Further Information

Make your mark: the modules

The Goethe-Zertifikat B1 exam consists of reading, listening, writing and speaking modules. The speaking module of the exam is completed in pairs. The exam is administered and evaluated uniformly all over the world.

The four modules can be taken individually or together. Four individual module certificates are equivalent to one certificate covering all four modules.

The exam, which was jointly developed by the Goethe-Institut, the University of Fribourg in Switzerland and the ÖSD, is known as the Goethe-Zertifikat B1 or ÖSD-Zertifikat B1 and can be taken worldwide.


You will be asked to read blog entries, emails, newspaper articles, advertisements and written instructions and pick out key points of information and important details as well as points of view and opinions.

Duration: 65 minutes


You will be asked to write personal and formal emails and letters and write an online forum post in which you express your opinion.

Duration: 60 minutes


You will be asked to listen to announcements, short presentations, informal conversations and discussions on the radio and pick out key statements and important details.

Duration: approx. 40 minutes


You will be asked to talk to your partner about an everyday topic, such as travelling. During this conversation, you will be required to respond to questions, express your opinion and make suggestions. You will also be asked to give a presentation about an everyday topic and answer questions about it.

Duration: approx. 15 minutes


The Goethe-Zertifikat B1 is a German exam for young people and adults.

The Goethe-Institut exams are available to all interested parties and can be taken regardless of age and nationality.
  • A minimum age of 12 years is recommended to take the Goethe-Zertifikat B1 exam for young people.
  • A minimum age of 16 years is recommended to take the Goethe-Zertifikat B1 exam for adults.
  • Participation in the Goethe-Zertifikat B1 exam assumes that candidates already have German language skills corresponding to the third level of competence (B1) of the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).
  • To reach this level, candidates need to have completed between 350 and 650 teaching units of 45 minutes each, depending on their previous knowledge and learning requirements.