Crossing Borders

An Image of a Hand with pen - writing, Stock-Foto © Colourbox

Research funding in Germany, now also for applicants (m/f) from India, Indonesia, Japan and Vietnam.

The „Crossing Borders“ program of the Robert Bosch Foundation and the Literarisches Colloquium Berlin funds international research stays of authors, filmmakers and photographers. Applicants from India, Indonesia, Japan and Vietnam can now apply for research grants. We are looking for creative people working on relevant themes with a concrete publication proposal and a willingness to engage differentially with the German culture. The aim of the program is to support creative projects, which break existing stereotypes and open a broad perspective on the diversity and multifaceted character of Germany to a larger public. Research grants can be applied for literary and essay prose works, poetry, photo-textbooks, children and young adult literature, scripts for documentary and feature films, radio programs and multimedia productions. Within the framework of Crossing Borders program applications are welcome from China (including Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macao), India, Indonesia, Japan and Vietnam.

The amount of grant will depend on the duration of research and can be up to 9300€. The detailed calculation can be done easily with help of the online application form.
 
The application deadline is 01.9. – 31.10.2018.
 
We would be grateful, if you could pass on this information to all potential applicants through your newsletter or send across your mailing list.
 
Detailed Information and the link to the online application portal can be looked up on:
www.bosch-stiftung.de/en/project/crossing-borders

Program details

An Independent jury will select projects for the grant out of the incoming applications. The results will be probably declared respectively either by mid-July or end of January.

The grant expects a high degree of self-responsibility. We cannot offer an extensive supervision, but would gladly assist in research relevant places/ Institutions and provide contacts in Germany as far as possible.
 
In addition to the publication of the Crossing Borders projects, grants can also be applied for the presentation of these works at public events. Applications are to be sent to the Literarisches Colloquium Berlin in this regard.

FAQ

Authors, Filmmakers and Photographers working on literary and essay prose works, poetry, photo-textbooks, children and young adult literature, script for documentary and feature films, radio programs and multimedia productions.
There is no age-limit for the applicants.
This is principally possible. Although one project leader (m/f) should be named, who will be the contact person for the Robert Bosch Foundation and responsible for the project. In such cases only one application form needs to be filled. Resume and details of the other participants should be attached along with the application. The grant for the research can be applied by only one person.
After every rejection one can always apply anew.
Applicants, who have already received a Crossing Borders grant, can gladly apply again, after the research for the first project has been completed i.e. the research report and the financial billing for the used grant has been successfully carried out; first time applicants would however be preferred.
The grant is bound with a publication proposal, which should be published and spread either in form of a book, film, radio program or a multimedia production. The publication should reach a large public.
The Exposé should be as long as necessary and as short as possible. A length of three to ten pages is generally sufficient.
The exposé should give information about the content, style and target group of the project in a concise form. It should explicate how the project is suitable for a grant of the Crossing Borders program.
Grant can be applied for:
  • Grant for the travel costs, for the trip to Germany, further travelling within Germany and for the return trip, to the extent of maximum 2400€.
  • Grant for lodging and extra expenditures on food for a maximum of 31 days, which will be calculated as a lump sum daily allowance.
  • Grant for the research, for the preparation, carrying out and post-processing of the research trip to the extent of 1200€ per month, for a total of 3 months.
Details about third party funds and proof of one’s own resources have a positive effect on the evaluation process of the application. Under one´s own resources, one should give costs of practical requirements, which one would incur but cover through one´s own financial means, technical equipment, rooms, office resources among others.

Third party funds come from further institutions, besides the applicant and Robert Bosch Foundation. The acquisition of further monetary support is welcome. If the part of fund by third party institutions or one´s own resources is not decided at the time of application, such efforts should however be mentioned in the application.

Grenzgänger

An Image of a Hand with pen - writing, Stock-Foto © Colourbox

Rechercheförderung in Deutschland ab sofort auch für Bewerber (m_w) aus Indien, Indonesien, Japan und Vietnam.

Das Programm „Grenzgänger“, das die Robert Bosch Stiftung gemeinsam mit dem Literarischen Colloquium Berlin durchführt, fördert internationale Rechercheaufenthalte von Autoren, Filmemachern und Fotografen. Erstmals können auch Bewerber aus Indien, Indonesien, Japan und Vietnam Projekte einreichen. Gefragt sind Kreative, die für ein konkretes Publikationsvorhaben relevante Themen aufgreifen und sich differenziert mit der deutschen Kultur auseinandersetzen wollen. Ziel des Programms ist es, die Entstehung künstlerischer Werke zu unterstützen, die bestehende Stereotype durchbrechen und einem breiten Publikum Perspektiven auf die Vielfalt und Vielschichtigkeit Deutschlands öffnen. Die Rechercheförderung kann für Werke literarischer und essayistischer Prosa, Lyrik, Fototextbände, Kinder- und Jugendbuchliteratur, Drehbücher für Dokumentar- und Spielfilme, Hörfunkbeiträge und Multimediaproduktionen beantragt werden. Im Rahmen von Grenzgänger sind Anträge von Bewerbern aus China (inkl. Taiwan, Hongkong und Macao), Indien, Indonesien, Japan und Vietnam willkommen.

Die Höhe der Förderung wird in Abhängigkeit von der Recherchedauer gewährt und kann bis zu 9.300 Euro betragen. Die detaillierte Berechnung erfolgt unkompliziert mit Hilfe des Online-Bewerbungsformulars.
 
Die Bewerbungsfrist endet am 01.9. – 31.10.2018 .
 
Wir freuen uns, wenn Sie diese Informationen in Ihre Newsletter oder Verteiler aufnehmen und an alle potenziell Interessierten weiterleiten.
 
Ausführliche Informationen und den Link zum Online-Bewerbungsportal finden Sie unter:
www.bosch-stiftung.de/en/project/crossing-borders

Programmdetails

Eine unabhängige Jury wählt aus den eingehenden Bewerbungen Projekte zur Förderung aus. Die Entscheidung wird voraussichtlich jeweils Mitte Juli bzw. Ende Januar bekannt gegeben.
 
Die Förderung setzt ein hohes Maß an Eigenverantwortung voraus. Eine umfangreiche persönliche Betreuung können wir nicht bieten, beraten aber gern zu rechercherelevanten Orten / Institutionen und vermitteln Kontakte in Deutschland, soweit möglich.

Im Anschluss an die Veröffentlichung der Grenzgänger-Werke können Fördermittel für die Präsentation dieser Werke auf öffentlichen Veranstaltungen beantragt werden. Anträge nimmt das Literarische Colloquium Berlin entgegen. 

FAQ

Autoren, Filmemacher und Fotografen (m_w) können sich für Werke literarischer und essayistischer Prosa, Lyrik, Fototextbände, Kinder- und Jugendbuchliteratur, Drehbücher für Dokumentar- und Spielfilme, Hörfunkbeiträge und Multimediaproduktionen bewerben.
Es gibt keine Altersbeschränkung für Bewerber.
Das ist grundsätzlich möglich. Allerdings muss ein Projektleiter (m_w) benannt werden, der gegenüber der Robert Bosch Stiftung Ansprechpartner und Verantwortlicher ist. In diesem Fall sollte nur ein Bewerbungsformular ausgefüllt werden. Lebensläufe und Angaben zu den anderen beteiligten Personen sollten beigefügt werden. Der Zuschuss zur Werkerstellung kann nur für eine Person beantragt werden.
Nach einer Ablehnung kann man jederzeit wieder einen neuen Versuch wagen.
Bewerber, die bereits eine Grenzgänger-Förderung erhalten haben, können sich gern nochmals bewerben, wenn die Recherchen für das erste Projekt abgeschlossen sind, d. h. der Recherchebericht und die Abrechnung über die verwendeten Mittel erfolgt ist; Erstbewerbungen werden allerdings bevorzugt.
Die Förderung ist an ein Publikationsvorhaben gebunden, das in Form eines Buchs, Films, Hörfunkbeitrags oder einer Multimedia-Produktion veröffentlicht und verbreitet wird. Die Publikation sollte ein möglichst breites Publikum erreichen.
Das Exposé sollte so lang wie notwendig und so kurz wie möglich sein. Eine Länge von drei bis zehn Seiten ist in der Regel ausreichend.
Das Exposé sollte in prägnanter Form Auskunft über Inhalte, Stil und Zielgruppe des Projekts geben. Es sollte deutlich machen, inwiefern sich das Projekt für die Förderung durch das Grenzgänger-Programm eignet.
Beantragt werden können:
  • Ein Zuschuss zu den Reisekosten für die Anreise nach Deutschland, die Weiterreise innerhalb Deutschlands und die Rückreise in Höhe von maximal 2.400 €;
  • Ein Zuschuss zu Übernachtungskosten und Verpflegungsmehraufwendungen für max. 31 Tage, die auf Grundlage einer Tagespauschale berechnet werden;
  • Ein Zuschuss zur Werkerstellung für die Vorbereitung, Durchführung und Nachbereitung der Recherchereise in Höhe von 1.200 € pro Monat für insgesamt max. 3 Monate.
Die Angaben zur Förderung durch Dritte und der Nachweis von Eigenmitteln wirken sich positiv auf die Beurteilung des Antrags aus. Unter Eigenmitteln sollte man Kosten angeben, die praktisch entstehen würden, aber durch eigene finanzielle Mittel, technische Ausstattung, Räume, Büromittel, u.a. gedeckt werden können.

Drittmittel kommen von weiteren Geldgebern neben dem Antragsteller und der Robert Bosch Stiftung. Die Gewinnung weiterer Geldgeber ist willkommen. Wenn der Anteil von Drittmitteln oder Eigenmitteln zum Zeitpunkt der Antragstellung nicht feststeht, sollten entsprechende Bemühungen in der Bewerbung angegeben werden.