A Window to Europe: Through Literature and Art

A Window to Europe © Studio Werken

About A Window to Europe
Plain Sight DC and the EU National Institutes of Culture in Washington, DC (EUNIC) are proud to present A Window to Europe: Through Literature and Art, a series of short exhibitions featuring eleven visual artists from the Washington, DC region who will create work in response to eleven books by European writers, as part of the 2021 Europe Readr project. Featured artists are Hoesy Corona, Alanna Reeves, Mike Thron, Michal Gavish, Julie Wills, MK Bailey, Antonio McAfee, Emily Fussner, Stephanie Williams, Lionel Frazier White III, and Sobia Ahmad. This exhibition series is presented in partnership with the EUNIC Global and the Delegation of the European Union to the United States.

The Europe Readr is a curated set of European literature brought together under the concept of “The Future of Living” to present a variety of perspectives that contribute to the debate on the future of Europe and to put an emphasis on the importance of culture as a driving force of international integration and sustainable development.

Featured exhibiting artists’ works will explore themes ranging from vulnerability, the natural world, identity, competing human economic and ecological needs, nostalgia, and the limitations of our physical bodies.

Ein Fenster zu Europa: Durch Literatur und Kunst

Ein Fenster zu Europa © Studio Werken

Über Ein Fenster zu Europa
Plain Sight DC und die Nationalen Kulturinstitute in der Europäischen Union (EUNIC) in Washington freuen sich, Ein Fenster zu Europa: Durch Literatur und Kunst vorstellen zu können, eine Reihe kurzer Ausstellungen von elf bildenden Künstler*innen aus der Region Washington, die Werke zu elf Büchern von europäischen Schriftsteller*innen im Rahmen des Projekts „Europe Readr 2021“ geschaffen haben. Zu den teilnehmenden Künstler*innen gehören Hoesy Corona, Alanna Reeves, Mike Thron, Michal Gavish, Julie Wills, MK Bailey, Antonio McAfee, Emily Fussner, Stephanie Williams, Lionel Frazier White III und Sobia Ahmad. Diese Ausstellungsreihe wird in Partnerschaft mit EUNIC Global und der Delegation der Europäischen Union in den Vereinigten Staaten veranstaltet.

Europe Readr ist eine kuratierte Sammlung europäischer Literatur, die unter dem Konzept „The Future of Living“ (Die Zukunft des Lebens) zusammengestellt wurde, um eine Vielzahl von Perspektiven aufzuzeigen, die zur Debatte über die Zukunft Europas beitragen und die Bedeutung der Kultur als treibende Kraft der internationalen Integration und der nachhaltigen Entwicklung hervorheben.

Die Werke der ausstellenden Künstler*innen befassen sich mit Themen wie Verletzlichkeit, natürliche Welt, Identität, konkurrierende wirtschaftliche und ökologische Bedürfnisse des Menschen, Nostalgie und die Grenzen unseres Körpers.