Music The Berlin Philharmonic: The Digital Concert Hall

The Digital Concert Hall © BerlinPhilMedia

Mon, 06/05/2017


150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

Lunch Time Concert

In 2017 the Goethe-Institut presents concerts from the Digital Concert Hall of the Berlin Philharmonic.

The Digital Concert Hall currently has approximately 400 concert recordings with more than 1,000 works available for online for its approximately 740,000 registered users in the Digital Concert Hall.

Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Sir Simon Rattle

Simon Holt
Surcos (première)

Anton Bruckner
Symphony No. 8 in C minor (Haas edition) 

Simon Rattle and the Berliner Philharmoniker have already performed Bruckner’s Seventh and Ninth Symphonies to great acclaim. With the Eighth there follows the composer’s most extensive work. It acquires its tremendous energy from the interplay of wave-like escalations – the piling up of monumental blocks of sound and falling back into melancholy brooding. The evening will open with a new short work by Simon Holt.