Production of a photo book with accompanying text
Announcement for publishers

Thomas Billhardt © Thomas Billhardt

Thomas Billhardt is a German publicist and photographer. He was born in Chemnitz in 1937 and was considered one of the most important documentary photographers in the GDR. He became famous through his photographs from the Vietnam War.

Thomas Billhardt has seen a lot from the world through out his career. His photographs from the revolutionary Cuba in 1961 aroused international interests. Furthermore he traveled to Chile, Mozambique, Guinea, China and the Middle East.

„I have experienced joy and suffering of the people, whether on the natural gas fields of the former USSR or on the front of Vietnam,“ writes Thomas Billhardt in one of his German books.

In autumn 2020, the Goethe-Institut Hanoi will show some photographs by Thomas Billhardt in Hanoi and Ho Chi Minh City. The exhibition is an homage to Vietnam with moving imageries. The photographs show not only sadness and destruction, but also the courage and the commitment the desire for change oft he Vietnamese.

In addition to the exhibition, a book will be published in Vietnamese. The Goethe-Institut Hanoi wishes to collaborate with a Vietnamese publisher, which also contributes in content and knows exactly what interests the Vietnamese could have in Thomas Billhardt’s works.

If you, as a publisher, are interested in the concept of the photo book, please contact us until June 15, 2019.

Produktion eines Fotobuchs mit Begleittext
Ausschreibung für Verleger

Thomas Billhardt © Thomas Billhardt

Thomas Billhardt ist ein deutscher Publizist und Fotograf. Er wurde 1937 in Chemnitz geboren und galt in der DDR als einer der wichtigsten Dokumentarfotografen. Bekannt geworden ist er durch seine Fotografien aus dem Vietnamkrieg.

Thomas Billhardt hat viel von der Welt gesehen im Laufe seiner Arbeit. Internationales Interesse weckten seine Fotografien aus dem revolutionären Kuba von 1961. Andere Reisen führten ihn nach Chile, Mosambik, Guinea, China und dem Nahen Osten.

„Ich habe die Freude und das Leid der Menschen erfahren, ob auf den Erdgasfeldern der ehemaligen UdSSR oder an der Front in Vietnam,“ schreibt Thomas Billhardt in einem seiner deutschen Bücher.
Im Herbst 2020 zeigt das Goethe-Institut Fotografien von Thomas Billhardt in Hanoi und Ho Chi Minh Stadt. Die Ausstellung wird eine Hommage an Vietnam mit berührenden Fotografien. Die Bilder zeigen nicht nur Trauer und Zerstörung, sondern auch den Mut und das Engagement, den Wunsch nach Veränderung der Vietnamesen.

Zusätzlich zu dieser Ausstellung soll ein Buch auf vietnamesischer Sprache veröffentlicht werden. Das Goethe-Institut wünscht sich eine Zusammenarbeit mit einem vietnamesischen Verlag, welches sich auch inhaltlich mit einbringt und genau weiß, welche Interessen die Vietnamesen haben könnten an Thomas Billhardts Werken.  

Wenn Sie als Verlag Interesse an der Konzeption des Fotobuchs haben, dann nehmen Sie bitte Kontakt mit uns auf bis 15. Juni 2019.