Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Interview with Goebbels© Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Dance & music camp with H. Goebbels

Heiner Goebbels spent two weeks in Hanoi to conduct a dance & music camp for Vietnamese artists. He had selected participants from a pool of applicants, emphasizing a balanced relationship between men and women as well as dancers and musicians, and assembling a promising mix of mutually inspiring and open-minded individuals. Two dancers had traveled from Germany, where they are currently employed. The music featured voice, noise, electronics, and classical Vietnamese instruments.


About the dance & music camp

The camp pursued different goals; firstly, to be a place of encounter for those who found work abroad and those who stayed in Vietnam and continue to live for their art, without public support or commissioned work. The purpose of the camp was to give all participants a space to try out fresh ideas, unfamiliar approaches, and new forms of collaboration among each other and across genres (dance, music, light, big stage).
 
The idea for the camp was conceived in Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) by guest choreographer Dieter Heitkamp (Frankfurt / M.) and our two major event partners in the field of contemporary dance, the dance academy Ho Chi Minh City and the opera (HBSO). A year ago, we decided to skip the annual EUNIC Dance Festival, which had been running for seven consecutive years, and give the local artists an action-packed break.
 
We want to allow the dancers to refuel creatively before they get bogged down again by pressure to churn out new pieces. Our intention was to provide two weeks full of opportunities for experimenting, discovering new things, and finalizing them for new stage concepts. We wanted to add music to the dance focus. So we wondered who could assist us with this task, to get familiar with the unknown and foreign situation and the Asian environment, who could draw from a wealth of experiences, in particular concerning artists who have to make a living independently, someone who is an authority on innovative stage productions. Of course, one eminent master came to mind immediately. This is how we came to ask Heiner Goebbels - and he actually agreed!


Interviews with the artists


Report on the dance project

  • Tanzcamp1 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp2 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp3 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp4 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp5 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp6 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp7 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp8 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp9 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Summer Dance and Music Camp 2018 organized by the Goethe-Institut Vietnam, Vietnam National Opera and Ballet (VNOB) in collaboration with the College of Dance Vietnam has ended with an impressive performance on July 27.
 
The show lasted for two hours contained six performances and is the result of two weeks of tireless working by eight choreographers and dancer and nine musicians who are working in Vietnam and abroad. The camp was led by Heiner Goebbels and VNOB's Director Tran Ly Ly.

Give power to the imagination!

It starts with a few dancers gathered in the corner of the right wing; motionlessly they stare to the edge of the stage where a drone sound begins to rise. When the vision is blocked, the hearing suddenly becomes unusually sharp. Audiences can almost distinguish each single sound from the wind buzzing noise, accompanied by the high sound of electronic tune and objects rubbing and squeezing together. The Dan tranh (16-chord zither) sometimes soars with sweet and melodious sounds, sometimes wails at utmost high-pitched or repeats a few dazzling notes like an alarm clock.
 
Imagination activated by sound. The stage lightens up, strange objects fly in, dancers re-appear on stage. They do not dance in the conventional sense, but they stand still or move around picking up, dragging, conjoining objects that turn out to be in the shape of gray clouds. Two dancers rush out to touch the clouds then slowly and cautiously retreat backward on their knees to the left wing. What we usually call 'Dance' does not happen until the id of the 16 minute-long opening act when a female dancer dressed in white and hidden behind a dark cloud, unexpectedly exposes herself in the middle of the stage. Like a white cloud floating in the sky, like a bird struggling in the wind, like an amorphous object stuck in somewhere, she is trembling and flapping to get free. The music is once complementary to the dance, at other times in contrast with the movements on the stage. It can bring the audience into a peaceful, tranquil space, and at the next moment pull them right into the heart of chaos.
 
At this point viewers have come to understand Heiner Goebbels welcoming words: "Please do not think this is a complete performance or do not wait for a complete theater piece. I do not think the piece needs any introduction or preparation for the audience. But we need curious audiences, those who do not expect to see what they already know."
 
The program includes seven pieces. They are arranged with increasing complexity and more layers of involvement of the actors on the stage, the musicians at the side or in the front, the light designer for the back, the curtain and the other props as objects to be taken serious and played with.

On stage, one must forget themselves

The show challenges the viewer beyond the notion of a traditional dance performance with romantic choreography, harmony between music and movement, and a storyline or message to be conveyed. The two-week camp has challenged all that. It promotes a different approach to all the things that make the magic of theater.
 
At the beginning of the conceptual stage the participants experimented with the props, with the influences of music, the light and different reaction to the props. During the second week, new ideas and the best improvisational performances were selected, rehearsed, sharpened and polished for the purpose of a final show.
 
Heiner Goebbels’s philosophy is that all elements on stage play an equal role, from object to person, to sound, light and even space. This counters the notion of a number one performer or the center on stage. Instead, artists learn that they are one element in a group and that each and everybody is connected to each other, depends on each other in an interrelationship which produces the picture on the stage for the audience. It is important for an artist to know what to do, when, how long and how. Such questions demand answers from every participant and open up ways for them to pursue their own artistic paths as an independent choreographer or musician with their own thinking and talent to create something new.

Have been disappointed with each other - that's why they had to work together

“The two weeks of the summer camp were not always going smoothly” Ms. Tran Ly Ly said: "There were days when everyone felt down and no one knew how to do," While improvising together, there were moments of sublimation when everything was done too well, but there were also times of "heated debate" between teachers and students because of disagreement, and because the artists sometimes let the improvisation go too far or put their-self up too high to create a collaborated work. "I had a lot of disappointed moments in the last two weeks," said Heiner Goebbels. However, "that's why we have to work together. And that is OK because this is a very new approach to them," he adds.
 
Some of the artists participating in the camp had similar working experience before, as Pham Thi Tam, long-term music practitioners from Dom Dom - the Hub for Experimental Music & Art, said that she has worked with a small group of musicians and dancers to improvised works together. However, improvisation is very difficult, and sometimes they struggle and do not know where to go next, and which path they should choose. "In a small group the focus falls on just a few people, thus the ability to control and coordinate within the group is much easier. But in a big group, it's hard to decide where to focus. And what we learn through this this workshop helps us to solve such problems."
 
Thuy Linh, a young artist who is still new to experimental music, said: "When practicing together and listening to Heiner commenting on the performance of each participant, I learned a lot, not just about music. As a result, I realized that all kind of contemporary art has a common voice. What I received more from this workshop was the enthusiasm and spirit that everyone here has and their devotion in art practice. Only two weeks and I feel like I have been maturing a lot. Now the camp has finished and I feel a bit sad. After this life is back to normal again but it makes me feel a bit odd. I hope to have the opportunity to meet and work with everyone again."
 
Heiner Goebbels reminds his students: "I hope every artist participating in this workshop will continue to reflect the work and use it for their future creation."
 
- Written by Ut Quyen for HanoiGrapepine.com and Goethe-Institut Vietnam -

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Interview mit Goebbels© Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Tanz & Musikcamp mit H. Goebbels

Heiner Goebbels verbrachte zwei Wochen in Hanoi, um ein Tanz- und Musikcamp für vietnamesische Künstler zu leiten. Er hatte Teilnehmer aus einem Pool von Bewerbern ausgewählt, eine ausgewogene Beziehung zwischen Männern und Frauen, Tänzern und Musikern mit einer vielversprechenden Mischung von sich gegenseitig inspirierenden und aufgeschlossenen Individuen. Zwei Tänzer kamen aus Deutschland, wo sie derzeit in Stadttheatern engagiert sind. Die Musiker vertraten die Bereiche Stimme, Geräusche, Elektronik und klassische vietnamesische Instrumente.


Über das Tanz- und Musikcamp

Das Camp verfolgte verschiedene Ziele: Ort der Begegnung zwischen denjenigen zu sein, die Arbeit im Ausland gefunden haben und jenen, die in Vietnam geblieben sind und ein Ort der Inspiration und der Ermöglichung in einer Kulturszene, wo sonst öffentliche Unterstützung fehlt. Die Teilnehmer sollten gute Bedingungen vorfinden, um neue Ideen und Formen der Zusammenarbeit unter-und mit einander auszuprobieren.
 
Die Idee zu dem Camp entstand 2017 während des EUNIC - Tanzfestivals „Europe Meets Asia in Contemporary Dance“, das vom Goethe-Institut sieben Jahre lang organisiert wurde. Gemeinsam mit der Leitung der Tanzakademie und der Oper (HBSO) in Ho Chi Minh City und dem deutschen Choreographen Dieter Heitkamp entwickelten wir ein Konzept für dieses Camp.
 
Tänzer und Musiker wollten wir einen Rahmen bieten, Kraft und Kreativität für neue Stücke zu tanken. Zwei Wochen lang sollten sie Gelegenheiten zum Ausprobieren haben, um Neues zu entdecken und einen neuen Umgang auf der Bühne zu erforschen. Wir haben uns gefragt, wer uns bei dieser Aufgabe unterstützen, sich mit der fremden Situation und der asiatischen Umgebung vertraut machen und aus einer Fülle von Erfahrungen mit Künstlern, die ihren Lebensunterhalt selbst bestreiten müssen, schöpfen könnte. Wir suchten nach einem Meister seines Faches, einer Autorität für Innovationen auf der Bühne. Da fragten wir mutig Heiner Goebbels - und er sagte tatsächlich zu! Herzlichen Dank an Heiner Goebbels.


Interviews mit den Künstlern


Bericht über das Tanzprojekt

  • Tanzcamp1 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp2 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp3 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp4 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp5 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp6 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp7 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp8 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi
  • Tanzcamp9 © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Das Tanz& Musik Sommercamp 2018 des Goethe-Instituts Vietnam, National Opera und Ballet (VNOB) zusammen mit dem Tanzcollege Vietnam schloss am 27. Juli mit einer beeindruckenden Vorstellung.
 
Die zweistündige Show bot sechs Stücke und war Ergebnis von zwei Wochen unermüdlicher Arbeit von acht vietnamesischen Choreographen und Tänzern und neun Musikern, von denen zwei in Deutschland arbeiten. Das Camp wurde von Heiner Goebbels und VNOB-Direktorin Tran Ly Ly geleitet.

Phantasie an die Macht!

Den Auftakt machen ein paar Tänzer, die sich in der Ecke des rechten Flügels versammelt haben. Bewegungslos starren sie auf den Bühnenrand, wo ein Dröhnen ertönt. Wenn die Sicht blockiert ist, wird das Gehör ungewöhnlich scharf. Das Publikum kann fast jeden einzelnen Ton von Geräuschen wie Wind unterscheiden, begleitet vom hohen Klang der elektronischen Melodie und der Objekte, die aneinander reiben und zusammendrücken. Die Dan Tranh (16-Akkord- Wölbbrettzither) erklingt mal mit süßen und melodischen Klängen, mal schreit sie in höchster Tonlage oder wiederholt Töne wie ein Wecker.
 
Phantasie, die durch Töne ausgelöst wird. Die Bühne hellt sich auf, seltsame Gegenstände fliegen herein, Tänzer treten wieder auf. Sie tanzen nicht im herkömmlichen Sinn, sondern stehen still oder bewegen sich; heben Objekte auf, schleifen und verbinden Objekte, die der Form nach graue Wolken darstellen. Zwei Tänzer eilen herbei, um die Wolken zu berühren, dann ziehen sie sich langsam und vorsichtig auf den Knien zum linken Flügel zurück. Was wir normalerweise 'Tanz' nennen, passiert nicht vor der Hälfte des 16 Minuten langen Vorspiels, als eine weiß gekleidete Tänzerin, die hinter einer dunklen Wolke versteckt ist, sich unerwartet in der Mitte der Bühne zeigt. Wie eine weiße Wolke, die am Himmel schwebt, wie ein Vogel, der im Wind kämpft, wie ein amorpher Gegenstand, der irgendwo steckt und zittert, flattert sie, um sich zu befreien. Die Musik passt einmal komplementär zum Tanz, bei anderer Gelegenheit bildet sie eine Gegenkraft zu den Bewegungen auf der Bühne. Sie kann das Publikum in einen friedlichen, ruhigen Raum tragen und im nächsten Augenblick mitten ins Chaos reißen.
 
An dieser Stelle erschließen sich Grußworte von Heiner Goebbels: "Denken Sie bitte nicht, dass dies eine vollständige Aufführung ist und warten Sie nicht auf ein vollendetes Theaterstück. Ich denke auch nicht, dass das Stück eine Einführung braucht oder Einweisung des Publikums. Was wir aber brauchen, sind neugierige Zuschauer, die nicht etwas sehen wollen, was sie schon kennen. "
 
The program includes seven pieces. They are arranged with increasing complexity and more layers of involvement of the actors on the stage, the musicians at the side or in the front, the light designer for the back, the curtain and the other props as objects to be taken serious and played with.
 
Das Programm hat sieben Teile. Sie sind folgen aufeinander mit zunehmender Komplexität und mehrschichtiger Beteiligung der Akteure auf der Bühne, der Musiker vorn oder an der Seite, des Lichtdesigners hinten, sowie des Vorhangs und anderer Requisiten, die ganz ernst zu nehmen und Teil des Spiels sind.

Auf der Bühne muss man sich selbst vergessen

Die Show fordert den Zuschauer heraus – jenseits der Vorstellung traditioneller Tanzdarbietung mit romantischer Choreographie, Einheit von Musik und Bewegung und einer klaren Geschichte oder Botschaft. Das zweiwöchige Camp hat all das in Frage gestellt. Darin geht es um eine andere Herangehensweise an all die Dinge, die den Zauber des Theaters ausmachen.
 
Zu Beginn des Camps experimentierten die Teilnehmer mit Requisiten, den Einflüssen der Musik, dem Licht und ihren unterschiedlichen Reaktionen darauf. In der zweiten Woche wählte die besten Ideen und Improvisationen, studierte sie ein und polierte sie für die Abschlussveranstaltung.
 
It is important for an artist to know what to do, when, how long and how. Such questions demand answers from every participant and open up ways for them to pursue their own artistic paths as an independent choreographer or musician with their own thinking and talent to create something new.
 
Heiner Goebbels Philosophie ist es, dass alle Elemente auf der Bühne eine gleiche Rolle spielen, ob Objekt oder Person, Klang, Licht oder der Raum. Dies widerspricht der Vorstellung von einem ersten und wichtigsten Darsteller oder von einem Zentrum auf der Bühne. Stattdessen lernen die Künstler, dass sie ein Element in einer Gruppe sind und dass wirklich jeder miteinander verbunden, voneinander abhängig und in einer Wechselbeziehung ist, was das Bild auf der Bühne für das Publikum produziert. Es ist wichtig für einen Künstler zu wissen, was wann, wie lange und wie zu tun ist. Solche Fragen verlangen von jedem Teilnehmer Antworten und eröffnen Wege, wie man als eigenständiger Choreograph oder Musiker mit seinem Denken und Talent eigene künstlerische Wege gehen und Neues schaffen kann.

Wurden von einander enttäuscht - und deshalb zusammenarbeiten

Die zwei Wochen des Sommercamps verliefen nicht immer reibungslos. "Frau Tran Ly Ly sagt:" Es gab Tage, an denen sich alle schlecht fühlten und niemand wusste, wie weiter. "Während des Improvisierens gab es Momente der Sublimierung, wenn alles zu gut lief, aber es gab auch Zeiten "hitziger Debatten" zwischen Lehrern und Studenten wegen Meinungsverschiedenheiten, und weil die Künstler manchmal die Improvisation zu weit gehen ließen oder sich selbst bei der Zusammenarbeit zu groß machten. "Ich hatte in den letzten zwei Wochen viele Augenblicke der Enttäuschung", sagt Heiner Goebbels. "Deshalb müssen wir zusammenarbeiten. Und das ist in Ordnung, denn das ist ein ganz neuer Ansatz für sie", fügt er hinzu.
 
Einige der Camp-Teilnehmer wie Pham Thi Tam, seit vielen Jahren bei Dom Dom, dem Hub für experimentelle Musik & Kunst, hatten zuvor ähnliche Arbeitserfahrungen gemacht - mit einer kleinen Gruppe von Musikern und Tänzern zusammengearbeitet und improvisiert. Aber Improvisation ist schwer, und manchmal straucheln sie und wissen nicht, in welche Richtung sie als Nächstes gehen und welchen Weg sie wählen sollten. "In einer kleinen Gruppe liegt der Fokus auf nur wenigen Personen, daher ist es viel einfacher, innerhalb der Gruppe zu steuern und zu koordinieren. Aber in einer großen Gruppe ist es schwer zu entscheiden, worauf wir uns konzentrieren sollen. Durch diesen Workshop lernen, hilft uns, solche Probleme zu lösen."
 
Thuy Linh, ein junger Künstler, und noch nicht sehr lange mit experimenteller Musik verbunden, sagt: "Beim gemeinsamen Üben, und wenn wir Heiners Kommentaren zu den Leistungen eines jeden zugehört haben, habe ich viel gelernt, nicht nur über Musik. Letztlich habe ich erkannt, dass alle Art von zeitgenössischer Kunst eine gemeinsame Stimme hat. Was ich besonders aus diesem Workshop mitnehme, ist der Enthusiasmus und der Geist von jedem und die Hingabe zur Kunstpraxis. Es waren nur zwei Wochen, aber ich fühle mich, als ob ich sehr gereift bin. Nun ist das Camp vorüber, und ich bin ein wenig traurig. Jetzt ist alles wieder „back to normal“, aber es fühlt sich merkwürdig an. Ich hoffe, dass ich die Gelegenheit habe, mich mit allen wieder zu treffen und zusammen zu arbeiten."
 
Heiner Goebbels erinnert seine Studenten: "Ich hoffe, dass jeder Künstler, der an diesem Workshop teilnimmt, auch weiterhin seine Arbeit reflektiert und das für zukünftige Werke nutzt."
 
- ​Geschrieben von Ut Quyen für HanoiGrapepine.com und Goethe-Institut Vietnam -