Music The Berlin Philharmonic: The Digital Concert Hall

The Digital Concert Hall © BerlinPhilMedia

Mon, 03/13/2017

Goethe-Institut Chicago

150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

Lunch Time Concert

In 2017 the Goethe-Institut presents concerts from the Digital Concert Hall of the Berlin Philharmonic.

The Digital Concert Hall currently has approximately 400 concert recordings with more than 1,000 works available for online for its approximately 740,000 registered users in the Digital Concert Hall.

Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Zubin Mehta
Soloist: Anoushka Shankar

Ravi Shankar
Concerto for sitar and orchestra No. 2 Raga-Mala
Anoushka Shankar, Sitar

Béla Bartók
Concerto for orchestra Sz 116

The Indian sitar player Ravi Shankar was one of the great musical intermediaries between East and West. His work Raga-Mala links the art of sitar improvisation with the performed playing of a classical concert: an exciting journey into a faraway world. The soloist in this performance is the composer’s daughter Anoushka Shankar; the conductor is Zubin Mehta, who was his friend for many years. Bartók’s Concerto for Orchestra concludes the evening.