the exhibition to display queer history in both Germany and the Washington, DC area alike, presenting the parallels and divergences in the fights for equality in each place.
 
Accompanying the Queer as German Folk will be a number of additional events, and programming that complements the exhibition theme – especially the multi-partner film series, Kino-Q.


The German component of the exhibit was curated by Birgit Bosold, from the curatorial team of the Homosexualität_en exhibition and the management team of the Schwules Museum Berlin. Co-curated by Carina Klugbauer, also from the Schwules Museum, the exhibition aims to focus on the close and vital interactions between the German and US-American movements while also taking criticisms into account about the perceived illegitimate appropriation of this pivotal moment of queer history by a white, gay, middle-class mainstream. The exhibition will attempt to draw a picture that is historically more comprehensive, which also means not losing sight of the growth of the homosexual emancipation movement in the GDR. Even though the striking milestones of German-American rainbow friendship may be well known, the collection will tap into specifically marginalized and as yet under-researched traditions, for example with regard to the Black German Movement or the history of the trans movement.
 
The scenography is being developed by the Berlin agency chezweitz, who were also responsible for the Homosexualität_en exhibition by the German Historical Museum and the Schwules Museum.

The Washington component of the exhibition was curated by Mary Claire Phillips. Mary Claire Phillips is a recent graduate from the University of Texas at Austin with a degree in Government & History in Honors. During her time on the Forty Acres she participated in the Frank Denius Normandy Scholar Program on WWII, as well as the Archer Fellowship Program in Washington, D.C. She's interned in the History & Public Policy Program at the Wilson Center, the Briscoe Center for American History, and the Wendy Davis campaign. She currently works as a Research Historian for History Associates Inc.
 
Mary Claire writes on American LGBT Servicewomen during WWII. Her work has been featured in the 2018 Harvard Kennedy School’s LGBT Policy Journal, as well as the Library of Congress’ Research Spotlight for Pride Month. When she’s not working, Mary Claire enjoys learning new languages, traveling, and knitting up a storm.

Curator Statement: "Growing up in the 21st century, many struggles that faced the queer community I’ve learned through historical texts and not first hand. It’s never missed me that this comfortable distance is because of the work of generations before me: a story I work hard to honor in my historical work. I am also keenly aware that the work is far from over for segments of our community. I see the role of historian as one of archival activist, and believe what’s past is prologue when confronting today’s queer issues.
 
I cherish DC’s LGBTQ+ community, and this exhibit is my way of giving back to the District. With almost every panel there are opportunities for you to interact with the people who make this community so wonderful: whether it be ways to advocate, experience, or directly give back. This exhibit is not meant to be passively consumed, rather it is an active exchange where visitors take the knowledge they learn and use it for the betterment of the community."

Back

Ausstellung Queer as German Folk: 50 Jahre transatlantische Regenbogenfreundschaft feiern

Queer as German Folk - DC Queer as German Folk - DC

Mo, 27.05.2019 -
Fr, 23.08.2019

Goethe-Institut Washington + The DC Center for the LGBT Community

Goethe-Institut Washington: 1990 K St. NW Ste. 03 (Eingang 20th St.)
The DC Center: 2000 14th St. NW #105
Washington, DC

Diese Veranstaltung findet statt im Rahmen der Reihe „Queer as German Folk“, mit der das Goethe-Institut New York 2019 den 50. Jahrestag der Stonewall Riots als Meilenstein des Kampfes um Gendervielfalt und -gleichberechtigung begeht.

Queer as German Folk ist ein Projekt der Goethe-Institute in Nordamerika in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Schwulen Museum, Berlin, und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung

Die Realisation in Washington erfolgt gemeinsam mit The DC Center for the LGBT Community, The Rainbow History Project und Whitman-Walker Health.

#queerasgermanfolk #qagf #stonewall50 #smu #bpb


Wir feiern 50 Jahre Transatlantic Rainbow Friendship: Eine Erforschung der LGBTQ+-Geschichte in Deutschland und Washington, DC

23. Mai 2019, 18.30 Uhr - 27. August 2019,

Goethe-Institut Washington
1990 K St NW Ste. 03
Washington, DC 20006
Öffnungszeiten: Mo-Fr 10:00 - 18:30

The DC Center for the LGBT Community
2000 14th St NW # 105
Washington, DC 20009
Öffnungszeiten: Mo-Fr 12:00 - 18:00

Feiern Sie gemeinsam mit dem Goethe-Institut Washington, dem DC Center for the LGBT Community, dem Rainbow History Project und Whitman-Walker Health, um Queer as German Folk – die neue Ausstellung im Goethe-Institut Washington und im DC Center for the LGBT Community zu eröffnen.

Vor fünfzig Jahren, im Jahr 1969, startete der Stonewall-Aufstand in New York City die moderne Queer-Rights-Bewegung in den USA und auf der ganzen Welt. Als Reaktion auf Gewalt und Diskriminierung gegen queere Menschen – darunter viele Menschen mit Hautfarbe, Drag Queens, Frauen, Transsexuelle und Sexarbeiterinnen – markierte dieser Akt des Widerstands einen Wendepunkt im Kampf für soziale Gerechtigkeit und Gleichheit für queere Menschen in der ganzen Welt.

Queer as German Folk nimmt das 50-jährige Bestehen von Stonewall zum Anlass, um den aktuellen Diskurs zur Queer-Emanzipation vor dem Hintergrund des vergangenen halben Jahrhunderts zu skizzieren. Mit dem Schwerpunkt auf der Anpassung historischer Perspektiven und der Infragestellung der Dominanz und Hegemonie der traditionellen cis-männlichen Erzählung wird die Ausstellung in Form eines interaktiven, dekonstruierten Archivs präsentiert, das die Besucher in ihrem eigenen Tempo erforschen können.

Das DC Center for the LGBT Community (2000 14th St NW # 105) wird ebenfalls einen Teil der Ausstellung beherbergen.

Die Ausstellung besteht aus zwei Hauptelementen: Zum einen aus einer Reihe von Materialien, die von Birgit Bosold und Carina Klugbauer vom Schwulen Museum Berlin kuratiert wurden, und zum anderen aus einer Reihe von Materialien, die von Mary Claire Phillips, einer lokalen Kuratorin, die Artefakte aus Archiven in Washington gesammelt hat. Auf diese Weise kann die Ausstellung die queere Geschichte sowohl in Deutschland als auch im Raum Washington, DC, darstellen und die Parallelen und Gegensätze in den Kämpfen für Gleichberechtigung an diesen beiden Orten aufzeigen.
 
Die Ausstellung Queer as German Folk wird begleitet von eine Reihe weiterer Veranstaltungen und Programmpunkte, die das Ausstellungsthema ergänzen – insbesondere die Filmreihe Kino-Q, die mit unterschiedlichen Partnern gemeinsam realisiert wird.


Die deutsche Komponente der Ausstellung wurde von der aus dem kuratorischen Team der Ausstellung „Homosexualität_en“ und dem Leitungsteam des Schwulen Museums Berlin Birgit Bosold kuratiert. Von der auch vom Schwulen Museum Carina Klugbauer kuratiert ist das Ziel der Ausstellung, einerseits die engen und vitalen Wechselwirkungen zwischen der deutschen und der US-amerikanischen Bewegung in den Fokus zu nehmen und andererseits der Kritik an der als illegitim wahrgenommenen Aneignung dieses zentralen Moments queerer Geschichte durch einen weißen, schwulen, bürgerlichen Mainstream Rechnung zu tragen. Die Ausstellung wird versuchen ein historisch vollständigeres Bild zu zeichnen, was auch bedeutet, die Entwicklung der homosexuellen Emanzipationsbewegung in der DDR nicht aus dem Blick zu verlieren. Auch wenn die markanten Meilensteine der deutsch-amerikanischen Regenbogenfreundschaft bekannt sein mögen, sollen gezielt marginalisierte und bisher wenig erforschte und entsprechend schlecht repräsentierte Traditionen erschlossen werden - etwa in Bezug auf die Schwarze deutsche Bewegung oder die Geschichte der Trans*-Bewegung.

Die Entwicklung der Szenografie liegt in den Händen der Berliner Agentur chezweitz, die auch für die Ausstellung „Homosexualität_en“ des Deutschen Historischen Museums und des Schwulen Museums verantwortlich zeichnete.

Die Washington-Komponente der Ausstellung wurde von Mary Claire Phillips kuratiert. Mary Claire Phillips hat kürzlich die University of Texas in Austin mit einem Abschluss in Government & History mit Auszeichnung abgeschlossen. Während ihrer Zeit dort nahm sie am Frank Denius Normandy Scholar-Programm zum Zweiten Weltkrieg sowie am Archer Fellowship-Programm in Washington, DC teil. Außerdem absolvierte sie Praktika im History & Public Policy-Programm am Wilson Center, dem Briscoe Center for American History und der Wendy Davis Kampagne. Sie ist derzeit als Forschungshistorikerin für History Associates Inc tätig.
 
Mary Claires Forschung konzentriert sich auf amerikanische LGBT-Frauen im Militärdienst während des Zweiten Weltkriegs. Ihre Arbeit wurde 2018 im LGBT Policy Journal der Harvard Kennedy School sowie im Research Spotlight der Library of Congress für den Pride Month vorgestellt. Wenn sie nicht gerade arbeitet, lernt Mary Claire gerne neue Sprachen, reist und strickt was das Zeug hält.

Von der Kuratorin: "Ich bin im 21. Jahrhundert aufgewachsen, das heißt, dass ich viele Kämpfe der queeren Gemeinschaft nicht selbst miterlebt, sondern nur durch historische Texte kennengelernt habe. Mir ist bewusst, dass die harte Arbeit der Generationen vor mir diese angenehme Distanz mit sich bringt. In meiner historischen Arbeit ist es mir deshalb ausgesprochen wichtig, diese Errungenschaften zu würdigen. Auch bin ich mir darüber im Klaren, dass die Arbeit für Teile unserer Gemeinschaft noch lange nicht abgeschlossen ist. In der Rolle der Historikerin sehe ich mich als Archivarin und Aktivistin und glaube, dass das was in der Vergangenheit liegt als Ausgangspunkt für den heutigen queeren Aktivismus anzusehen ist.
 
Ich schätze die LGBTQ+-Community von Washington und diese Ausstellung ist meine Art, dem District etwas zurückzugeben. Bei fast jedem Panel haben Sie die Möglichkeit, mit den Menschen in Kontakt zu treten, die diese Community so wunderbar machen: in Form von Befürwortung, Erfahrungssammlung oder als direkte Unterstützung. Diese Ausstellung ist nicht dazu gedacht, passiv angeschaut zu werden, sondern sie ist ein aktiver Austausch, bei dem die Besucher das erworbene Wissen zur Verbesserung der Gemeinschaft nutzen."

Zurück