Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)

Pazifik - Leipzig
Chang Yoong Chia

Chang Yoong Chia, born in 1975, studied from 1993 to 1997 Fine Arts, majoring in Painting, at the Malaysian Institute of Art.

Chang Yoong Chia© Chang Yoong Chia

Coming from the background of the Chinese minority in Malaysia, he is aware of what it means to create an own identity within a different cultural setting. His artistic language ranges from figurative oil painting to mixed media collages and objects that explore the magic of ‘giving small things a second life’.

Placing an importance on the material, he believes each medium has its own characteristics and symbolism thus new interpretations are conjured when found or mundane objects are transformed through the artistic process. Driven by the exploration of the idea how we can know of other’s existence and subsequently, how we learn what ‘the others’ are and what 'we' are, the artist preoccupates nature, spirits and myth into manifold narratives.                                                                                                                             
In Leipzig, Chang Yoong Chia would like to enter into the local communities of the citizens to get to know their personal histories in order to learn about who they are intrinsically and what circumstances made them who they became. He would like to invite them to view and discuss about the artworks during and after the artworks are made, including collected stories and found materials whereby a narrative of histories, personal stories and objects seen from a fresh perspective will be weaved together.

Chang Yoong Chia

  • Chang Yoong Chia 1 © Chang Yoong Chia
  • Chang Yoong Chia 2 © Chang Yoong Chia
  • Chang Yoong Chia 3 © Chang Yoong Chia

Artist in Leipzig

  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)

Pazifik - Leipzig
Chang Yoong Chia

Chang Yoong Chia, geboren 1975, studierte von 1993 bis 1997 angewandte Kunst und Malerei an dem Malaysian Institute of Art.

Chang Yoong Chia© Chang Yoong Chia

Yoong Chia ist Teil der chinesischen Minderheit in Malaysia und hat dadurch auch erfahren müssen was es bedeutet sich eine eigene Identität innerhalb einer fremden Kultur zu erschaffen. Seine visuelle Sprache reicht von figurativer Ölmalerei zu Mixed Media Kollagen und Objekten. In seiner Arbeit geht es Yoong Chia darum 'kleinen Dingen ein zweites Leben zu schenken'.

Material spielt in seiner Arbeit eine zentrale Rolle, da jedes Medium eigene Charakteristika und eine distinktive Symbolik besitzt. Durch den künstlerischen Prozess bringt Yoong Chia gefundene Objekte in einen neuen Kontext und ruft dabei neue Interpretationen hervor. Inhaltlich drängt ihn die Frage wie wir lernen was 'wir' sind und was 'die Anderen' sind. Yoong Chia erforscht diese Fragen indem er sich mit Mythen, Natur und Geistern beschäftigt und diese in Erzählungen miteinander verstrickt.

In Leipzig möchte Chang Yoong Chia die lokale Bevölkerung in seine Arbeit miteinbeziehen, da er mehr über die persönlichen Geschichten der einzelnen Einwohner Leipzigs lernen möchte und herausfinden möchte was sie zu den Personen geformt hat die sie heute sind. Zusätzlich möchte er die Bürger Leipzigs einladen seine Werke auch schon während des  Arbeitsprozesses anzuschauen und darüber zu diskutieren. In seinen Werken wird Yoong Chia gesammelte Geschichten und gefundenes Material nutzen und zu einer Erzählung von Geschichten sowie persönlichen Perspektiven zusammenführen.

Chang Yoong Chia

  • Chang Yoong Chia 1 © Chang Yoong Chia
  • Chang Yoong Chia 2 © Chang Yoong Chia
  • Chang Yoong Chia 3 © Chang Yoong Chia

Künstler in Leipzig

  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA
  • Chang Yoong Chia © LIA

Top