Music The Berlin Philharmonic: the digital concert hall

Lunchtime Concert @Goethe-Institut

Mon, 08/07/2017


150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

Lunch Time Concert

In 2017 the Goethe-Institut presents concerts from the Digital Concert Hall of the Berlin Philharmonic.

The Digital Concert Hall currently has approximately 400 concert recordings with more than 1,000 works available for online for its approximately 740,000 registered users in the Digital Concert Hall.

Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Gustavo Dudamel

Robert Schumann
Symphony No. 3 in E flat major, op. 97 “Rhenish”

Richard Wagner
Das Rheingold (The Rhinegold): Einzug der Götter in Walhall (Entry of the Gods into Valhalla) (concert version)

Richard Wagner
Götterdämmerung (Twilight of the Gods): Siegfrieds Rheinfahrt (Siegfried’s Rhine Journey) and Trauermarsch (Funeral March) (concert version)

Richard Wagner
Siegfried: Waldweben (Forest Murmurs) (concert version)

Richard Wagner
Die Walküre (The Valkyrie): Walkürenritt (Ride of the Valkyries) (concert version) 
The orchestral music from Wagner’s Ring des Nibelungen is ideal for a concert at Berlin’s Waldbühne. Particularly with such a dynamic conductor as Gustavo Dudamel, pieces like the Ride of the Valkyries develop an impact that reaches even the very last row of the enormous auditorium. Like Wagner’s opera cycle, Robert Schumann’s Third Symphony leads us to the Rhine, inspiring the composer to vibrating and sonorous music.