Music The Berlin Philharmonic: The Digital Concert Hall

The Digital Concert Hall © BerlinPhilMedia

Mon, 05/08/2017


150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

Lunch Time Concert

In 2017 the Goethe-Institut presents concerts from the Digital Concert Hall of the Berlin Philharmonic.

The Digital Concert Hall currently has approximately 400 concert recordings with more than 1,000 works available for online for its approximately 740,000 registered users in the Digital Concert Hall.

Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Mariss Jansons
Soloist: Andreas Ottensamer

Jean Sibelius
Symphony No. 1 in E minor, op. 39

Carl Maria von Weber
Concerto for Clarinet and Orchestra No. 1 in F minor, op. 73
Andreas Ottensamer, Clarinet

Béla Bartók
The Miraculous Mandarin, suite, Sz 73

Mariss Jansons has been a regular guest of the Berliner Philharmoniker since 1976, but in fact he already conducted them five years earlier: during the Karajan Conducting Competition, which he won then in his late twenties. Just recently the Latvian conductor raved in an interview with the Berliner Morgenpost: “I love this orchestra. The musicians are not only absolutely fantastic instrumentalists – they are truly passionate. Their artistic dedication is unbelievable. It is a joy for me every time I make music with the top-class orchestra.” For his next Philharmonic concerts, Mariss Jansons has selected a programme that takes an expansive journey through three centuries of music history.