Music The Berlin Philharmonic: The Digital Concert Hall

The Digital Concert Hall © Dan Mohr/yes.i.said

Mon, 03/05/2018

Goethe-Institut Chicago

150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lL 60601

3rd Concert 2018

Zubin Mehta and Michael Barenboim

Berliner Philharmoniker
Conductor: Zubin Mehta
Soloist: Michael Barenboim

Franz Schubert
Overture of the Incidental Music to Rosamunde, D 797

Arnold Schoenberg
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, op. 36
Soloist: Michael Barenboim, violin

Maurice Ravel
La Valse

Maurice Ravel
Daphnis et Chloé, Suite No. 2

After the premiere in 1940, one critic wrote that Arnold Schoenberg’s Violin Concerto sounded like “feeding time at the chicken farm."
The concerto is a stark contrast to Franz Schubert’s lyrical and serene Rosamunde Overture which opens the program.
In 1823, Schubert had written incidental music for the play Rosamunde by the poet Helmina of Chézy.
After the intermission, the program continues with two works by Maurice Ravel: La Valse, that ecstatic apotheosis of the Viennese waltz, in which the French composer draws performers and listeners into a breathtaking musical maelstrom.Ravel evokes an entirely different soundscape in his ballet Daphnis et Chloé: lascivious, dream-like, bacchanalian. With the Suite No. 2, assembled from parts of the ballet Zubin Mehta and the Berliner Philharmoniker bring the program to a close