Examination Centers

_Goethe_Spracharbeit_Berlin_Europa_Klassenraum_0773 Goethe-Institut/Sonja Tobias


Goethe-Institut examinations set the global standard in German language proficiency testing, and passing certificates are accepted by employers and higher education institutions across the German-speaking world. Goethe-Institut examinations correspond to the levels set out in the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) and range from A1 for beginners to C2 for native-level speakers. Each exam consists of four portions: writing, reading, listening, and speaking. All exams are administered by professionally trained and Goethe-Institut certified language examiners.

In the US, our examinations are offered at six Goethe-Institut branch offices ― Boston, Chicago, Los Angeles, New York, San Francisco, Washington DC — and at more than 50 examination centers accredited to conduct the examinations on behalf of the Goethe-Institut across the country. Examination centers are subject to guidance by responsible Goethe-Institut branch offices, and most centers also offer language courses to prepare candidates for the exam.

South

Supervision: Christoph Veldhues
christoph.veldhues@washington.goethe.org
Goethe-Institut Washington

Tuscaloosa
University of Alabama 
Dept. of Modern Languages & Classics 
P.O. Box 870246 
Tuscaloosa, AL 35487-0246
Tel. +1 205 3486954 
Fax +1 205 3482024 
Rasma Lazda
rzlada@bama.ua.edu
Department of Modern Languages & Classics

Exams Offered:
A1, A2, B1, B2, C1
Fayetteville 
University of Arkansas 
Department of Foreign Languages 
Jennifer Hoyer
425 Kimpel Hall 
Fayetteville, AR 72701-1201 
Tel. +1 479 5752951 
Fax +1 479 5756795 
Jennifer Hoyer 
jhoyer@uark.edu
Department of World Languages

Exams Offered:
B1, B2, C1

Exam Dates:
04/14/2018
Goethe-Zentrum Atlanta
1197 Peachtree Street, NE
Colony Square, Plaza Level, Suite 561
Atlanta, Georgia 30361-2401
Tel. +1 404 8922388
Fax +1 404 8750475
info@german-institute.org
Goethe-Zentrum Atlanta

Exams Offered:
A1, A1 Fit, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2

Exam Dates:
04/19/2018
04/20/2018
04/21/2018
11/16/2018
11/17/2018
11/19/2018
Davidson 
Davidson College 
Burkhard Henke 
buhenke@davidson.edu 
Department of German Studies
P.O. Box 6956 
Davidson, NC 28035-6956
Davidson College Exam Information

Exams Offered:
A1, A2, B1, B2 

Exam Dates:
04/20/2018
05/11/2018
12/07/2018
12/08/2018


Durham 
Duke University 
Dept. of Germanic Languages and Literatures 
Dr. Heidi Madden
Durham, NC 27708-0256 
Tel. + 1 919 6605984 
heidi.madden@duke.edu
Duke University German Department
 
Exams Offered:
A1, A2, B1, B2, C1

Exam Dates:
04/01/2017
Albuquerque
University of New Mexico
Albuquerque, NM 87131
Tel +505 2779115
Katja Schröter
kaddisch@gmail.com
Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures
 
Exams Offered:
B1, B2, C1

Exam Dates:
07/18/2018
San Juan
Universidad del Sagrado Corazón
P.O. Box 12383
San Juan, PR 00912-0383
Tel.: +1 787 7281515 ext. 1231
Eva Rivera
etrivera@sagrado.edu

Exams Offered:
A1, A2, B1
Charleston 
College of Charleston
Department of German 
66 George Street 
Charleston, SC 29424-0001
Tel. +1 843 9535774 
Fax +1 843 9536342 
Stephen della Lana, M.A.T. 
dellalanas@cofc.edu
Department of German Studies

Exams Offered:
B1, C1

Exam Dates:
03/03/2018
10/06/2018
Austin / San Antonio (Central Texas)
German-Texan Heritage Society

Mailing address
German-Texan Heritage Society
P.O. Box 684171
Austin, TX 78768

Location of courses (no deliveries)
507 E. 10th Street
Austin, TX 78701

Christopher Markley
info@germantexans.org
Tel.: +1 512 467 4569
German-Texan Heritage Society

Exams Offered:
A1, A1 Fit, A2, B1, B2, C1

Exam Dates:
01/14/2018
03/10/2018
05/19/2018
09/22/2018


Dallas
North Texas
P.O.Box 600533
Dallas, TX 75360-0533
Tel.: +1 505-985 2206
Annika Sommer
education@dallasgoethecenter.org
Dallas Goethe Center

Exams Offered:
A1, A1 Fit, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2

Exam Dates:
02/11/2018
05/06/2018
09/09/2018


Houston
German Institute for the Southwest

Mailing address
German Institute for the Southwest
P. O. Box 550465
Houston, TX 77255

Location of courses (no deliveries)
2700 Southwest Freeway
Houston, TX 77098

Ute Hoefel
ute@germansouthwest.org
Tel.: +1 832-495-9127
German Institute for the Southwest

Exams Offered:
A1, A1 Fit, A2, B1, B2, C1, C2

Exam Dates:
01/20/2018
03/03/2018
06/02/2018
09/08/2018
11/03/2018

Central

Supervision: Katja Fullard
katja.fullard@chicago.goethe.org
Goethe-Institut Chicago

Goethe-Institut Chicago
150 North Michigan Avenue
Suite 200
Chicago, lllinois 60601 USA 
Tel. +1 312 263-0472
Fax +1 312 263-0476
language@chicago.goethe.org
Goethe-Institut Chicago

 
Bloomington
Indiana University
Department of Germanic Studies
355 N Jordan Avenue
Global and International Studies Building
Bloomington, IN 47405-7103
Tel.: +1 812 855-7562
Dr. Susanne Even
evens@indiana.edu
 
Lawrence
University of Kansas
Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures
Wescoe Hall
1445 Jayhawk Blvd, Room 2080
Lawrence, KS 66045-7590
Tel.: +1 785 864-9173
Jimmy D. Morrison
jdmorr@ku.edu

Olathe 
South Highschool 
1640 E. 151st St.
Olathe, Ks, 66062
Tel. +1 913 780 7160 
Fax +1 913 780 7160 
Scott Seeger
sseegeros@olatheschools.org
Kalamazoo
Kalamazoo College
German Department
Dr. Michael Sosulski
1200 Academy Street
Kalamazoo, MI 49006-3295
Tel.: +1 269 337 7048
Fax: +1 269 337 5740
Dr. Simona Moti
Simona.Moti@kzoo.edu
St. Paul
Germanic-American Institute
301 Summit Avenue
St. Paul, MN 55102
Tel.: +1 651 2227027
Fax: +1 651 2226295
Dr. Katrin Erdmann
kerdmann@gai-mn.org
Omaha
Creighton University
Modern Languages & Literatures
2500 California Plaza
Omaha, NE 68178
Tel.: +1 402 280-2508
Prof. Sybille Bartels
SybilleBartels@creighton.edu


Omaha
University of Nebraska at Omaha
Department of Foreign Languages and Literatures
Arts and Sciences Hall, Room 301
6001 Dodge Street
Omaha, NE 68182-0192
Tel.: +1 402 554-3820
Prof. Gwyneth Cliver
gcliver@unomaha.edu
Dayton
Wright State University
Department of Modern Languages
Millett Hall 325
3640 Colonel Glenn Hwy
Dayton, OH 45435-0001
Tel.: +1 937 775-2195
Renate Sturdevant
renate.sturdevant@wright.edu

Toledo
Toledo University
Departement of Foreign Languages
2801 W. Bancroft St.
Toledo, OH, 43606
Tel.: +1 419 530-7903
Friederike Emonds
friederike.emonds@toledo.edu
 
Eau Claire
University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire
Department of Foreign Languages
Prof. Johannes Strohschänk
105 Garfield Avenue
Eau Claire, WI 54702
Tel.: +1 715 836-4287
Fax: +1 715 836-2380
Joshua Brown
Brownjo@uwec.edu

West

Supervision: Julia Koch
julia.koch@sanfrancisco.goethe.org
Goethe-Institut San Francisco

Claremont
Scripps College 
1011 Berkeley Avenue
Claremont, CA 91711-3948
Tel.: +1 909 6211673 
Fax: +1 909 6218393 
Roswitha Burwick
rburwick@scrippscollege.edu

Los Angeles
Loyola Marymount University
University Hall 1 LMU Drive,
Suite 3904
Los Angeles, CA 90045-2659
Tel.: +1 310 338-3055
Fax: +1 310 338-6433
Associate Professor of German ⁄
Director of European Studies Modern langauges & Literatures
Prof. Dr. Petra Liedke-Konow
pkonow@lmu.edu

Los Angeles
University of Southern California
University Park Campus,
Taper Hall 353
3501 Trousdale Parkway # 449
Los Angeles, CA 90089
Tel. +1 213 740-0351​
Dr. Britta Bothe
bothe@usc.edu

Rohnert Park 
Sonoma State University 
Dept. of Foreign Languages and Literatures
Dr. Philipp Beard
1801 East Cotati Ave
Rohnert Park, CA 94928 
Tel.: +1 707 664 2637
Fax: +1 707 664 2363 
Dr. Michaela Grobbel
grobbel@sonoma.edu

Goethe-Institut San Francisco
530 Bush Street, 2nd Floor
San Francisco, CA 94108
Tel: +1 415 2638760
Fax +1 415 3918715
info@sanfrancisco.goethe.org
Goethe-Institut San Francisco


Pasadena
Pasadena City College
1570 E. Colorado Blvd
Pasadena CA 91106
Tel: +1 626-5853187
Petra R. Lott, Ph.D.
petralott@sbcglobal.net
prlott@pasadena.edu

Eugene
University of Oregon
German and Scandinavian Dept.
1250 Eugene
OR 97402-1250
Tel.. 00 15 41 3 46 40 53
Fax: 00 15 41 3 46 41 26
Herr Prof. Matthias Vogel
mattvogel5363@comcast.net

Monmouth
Western Oregon University
German Department
345 N. Monmout Ave
Monmouth, OR 97361
Tel. +1 503 838-8715
Frau Dr. Gudrun Hoobler
hoobleg@wou.edu

Portland 
Portland State University 
Department Of Foreign Languages & Literatures
Box 751
Portland, OR 97207-0751
Tel.. +1 503 725 3522
Fax: +1 503 725 5276
Herr Dr. Steven Fuller
fullers@pdx.edu
www.summer.pdx.edu/dsap
 
Boulder
Senior Instructor 
Department of Germanic and Slavic Languages and Literatures University of Colorado-Boulder 
276 UCB, MKNA 225B 
Boulder, CO 80309-0276 
Tel. +1 303 735-2581 
Fax +1 303 492-5376 
Dr. Saskia Hintz 
Saskia.Hintz@Colorado.edu
Supervision: Goethe-Institut San Francisco
Seattle 
University of Washington
Department of Germanics
Box 353130
Seattle, WA 98195
Tel. +1 206 5434580
Fax +1 206 6859063 
Herr Prof. Klaus Brandl
brandl@uw.edu 
Misha Neininger
nein@uw.edu
nein@u.washington.edu
Tucson
University of Arizona 
Dept. of German Studies
Tucson, AZ 85721-0105 
Tel. +1 520-6213202
Fax: +1 520-6268268
Frau Chantelle Warner
warnerc@email.arizona.edu


Tempe
Arizona State University
PO Box 870202
Tempe, AZ 85287-0202
Tel.: +1 480-965-2129
Sara Lee
Sara.A.Lee@asu.edu

East

Supervision: Andrea Pfeil
andrea.pfeil@newyork.goethe.org
Goethe-Institut New York

Ithaca
Cornell University
Department of German Studies
75 Goldwin Smith Hall
Ithaca, NY 14853-3201
Tel. +1 607 2555265
Gunhild Iris Lischke
gl15@cornell.edu
Dept. of German Studies

Exam dates Cornell University:

01/19/2017


New York 
Goethe-Institut 
New York, NY 10012 
Tel.: +1 212 4398700 
Steffi Krause
germancourses@newyork.goethe.org 
Goethe-Institut New York Language Department


New York 
Hunter College 
German Department 
Room 1406 Hunter West 
695 Park Avenue 
New York, NY 10065 
Tel. +1 212 7724000 
Fax +1 212 7725746
Elke Nicolai
enicolai@hunter.cuny.edu 
German Department

Binghamton
Binghamton University
State University of New York
4400 Vestal Parkway East
Binghamton, NY 13902
Tel. +1 607 7772000
Rosmarie Morewedge
rmorewed@binghamton.edu
State College
Penn State University
442 Burrowes Building
University Park
State College, Pennsylvania 16802
Tel.: +1 814 863-4935
Thomas O. Beebee
tob@psu.edu

EXAM DATES PENN STATE
04/14/2018
Kingston 
University of Rhode Island
Dept. of Modern Languages 
61 Upper College Road
Kingston, RI 02881-0812
Tel.: +1 401 874 4700
Fax: +1 401 874 4694
Norbert Hedderich
hedderich@uri.edu


06/21/2017 (A2, B1)