Walking Tour & Discussion Street Art: Painting for the People

Blagden Alley - Lisa Marie Thalhammer © Lisa Marie Thalhammer Studio

Mon, 06/17/2019

Blagden Alley - La Colombe Caffee

Blagden Alley - 924 Rear N St. NW
Washington, DC 20001

Though street art has retained much of its character as art created by artists in the streets and for the streets, with public arts programs directly supporting murals as part of the beautification of urban spaces, and existing murals being conserved through historical preservation efforts, we are confronted with an interesting question: how is street art able to straddle the line between the popular and the elite? In what way is street art still a mode of resistance and an attempt by artists to assert their right to use public space?
 
On June 17th, join the Goethe-Institut Washington and DC Murals for a walking tour of the DC Alley Museum and beyond, showcasing some of DC's finest muralists. The tour will be led by Lisa Marie Thalhammer, co-founder of DC Alley Museum in Washington DC’s Blagden Alley and award-winning visual artist, well-known for her iconic, thirteen-color rainbow "LOVE" mural in Blagden Alley. The tour will also feature a number of other muralists, who will offer participants perspectives DC street art from the artists themselves and how Blagden Alley is bringing art directly to the people.

Lisa Marie Thalhammer is the artist behind numerous murals in DC and co-founder of the DC Alley Museum.
 
This is the second event in the series The Elite and the Popular in the Arts, which explores how art has evolved between the tensions of the elite and the popular. It is connected to the launch of a new website, created by the Goethe-Institut and supported by the Bertelsmann Foundation, which looks at these tensions in painting, music, architecture, and many other branches of culture.
 
This event is presented in partnership with the Bertelsmann Foundation and DC Murals.
RSVP

Back

Spaziergang & Diskussion Street Art: Painting for the People

Blagden Alley - Lisa Marie Thalhammer © Lisa Marie Thalhammer Studio

Mo, 17.06.2019

Blagden Alley - La Colombe Caffee

Blagden Alley - 924 Rear N St. NW
Washington, DC 20001

Obwohl Street Art ihren Charakter als Kunstform, die von Künstler*innen auf der Straße und für die Straße geschaffen wurde weitgehend beibehalten hat, unterstützen öffentliche Kunstprogramme diese Form von Wandgemälden als Teil der Verschönerung städtischer Räume. Ebenso wird bestehende Street Art durch Denkmalpflege erhalten, was zu einer interessanten Frage führt: Wie kann Street Art die Grenze zwischen der Masse und der Elite überbrücken? Inwiefern ist Street Art immer noch eine Art Widerstand und ein Versuch von Künstler*innen, ihr Recht auf Nutzung des öffentlichen Raums geltend zu machen?

Schließen Sie sich am 17. Juni dem Goethe-Institut Washington und DC Murals an, bei einen Rundgang durch das DC Alley Museum und dessen Umgebung einige der besten Wandmalereien von DC zu entdecken. Geleitet wird die Tour wird von Lisa Marie Thalhammer, Mitbegründerin des DC Alley Museum in der Blagden Alley in Washington DC. Sie ist preisgekrönte visuelle Künstlerin, die für ihr dreizehnfarbiges Regenbogen-Wandbild "LOVE" in der Blagden Alley bekannt ist. Auf der Tour werden auch einige andere Wandmaler*innen vertreten sein, die den Teilnehmern Einblicke in die Straßenkunst der Künstler*innen selbst bieten und wie die Blagden Alley Kunst direkt zu den Menschen bringt.

Lisa Marie Thalhammer ist die Künstlerin hinter zahlreichen Wandgemälden in DC und Mitbegründerin des DC Alley Museum.

Dies ist die zweite Veranstaltung in der Reihe Das Elitäre und das Populäre in den Künsten, in der untersucht wird, wie sich die Kunst zwischen den Spannungen zwischen Elite und Populärem entwickelt hat. Es steht im Zusammenhang mit dem Start einer neuen Website, die vom Goethe-Institut erstellt und von der Bertelsmann-Stiftung unterstützt wird und sich mit diesen Spannungen in den Bereichen Malerei, Musik, Architektur und vielen anderen Kulturbereichen befasst.
 
Diese Veranstaltung wird in Zusammenarbeit mit der Bertelsmann Stiftung und DC Murals veranstaltet.

RSVP

Zurück