Music The Berlin Philharmonic: The Digital Concert Hall

The Digital Concert Hall © BerlinPhilMedia

Mon, 02/13/2017

Goethe-Institut Chicago

150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

Lunch Time Concert

In 2017 the Goethe-Institut presents concerts from the Digital Concert Hall of the Berlin Philharmonic.

The Digital Concert Hall currently has approximately 400 concert recordings with more than 1,000 works available for online for its approximately 740,000 registered users in the Digital Concert Hall.

German National Youth Orchestra
Conductor: Alexander Shelley

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy
Symphony No. 5 in D minor op. 107 Reformation

Michel van der Aa
New Work commissioned by the Bundesjugendorchester

Johann Sebastian Bach
Orchestral Suite No. 3 in D major BWV 1068

Enjott Schneider
Ein feste Burg, Symphonic Poem for orchestra

Since 2008, at the invitation of the Berliner Philharmoniker, the German National Youth Orchestra has performed one concert a year in Hans Scharoun’s magnificent building at the Kulturforum, always delighting the audience with interpretations that are both mature and fresh. For the second time the National Youth Orchestra will bring along the German National Youth Ballet, which kicked off in 2011 and first accompanied the orchestra to Berlin’s Philharmonic Hall in 2014. The exciting encounter centres on the 500th anniversary of the Protestant Reformation, and will present a programme rich in interconnections.
The concert commences with Felix Mendelssohn’s Reformation Symphony in D minor op. 107, composed in 1829-30 on the occasion of the tercentenary anniversary of the Augsburg Confession (an important step towards the Peace of Augsburg concluded in 1555), but premiered in Berlin only two years later. A first bridge to the present is built by a new piece commissioned by the National Youth Orchestra from Michel van der Aa, a Dutch composer born in 1970 who is known for his interdisciplinary works. A performance of the Orchestral Suite in D major BWV 1068 by Johann Sebastian Bach then commemorates the most significant composer in Protestant music, before the evening ends with Enjott Schneider’s symphonic poem on the Luther chorale “Ein feste Burg ist unser Gott” (quoted by Mendelssohn in the last movement of his Reformation Symphony), composed in 2010. Musical direction of this Reformation memorial celebration is in the hands of Alexander Shelley; choreography is by the old master John Neumeier.