Public Participatory Performance Shaping the Past: Empty Pedestals

Empty Pedestals © Ada Pinkston

Sat, 10/31/2020

Emancipation Square

Emancipation Memorial / Freedman's Memorial
Lincoln Park Dr NE
Washington, DC 20002

Empty Pedestals is a public participatory performance by Ada Pinkston that will take place in Emancipation Square, Washington DC. When the Empty Pedestals are installed, it is an invitation for everyday citizens and residents to share their perspectives on monuments and the future.

The registration link will soon be shared here.

Ada Pinkston © Ada Pinkston Ada Pinkston is an artist, educator, and cultural organizer living and working in Baltimore, MD, where she is a lecturer in Art Education at Towson University. Her work explores the intersection of imagined histories and sociopolitical realities on our bodies using performance, digital media, and mixed-media sculptures and installations.

Empty Pedestals is part of the Unconference in Washington, DC, in the framework of Shaping the Past. Shaping the Past is a partnership of the Goethe-Institut, Monument Lab, and the Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (Federal Agency for Civic Education). The project connects to the activist and artistic work of local, national, and transnational movements as a reflection of memory culture and discusses new perspectives on forms of memory.

Back

Partizipatorische Intervention im öffentlichen Raum Gestaltung der Vergangenheit: Empty Pedestals

Empty Pedestals © Ada Pinkston

Sa, 31.10.2020

Emancipation Square

Emancipation Memorial / Freedman's Memorial
Lincoln Park Dr NE
Washington, DC 20002

Empty Pedestals (Leere Sockel) ist eine partizipatorische Performance im öffentlichen Raum, konzipiert und durchgeführt von Ada Pinkston. Die Performance wird auf dem Emancipation Square in Washington DC stattfinden. Auf eigens für die Intervention angebrachten leeren Sockeln, ist jede*r Bürger*in dazu eingeladen, die eigenen Perspektiven auf Denkmäler und die Zukunft zu teilen.

Der Link zur Registrierung der Veranstaltung wird bald an dieser Stelle verfügbar sein.


Ada Pinkston © Ada Pinkston Ada Pinkston lebt und arbeitet als Künstlerin, Dozentin und Kulturveranstalterin in Baltimore, MD, wo sie im Studiengang Kunstpädagogik an der Towson University lehrt. Mit Hilfe von Performancekunst, digitalen Medien, Mixed-Media-Skulpturen und Installationen untersucht sie die Schnittstelle fiktiver Geschichten und soziopolitischer Realitäten auf unseren Körpern.

Empty Pedestals ist Teil der Unconference in Washington, DC, welche im Rahmen des Projektes Gestaltung der Vergangenheit stattfindet. Gestaltung der Vergangenheit (Shaping the Past) ist eine Kooperation des Goethe-Instituts, des Monument Lab und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung.  Das Projekt knüpft an die aktivistische und künstlerische Arbeit lokaler, nationaler und länderübergreifender Bewegungen zu Reflexion von Erinnerungskultur an und diskutiert neue Perspektiven auf Formen des Erinnerns.

Zurück