Till Ansgar Baumhauer
From Dresden to Hanoi as “Artist in Residence”

Till Ansgar Baumhauer is the new artist- in-residence from Sachsen. He will live and work in Hanoi from September to November 2019. For more than 20 years, the post-doctoral researcher and artist has focused on the relationship between violence and its aestheticization and visualization. What traces do historical events leave behind in the narratives and images of everyday culture? How are societies influenced by war experiences? How does war experience affect the peace-time? How does the history of a country and its people influence their perception of recent warlike events?

The artist's residence in Hanoi enables Baumhauer to move freely through Vietnam's art scene for three months, visit museums, locate collectors of artefacts, and focus on the artistic realization of his discoveries and insights. In addition, as a teacher at the art academies in Hanoi and Hue, he will give workshops, but also make contacts with the dense network of artists.

For Baumhauer- like for many Germans - Vietnam has a special significance. Baumhauer's interest goes beyond art. He also focuses on cultural techniques. Especially the liberating history of the country has phenomena which Baumhauer would like to pursue. It can be about how the memory of the war is processed, how it is talked about or artistically worked. How are the commemorative life and how commemorative cultures are intertwined, and what can be deduced from their nature? Vietnam's proud history enriches Baumhauer's quest and paves the way for discoveries and artistic work beyond cultural boundaries.
.

Till Ansgar Baumhauer © Till Ansgar Baumhauer Dr. Till Ansgar Baumhauer (Ph.D.), born in 1972, lives as a freelance artist, curator and publicist in Dresden. After completing a degree in Painting and Fine Arts, he received his doctorate at the Bauhaus University Weimar in 2015. The multiple art award winner intensively deals with visual forms of representation of violent events.

Till Ansgar Baumhauer
Von Dresden nach Hanoi als „Artist in Residence“

Als Stipendiat der Kulturstiftung des Landes Sachsen wird sich Till Ansgar Baumhauer drei Monate in Hanoi aufhalten. Der promovierte Wissenschaftler und Künstler beschäftigt sich seit über 20 Jahren mit der Visualisierung und Ästhetisierung von Gewalt. Welche Spuren hinterlassen geschichtliche Ereignisse in der in den Erzählungen und Bildern der Alltagskultur? Wie werden Gesellschaften durch Kriegserfahrungen beeinflusst? Wie wirkt sich die Kriegserfahrung auf die Friedenszeit aus? Wie beeinflusst die Vorgeschichte von Land und Leuten ihre Wahrnehmung des jüngsten kriegerischen Ereignisses?

Die Künstlerresidenz in Hanoi ermöglicht Baumhauer, sich drei Monate lang frei in der Kunstszene Vietnams zu bewegen, Museen zu besuchen, Sammler von Artefakten ausfindig zu machen und sich auf die künstlerische Umsetzung seiner Entdeckungen und Einsichten zu fokussieren. Nebenbei wird er als Lehrender an den Kunstakademien in Hanoi und Hue Workshops geben, aber auch mit dem dichten Netzwerk an Künstler*innen Kontakte knüpfen.

Baumhauers Interesse geht über Kunst hinaus und nimmt auch die Kulturtechniken in Blick. Vietnam birgt für Baumhauer eine besondere Signifikanz. Gerade die Befreiungsgeschichte des Landes weist Phänomene auf, denen Baumhauer nachgehen möchte. Dabei kann es darum gehen, wie die Erinnerung an den Krieg verarbeitet wird, wie darüber gesprochen oder künstlerisch gearbeitet wird. Wie sind hier die Erinnerungs- und Gedenkkulturen angelegt, und was lässt sich aus deren Beschaffenheit ableiten? Vietnam stolze Geschichte bereichert Baumhauers Suche und bereitet Wege für Entdeckungen und eine künstlerische Arbeit jenseits kultureller Grenzen.

Till Ansgar Baumhauer © Till Ansgar Baumhauer Dr. Till Ansgar Baumhauer (*1972) lebt als freischaffender Künstler, Kurator und Publizist in Dresden. Nach einem Studium der Malerei und der Freien Kunst folgte 2015 die Promotion an der Bauhaus-Universität Weimar. Der mehrfache Kunstpreisträger beschäftigt sich intensiv mit visuellen Darstellungsformen gewaltgeprägter Ereignisse.