Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Snežana Golubović & Le BrothersPhoto: Hoang Anh

Art in public space
Artist residence in Hue

Snežana Golubović is performance artist from Frankfurt/Main. She Serbian national (former Yugoslavia) and has lived in Germany since 1992. In July, she was a guest at the Le Brothers in Hue. Twins Thanh and Hai Le are worldwide known as artists. For 8 years, they have been running an artist's residence in a neighborhood just outside the city center of Hue, where old villas and pagodas and a lotus pond beautify the vicinity. Artists who successfully apply can stay for a month or longer. Some artists bring a grant from their home country and pay their fee for the residence. Others find no promotion are also welcome. Hue used to be the great imperial city of Vietnam, now a provincial town with many fine spots, a cuisine praised throughout the country, the Perfume River whose name reveals something about the air and surroundings of Hue. Anyone who comes to the Le Brothers, is well looked after, associated with artists and the art school, where she/he can also give a lecture or workshop – much sought after is photography, video, performance art.


Interview with Snežana Golubović

Snežana Golubović: Since “fields of vision”, a Performance Art Festival in Reutlingen and Tübingen in 2017, where I met the Le Brothers, we developed a lively conversation. We discovered a number of things in common, such as the role of politics, our the communist background, war and our curiosity to know what it was like in former Yugoslavia or in Vietnam, or what drove me to leave my country and what the two brothers would never do.
 
In addition there was great enthusiasm and love for nature. We have talked about this many times and finally the Le Brothers eventually invited me to Vietnam. That hit a nerve with me. Ever since childhood, since I had read Marguerite Duras “The Lover”, I wanted to travel to Saigon and Vietnam; but it had never happened. Suddenly everything came together.
Snežana Golubović: This is like a dream. Even after a month, I still think: “Is this all true?” From the first day I was surprised by the beauty here, the scents,smells, tastes. I have almost taken an overdose of beauty here. Then the hospitality that touches me a lot.
Snežana Golubović: It is our Friendship. But art has brought us together. We had an idea for a bigger artistic project - NATURA - how we could combine friendship, art and love; and this what we did.
 
It was not always easy. At work there were situations where the weather did not go along or our views as artists differed; there were conflicts; but ultimately, the side of friendship – LOVE - always won. We have become a family. Thanh and Hai are my brothers. We sometimes have different views on the arts which we can discuss and solve pretty quickly, well and productively, like in a family. Every happy family knows that.
 
I have learned a lot and I hope the two also. And not only got to know each other but I learnt what is possible in one culture and what is not possible in the other. We have different ways of doing art. For me it was a great enrichment, personally as well as artistically.
Snežana Golubović: It was clear that we would not be able to finish the project in such a short time. We worked intensively for 27 days, made many videos – between 70 to 80 hours of video material. Because of the rain we were sometimes forced to work indoors.

So far, there is only one trailer, which I could use during my artist talk and which I am taking back to Germany. But for the project, selection and editing of the material is only beginning now. We need to think about how we will build the whole installation, make the selection of the photo edition, and do the book. A lot of work is ahead of us.
Snežana Golubović: For us now only love matters, love for one another, love for nature, for work, for art. What has evolved from the start now has a completely different quality. Our theme is “Natura”, which is to be understood as nature around us and nature inside us. The project Natura is now our family.
Snežana Golubović: I take a lot with me. Le Brothers and I will be working on this project for a long time. I hope to come back to Hue soon. Already in September we will meet again - in Germany. Then Le Brothers come to Hamburg to participate in the show An Atypical Brain Damage.

Interview with den Le Brothers


Pionier

LAST PIONEER Photo: Hoan Le Quoc In Hanoi the photo "The last Pioneer" was taken. For 15 years, Snežana Golubović has carried the uniform she wore as a youthful pioneer in Yugoslavia in her suitcase on all her travels. Whereever space and history cross her ways, her biography, her own interests and the self-willed role of the last pioneer, she puts on her uniform again. She took photos in Belgrade in front of the Museum of Yugoslavia and at Tito’s tomb (House of Flowers). She wore the uniform in New York, at the corner of Nikola Tesla, at Imagine in Strawberry Fields, in remote Povernir (Patagonia), where Yugoslav pioneers erected a monument in 1983. The photo in Hanoi was taken spontaneously when Snežana Golubović discovered this "oversized" Lenin.


Partner

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Snežana Golubović & Le BrothersFoto: Hoang Anh

Kunst im öffentlichen Raum
Künstlerresidenz in Hue

Snežana Golubović ist Performancekünstlerin aus Frankfurt/Main. Sie stammt aus Serbien (ehemaliges Jugoslawien) und lebt seit 1992 in Deutschland. Im Juli war sie Gast bei den Le Brothers in Hue. Thanh und Hai Le sind Zwillingsbrüder und als Künstler weltweit bekannt. Seit 8 Jahren betreiben sie eine Künstlerresidenz in einem außerhalb des Stadtzentrums liegenden Viertel mit Villen und Pagoden und einem Lotusteich. Wer sich erfolgreich bewirbt, kann für einen Monat oder sogar länger unterkommen. Manche Künstler bringen eine Förderung aus ihrem Heimatland mit und entrichten ihren Obulus für die Residenz. Andere finden keine Förderung und sind auch willkommen. Hue war mal die große Kaiserstadt Vietnam, heute eine Provinzstadt mit vielen schönen Stellen, mit einer im ganzen Land gerühmten Küche, dem wenig befahrenen breiten Parfümfluss, dessen Name etwas über die Luft und Umgebung von Hue verrät. Wer zu den Le Brothers kommt, wird gut betreut, mit Künstlern und der Kunsthochschule in Verbindung gebracht, kann dort auch einen Vortrag halten oder Workshop geben – vorzugsweise derzeit in Fotografie, Videokunst, Performancekunst.


Interview mit Snežana Golubović

Snežana Golubović: Seit „fields of vision“, einem Performance Art Festival in Reutlingen und Tübingen in 2017, wo ich Le Brothers kennenlernte, entwickelte sich eine lebhafte Verständigung. Wir entdeckten eine Reihe von Gemeinsamkeiten, wie die Rolle der Politik, der kommunistische Hintergrund, der Krieg und unsere Neugier, zu erfahren, wie es im ehemaligen Jugoslawien oder in Vietnam war, oder was mich getrieben hatte, mein Land zu verlassen, und was die beiden nie machen würden.

Dazu kam eine große Begeisterung und Liebe zur Natur. Darüber haben wir sehr oft gesprochen und Le Brothers haben mich schließlich gerade deshalb nach Vietnam eingeladen. Das traf auf einen Nerv bei mir. Ich wollte seit meiner Kindheit, seitdem ich Marguerite Duras „Der Liebhaber“ gelesen hatte, nach Saigon und Vietnam; aber es hatte sich nie ergeben. Auf einmal kam alles zusammen.
Snežana Golubović: Es ist wie in einem Traum. Auch nach einem Monat denke ich immer wieder: Ist das alles wahr? Vom ersten Tag an war ich überrascht von der Schönheit hier, von den Düften, Gerüchen, Geschmäcken. Ich habe fast eine Überdosis von Schönheit hier aufgenommen. Dann die Gastfreundschaft, die mich sehr rührt.
Snežana Golubović: Die Freundschaft. Aber die Kunst hat uns zusammen gebracht. Wir hatten eine Idee für ein größeres künstlerisches Projekt – NATURA - wie wir Freundschaft, Kunst und Liebe verbinden können. Und das haben wir gemacht.
 
Es war nicht immer leicht. Bei der Arbeit gab es Situationen, wo das Wetter nicht mitmachte oder wir unterschiedlicher Anschauungen als Künstler waren; es gab Konflikte; aber letztlich hat immer die Seite der Freundschaft – die LIEBE gewonnen. Wir sind eine Familie geworden. Thanh und Hai sind meine Brüder. Wir haben manchmal unterschiedliche Auffassungen in der Kunst, die wir ziemlich schnell, gut und produktiv, wie in einer Familie, besprechen und lösen können. Jede glückliche Familie kennt das.
 
Ich habe sehr viel gelernt und ich hoffe, die beiden auch. Und nicht nur sich kennen gelernt sondern was in einer Kultur möglich ist und was in der anderen nicht. Wir haben unterschiedliche Wege, wie wir Kunst machen. Für mich war das eine große Bereicherung, persönlich wie auch künstlerisch. 
Snežana Golubović: Es war klar, dass wir das Projekt nicht in so kurzer Zeit fertig stellen können. Wir haben 27 Tage lang intensiv gearbeitet, haben viele Videos gemacht – zwischen 70 bis 80 Stunden Videomatierial. Wegen des Regens waren wir manchmal gezwungen drinnen zu arbeiten.

Bis jetzt gibt es nur einen Trailer, den ich bei meinem Künstlergespräch zeigen konnte und den ich nach Deutschland mitnehme. Aber für das Projekt beginnen Auswahl und Bearbeitung des Materials erst jetzt. Wir müssen uns überlegen, wie wir die ganze Installation aufbauen werden, die Auswahl der Fotoedition treffen, und wie wir das Buch machen können. Viel Arbeit steht vor uns.
Snežana Golubović: Für uns spielt jetzt nur noch die Liebe eine Rolle, die Liebe zu einander, die Liebe zur Natur, zur Arbeit, zur Kunst. Was sich entwickelt hat, hat eine ganz andere Qualität. Das Thema ist Natura, was zu verstehen ist als Natur um uns herum und Natur von uns selbst. Das Projekt Natura ist jetzt unsere Familie.
Snežana Golubović: Ich nehme sehr viel mit. Le Brothers und ich werden noch lange mit diesem Projekt beschäftigt sein. Ich hoffe, bald wieder nach Hue zurück zu kommen. Schon im September werden wir uns wieder sehen - in Deutschland. Dann kommen Le Brothers nach Hamburg, um an der Show An Atypical Brain Damage mitzuwirken.

Interview mit den Le Brothers


Pionier

LAST PIONEER Foto: Hoan Le Quoc In Hanoi entstand ein Foto für die Reihe „Die letzte Pionierin“. Seit 15 Jahren nimmt Snežana Golubović die Uniform, die sie als jugendliche Pionierin in Jugoslawien trug, mit auf Reisen. Dort, wo sich Geschichte auf irgendeine Weise mit der eigenen Biografie, den eigenen Interessen oder der selbstbestimmten Rolle der letzten Pionierin kreuzt, zieht sie ihre Uniform noch einmal an. So sind Fotos in Belgrad vor dem Museum der Geschichte Jugoslawiens entstanden und an Titos Grab (Haus der Blumen). Sie hat die Uniform in New York getragen, an der Nikola Tesla Ecke, vor Imagine in Strawberry Fields, in Povernir (Patagonia), wo jugoslawische Pioniere 1983 ein Denkmal errichteten. Das Foto in Hanoi entstand spontan als Snežana Golubović diesen „überdimensionalen“ Lenin entdeckte.


Partner