Film Screening The Murderers Are Among Us (Die Mörder sind unter uns) (1946), dir. Wolfgang Staudte

The Murderers Are Among Us © DEFA © DEFA

Thu, 01/30/2020

Goethe-Institut Washington @ The Liz

1377 R St. NW, Ste. 300
Washington, DC 20009

The Murderers Are Among Us (Die Mörder sind unter uns)
Written and directed by Wolfgang Staudte.
90 min. 1946, pre-GDR East Germany, in German with English subtitles.


1945: Berlin - a city in ruins. Susanne Wallner returns home after surviving imprisonment in a concentration camp. She walks back into her old apartment, only to find that it's now occupied by Dr. Mertens, a military surgeon. Susanne and Dr. Mertens must share the apartment. Meanwhile, Mertens encounters Brückner, his former captain, whom he believed to be dead. Brückner, who had ordered the shooting of more than 100 civilians during the war, is now a successful businessman. Mertens is determined to take justice into his own hands - Susanne, however, believes a war criminal of such great magnitude must be brought to justice in a court of law, not as a private matter of vigilantism.

The Murderers Are Among Us was the first film shot in Germany after the end of World War II. It was the first Trümmerfilm - a term encompassing a film subgenre in which rubble-laden cities after the war were prominently featured. It was also first film to address concepts of Denazification (Entnazifizierung) and Vergangenheitsbewältigung (coming to terms with the past), both of which were - and continue to be - discourses approaching the topic of Germany taking responsibility for World War II and the Holocaust.

There will be an introduction before the film and a discussion after the film.
RSVP Wolfgang Staudte was born October 9, 1906, in Saarbrücken. Starting in 1926, he appeared as an actor onstage in various theaters throughout Berlin. In 1933, however, his permission for stage-acting was revoked, so he began making short films, working as a sound-dubbing artist, announcing for radio, and working small jobs in film. By 1941 he had directed his first studio short film, Ins Grab kann man nichts mitnehmen (You Can't Take Anything to the Grave With You), and in 1942 his feature film debut Akrobat Schö-ö-ön premiered. After World War II, he worked for DEFA, shooting Die Mörder sind unter uns (The Murderers Are Among Us). The East German film studio accepted his script, although in the West it was rejected. Staudte continued to work in television and film until his death in 1984.

Back

Filmvorführung Die Mörder sind unter uns (1946), dir. Wolfgang Staudte

Die Mörder sind unter uns © DEFA © DEFA

Do, 30.01.2020

Goethe-Institut Washington @ The Liz

1377 R St. NW, Ste. 300
Washington, DC 20009

Die Mörder sind unter uns
Drehbuch und Regie: Wolfgang Staudte
90 Min. 1946, Vor-DDR-Ostdeutschland, in deutscher Sprache mit englischen Untertiteln.


1945: Berlin - eine Stadt in Trümmern. Susanne Wallner kehrt aus dem KZ in ihre alte Wohnung zurück, die nun von Dr. Mertens, einem Chirurgen, bewohnt wird. Susanne und Mertens müssen sich die Wohnung teilen. Mertens trifft derweil auf Brückner, seinen ehemaligen Hauptmann, den er tot glaubte. Brückner, der im Krieg die Erschießung von mehr als 100 Zivilisten befohlen hatte, ist nun ein erfolgreicher Unternehmer. Mertens beschließt, für Gerechtigkeit zu sorgen. Susanne kann ihn überzeugen, dass die Vergeltung solcher Schuld keine Privatangelegenheit ist, sondern der Kriegsverbrecher vor ein Gericht gehört.

Die Mörder sind unter uns war der erste Film, der nach dem Krieg in Deutschland gedreht wurde. Er war der erste Trümmerfilm - ein Begriff, der ein Film-Genre umfasst, in dem die Trümmerstädte der Nachkriegszeit eine wichtige ästhetische Rolle spielten. Die Mörder war auch der erste Film, der sich mit den Konzepten der Entnazifizierung und der Vergangenheitsbewältigung auseinandersetzte - beides Diskurse, die sich dem Thema der deutschen Verantwortung für den Zweiten Weltkrieg und den Holocaust näherten.

Es wird eine Einführung vor dem Film und eine Diskussion nach dem Film geben.
Zur Reservierung Wolfgang Staudte wurde am 9. Oktober 1906 in Saarbrücken geboren. Seit 1926 tritt er als Schauspieler an Berliner Theatern auf. 1933 wird ihm die Erlaubnis zum Bühnenschauspiel entzogen. Daraufhin dreht er Kurzfilme, ist als Synchron- und Rundfunksprecher tätig, realisiert Werbe- sowie Kompilationsfilme und ist in kleineren Filmrollen zu sehen. 1941 inszeniert er seinen ersten Studio-Kurzfilm Ins Grab kann man nichts mitnehmen und 1942 sein Langfilmdebüt Akrobat Schö-ö-ön. Nach Kriegsende dreht er 1946, nachdem sein Drehbuch im Westen abgelehnt wurde, für die DEFA Die Mörder sind unter uns. Bis zu seinem Tod 1984 arbeitete Staudte weiterhin für Fernsehen und Film.

Zurück