Contemporary Dance Piece In These Latter-Days

In These Latter-Days by Vu Ngoc Khai & Huy Tran
© Manzi

A Contemporary Dance Piece by Vũ Ngọc Khải & Huy Trần with music by Trí Minh
In front of a shop, opposite Bà Kiệu Temple, Đinh Tiên Hoàng Street, Hoàn Kiếm District

Located right at the centre of Hanoi, Bà Kieu Temple has witnessed the ups and downs of the city for over 500 years. The temple is also known as the 'Divided temple' since, in 1899, the French built a road around Hoan Kiem lake that divided the temple into two separate parts: the main temple and the gate.

Taking place on the other side of the road, opposite the main temple, this duo dance piece questions the meaning of existence and the boundary between being forgotten and being remembered and whether today is just a repeat of yesterday?

Viewers are able to see the dance piece at the site using Into Thin Air’s AI app and the work is available in day or night mode following GPS timelines.

Vũ Ngọc Khải

Vũ Ngọc Khải is a professional dancer and choreographer who has been studying and working in Vietnam and Europe. Khải studied at the Dance School of Hanoi and in 2006 was awarded a full scholarship from the Holland General Consulate to study at the Rotterdam Dance Academy in the Netherlands. One year later, he was awarded a scholarship from the company for a special course focusing on training dancers and choreographers.

Khải has worked with many dance companies, namely the Cross Connection Ballet – Denmark, The Netherland Dance Theatre – Netherlands, Nacho Duato/National Dance Company of Spain and other companies and theatres. He has been performing in numerous festivals around the world (Romania, Russia, Slovenia, Japan, Indonesia, Korea), at the International AIDS Gala in Regensburg, Munich – Germany and he went on tour in Holland, Switzerland, Germany, Italy and the USA.

Khải now lives and works in Germany.

Huy Trần

Born to an artistic family, Huy Trần decided to pursue a professional dance career at a very young age. A 2006 graduate of the Vietnam Dance College, he worked for the Vietnam National Opera and Ballet (VNOB) and was eventually awarded a scholarship from Cinevox Junior Company in Switzerland where he studied until 2011, He then started to perform at the Ballet Hagen Theatre and the National Mannheim Theatre – Germany. He is currently working for the Pfalztheatre Kaiserslautern as a dancer and choreographer.

Zeitgenössisches Tanzstück In diesen letzten Tagen

In These Latter-Days by Vu Ngoc Khai & Huy Tran
© Manzi

Ein zeitgenössisches Tanzstück von Vũ Ngọc Khải und Huy Trần mit Musik von Trí Minh.
Vor einem Laden, gegenüber des Bà Kiệu Tempels, Đinh Tiên Hoàng Straße, Hoàn Kiếm Distrikt

Im Zentrum von Hanoi bezeugt der Bà Kiệu Tempel die Höhen und Tiefen der Stadt in den letzten 500 Jahren. Der Tempel ist auch bekannt als „geteilter Tempel“, seitdem Frankreich 1899 eine Straße um den Hoan Kiem See bauen ließ, der den Tempel in zwei separate Hälften teilte: den Haupttempel und das Tor.
Auf der anderen Straßenseite, gegenüber des Haupttempels, hinterfragt das Tanzstück des Duos die Bedeutung der Existenz und die Grenzen zwischen dem vergessenen und dem in Erinnerung gebliebenen. Es wirft zudem die Frage auf, ob das Heutige nur eine Wiederholung des Gestrigen ist.
 
Besucher sind in der Lage, das Tanzstück vor Ort durch die erweiterte Realität der Into Thin Air 2 App zusehen. Es ist entsprechend der GPS Zeitleiste im Tages- und Nachtmodus verfügbar.

Vũ Ngọc Khải

Khải ist von Beruf Tänzer und Choreograph. Khải studierte an der Tanzschule von Hanoi und erhielt 2006 ein Vollstipendium vom holländischen Generalkonsulat für ein Studium an der Rotterdam Dance Academy. Ein Jahr später erhielt er ein Stipendium der Companie für eine Ausbildung zum Trainer von Tänzern und Choreografen.
 
Khải hat mit vielen Tanzkompanien zusammengearbeitet, namentlich dem Cross Connection Ballet - Dänemark, dem Netherlands Dance Theatre, Nacho Duato / National Dance Company von Spanien und anderen Companien und Theatern. Er trat in zahlreichen Ländern der Welt auf: Festivals in Rumänien, Russland, Slowenien, Japan, Indonesien, Korea, der Internationalen AIDS-Gala in Regensburg, in München und auf einer Tournee durch die Niederlange, Schweiz, Deutschland, Italien und die USA. Khải lebt und arbeitet derzeit in Deutschland.

Huy Trần

Als Kind aus einer Künstlerfamilie entschied sich Huy Trần bereits in jungen Jahren, eine Karriere als professioneller Tänzer zu verfolgen. Nachdem er 2006 seinen Abschluss am Vietnam Dance College machte, arbeitete er für das Vietnam National Opera and Ballet (VNOB) und wurde schließlich mit einem Stipendium von der Cinevox Junior Company in der Schweiz ausgezeichnet, an der er auch bis 2011 studierte. Dann begann er an dem Balletttheater Hagen und dem Nationaltheater Mannheim in Deutschland zu tanzen. Zurzeit arbeitet er für das Pfalztheater Kaiserslautern als Tänzer und Choreograf.