Music Berliner Philharmoniker: der digitale Konzertsaal

The Digital Concert Hall © BerlinPhilMedia

Mon, 07/10/2017


150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

Lunch Time Concert

In 2017 the Goethe-Institut presents concerts from the Digital Concert Hall of the Berlin Philharmonic.

The Digital Concert Hall currently has approximately 400 concert recordings with more than 1,000 works available for online for its approximately 740,000 registered users in the Digital Concert Hall.

Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Semyon Bychkov
Soloist: Gautier Capuçon

Dmitri Shostakovich
Concerto for Cello and Orchestra No. 1 in E flat major, op. 107
Gautier Capuçon, Cello

Richard Strauss
Ein Heldenleben (A Hero’s Life), op. 40

Richard Strauss often came in for caustic criticism for his innovative music. He traces these conflicts in his tone poem Ein Heldenleben: biting, original, with an opulent orchestra sound. Dmitri Shostakovich’s battles in the dictatorship under Stalin were even more existential. Here too, there is an echo of this in the composer’s music, including in the First Cello Concerto – which can be heard here with Gautier Capuçon as the soloist. Semyon Bychkov conducts.