Performance & artist talk Conversion / After Afghanistan

costa compagnie, Conversion / After Afghanistan © Annemone Taake © Annemone Taake

10/05/16
6:30pm

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

costa compagnie, Conversion / After Afghanistan © Annemone Taake

Berlin- and Hamburg-based costa compagnie, an open collaboration of artists at the intersection of documentary, dance, and performance, presents fragments from its piece Conversion / After Afghanistan, followed by an artist talk. Shortly before the International Security Assistance Force (ISAF) pulled out of Afghanistan in December 2014, costa compagnie travelled to Kabul and Mazar-e-Sharif to interview locals, soldiers, diplomats, and others about their experience of the war and the withdrawal of German and American troops. In an attempt to understand a war that was claimed necessary to safeguard German and US security, Conversion / After Afghanistan translates this documentary material into performance, dance, sound, video, and objects. The performance at the Goethe-Institut includes student dancers from Vassar College.

Conversion / After Afghanistan is part of the project CONVERSION, which also examines the withdrawal of American forces stationed in Heidelberg 68 years after the end of World War II, in 2013.

This presentation of Conversion / After Afghanistan is made possible through the CREATIVE ARTS ACROSS DISCIPLINES Initiative at Vassar College, which is generously supported by the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation.


costa compagnie was founded by Felix Meyer-Christian in 2009. Members and collaborators  come from the fields of theater, contemporary dance, visual and performing arts, music, and geography. The company’s productions have been presented at theaters and festivals, including Kampnagel Hamburg, Maxim Gorki Theater, Deutsches Schauspielhaus Hamburg, International Laboratory for Documentary Theatre Moscow, and Impulse Theater Festival. Jointly with the Theater and Orchestra Heidelberg, the company was awarded the prestigious Doppelpass Theater Cooperation Fund by the German Federal Cultural Foundation in 2013.   




 

Back

Performance & Künstlergespräch Conversion / After Afghanistan

costa compagnie, Conversion / After Afghanistan © Annemone Taake © Annemone Taake

05.10.16
18:30 Uhr

Goethe-Institut New York

30 Irving Place
New York, NY 10003

costa compagnie, Conversion / After Afghanistan © Annemone Taake

Die in Berlin und Hamburg ansässige costa compagnie, eine offene Kollaboration interdisziplinär arbeitender Künstler aus dokumentarischen, choreographischen und performativen Grenzbereichen, präsentiert Fragmente aus ihrem Stück Conversion / After Afghanistan, gefolgt von einem Künstlergespräch. Im Dezember 2014 endete der ISAF-Einsatz in Afghanistan. Kurz davor reisten drei Künstler der costa compagnie nach Kabul und Maza-e-Sharif, um dort unter anderem mit Einheimischen, Soldaten und Diplomaten über ihre Erfahrungen im Krieg und den Rückzug der deutschen und amerikanischen Truppen zu sprechen. Bei dem Versuch einen Krieg nachzuvollziehen, der als Notwendig für die Gewährleistung der Sicherheit Deutschlands und der USA angepriesen wurde, transformiert Conversion / After Afghanistan die Vielstimmigkeit und Widersprüchlichkeit des gesammelten dokumentarischen Materials in eine Performance zwischen Tanz, Recherchetheater, Soundscape und Multimedia-Installation. Es wirken bei der Performance am Goethe-Institut auch Tanzschüler des Vassar College mit.

Conversion / After Afghanistan ist Teil des Projekts CONVERSION, welches sich auch mit dem Rückzug der amerikanischen Streitkräfte aus Heidelberg 2013, 68 Jahre nach Ende des zweiten Weltkriegs, befasstt.

Die Aufführung von Conversion / After Afghanistan wird durch die Unterstützung der CREATIVE ARTS ACROSS DISCIPLINES Initiative des Vassar College ermöglicht, die großzügig von der Andrew W. Mellon Stiftung gefördert wird. 


Die costa compagnie wurde 2009 von Felix Meyer-Christian gegründet. Mitglieder und Kollaborateure stammen aus den Bereichen Theater, Tanz, bildende und darstellende Künste, Musik und Geographie. Die Produktionen der Gruppe wurden unter anderem auf Kampnagel Hamburg, im Maxim Gorki Theater, im Deutschen Schauspielhaus Hamburg sowie beim International Laboratory for Documentary Theatre Moscow und Impulse Theater Festival, gezeigt. 2013 wurde eine Kooperation mit dem Theater und Orchester der Stadt Heidelberg durch den Doppelpass Fond der Kulturstiftung des Bundes gefördert.

 

Zurück