Soundwalk After Clean-up, Slight Return

After clean-up, slight return by Cao Lan & Gregor Siedl
© Manzi

A Soundwalk by Cao Thanh Lan and Gregor Siedl
Mai Dịch Living Quarter, Cầu Giấy District

Mai Dịch is a fast-changing neighbourhood. Unlike many other neighbourhoods in Hanoi, it has an unusually high concentration of artists from different genres – ranging from traditional music to military music, from folk art to stage drama and the circus.
 
Once a green suburb of Hanoi, where paddle and flower fields and lots of tree were common, urbanisation has brought traffic noise drowning out the sounds of birds, insects, and the wind in the trees. In addition after the “clean-up” organised by state-run institutes located in the neighbourhood, street-vendors and sidewalk-barbers had to disappear. Their work and workplace were thus taken away from them, after having spent 30 years of their life at this corner and being an indispensable part of the neighbourhood’s life.
 
This artwork is a homage to those who once worked here and the long lost nature. It’s a whimsical audio collage with dispersed superimposition of elements including sounds of people practicing and performing “tuồng”, “nhạc đỏ”, “xiếc” and “chèo”, the usual traffic noise as well as sounds of nature.

Cao Thanh Lan

Cao Lan is a versatile musician, she was trained as a classical contemporary music pianist (by Pierre-Laurent Aimard) in Cologne’s and in Brussels’ Conservatories, but finds her main interest in sound. She has been experimenting with analogue synthesizer, amplified objects, prepared marxophone, daxophone and low-tech electronics.

As a guest pianist of the Kammerensemble Neue Musik Berlin (KNM Ensemble), Lan has performed at Ultraschall Festival, Musica Electronica Nova Wroclaw and the Galeriewanderung Berlin. She has also earned a wide range of ensemble experience in prestigious festivals throughout the world. She is also active as an experimental sound artist, and composer in many different projects, notably the electro-acoustic Duo (Parallel Asteroid and Zicla projects) and in collaboration with Gregor Siedl, she has been touring and giving workshops for contemporary music and improvisation in Europe, Japan, Brazil, China, Taiwan, Argentina, Uruguay, Chile, Finland, Australia and Vietnam.

Gregor Siedl

Gregor Siedl was born in Vienna, Austria. He is deeply engaged in the field of experimental and improvised music. Through his explorations of extended techniques, preparations on the saxophone, clarinet and the use of extra-musical instruments such as game-calls and water, he has developed a unique voice in music.

Gregor won first prizes as best improviser at the international music competitions XL-Jazz and Gent Jazz festival. He has been involved in experimental music, jazz and multi-disciplinary projects with performers, visual artists and artificial intelligence.

He is a band-member of Junk Orbit, Duo Siedl/Cao with 2 projects, Zicla, Parallel Asteroid, DOKO, Auralisation Ensemble, Osmosis Project and the critically acclaimed European-Saxophone-Ensemble.
Gregor has performed all over Europe, Asia and South-America at international music festivals and concert venues, such as: Festival Ankunft Neue Musik Berlin, Festival Internacional de Musica Experimental Sao Paulo, Jazz D`Or Strasbourg, HdKW Berlin and the Belgrade Jazz Festival.

Soundwalk Nach dem Aufräumen, eine leichte Rückkehr

After clean-up, slight return by Cao Lan & Gregor Siedl
© Manzi

Ein Soundwalk von Cao Thanh Lan und Gregor Siedl
Mai Dịch Wohnviertel, Cầu Giấy Distrikt 

Mai Dịch ist eine sich schnell verändernde Nachbarschaft. Anders als andere Nachbarshaften in Hanoi zeichnet es sich durch eine Konzentration von Künstlern verschiedenster Genres aus, die von traditioneller Musik bis hin zu Militärmusik, von Volkskunst bis zu Theaterbühnen und Zirkussen reicht.
 
Einst ein grüner Vorort von Hanoi, wo Schaufeln, Blumenwiesen und viele Bäume üblich waren, übertönt durch die Urbanisierung der Verkehrslärm nun das Vogelgezwitscher, das Insektenbrummen und das Rauschen des Windes zwischen den Bäumen. Darüber hinaus mussten nach den staatlich organisierten „Aufräumen“ auch die Straßenhändler und -barbiere verschwinden. Man nahm ihnen damit ihre Arbeitsplätze, mit der sie 30 Jahre lang ihren Lebensunterhalt verdienten und mit der die ein unentbehrlicher Teil des Lebens im Wohnviertel geworden sind.
 
Das Kunstwerk ist eine Hommage an alle, die einst hier arbeiteten und sich nach der verlorenen Natur sehnen. Es ist eine wunderliche Audiocollage mit verstreuten Überlagerungen von Elementen wie dem Lärm des Verkehrs, den Klängen aus der Natur, den Geräuschen von Einwohnern, die „tuồng”, „nhạc đỏ”, „xiếc” und „chèo” üben und aufführen.

Cao Thanh Lan

Cao Lan ist eine vielseitige Musikerin, die (von Pierre-Laurent Aimard) an der Kölner und der Brüsseler Musikhochschule als Pianistin für klassische, zeitgenössische Musik ausgebildet wurde. Ihr Hauptinteresse gilt jedoch Klängen. Sie experimentiert mit analogen Synthesizern, verstärkenden Objekten, Marxophonen, Daxophonen und technisch einfacher Elektronik.
 
Als Gastpianistin des Kammerensembles Neue Musik Berlin (KNM Ensemble) hatte Lan Auftritte auf dem Ultraschall Festival, der Musica Electronica Nova Wroclaw und der Galeriewanderung Berlin. Sie hat international weitreichende Ensembleerfahrung auf angesehenen Festivals gesammelr. Sie ist außerdem aktiv als Experimentalklangkünstlerin und Komponistin in vielen verschiedenen Projekten, insbesondere dem elektro-akustik Duo (Parallel Asteroid and Zicla Projekt) und der Kollaboration mit Gregor Siedl. Sie tourte und gab Workshops für zeitgenössische Musik und Improvisation in Europa, Japan, Brasilien, China, Taiwan, Argentinien, Uruguay, Chile, Australien und Vietnam.

Gregor Siedl

Gregor Siedl wurde in Wien, Österreich geboren. Er beschäftigte sich tiefgehend mit experimentaler und improvisierter Musik. Durch seine Erkundungen nach neuen Techniken, Vorerfahrungen auf den Saxofon und der Klarinette sowie den Gebrauch von außermusikalischen Instrumenten wie Jagdgeräten zur Imitation von Tieren und Wasser hat er einen einzigartigen Klang in der Musik entwickelt.
 
Gregor gewann erste Preise als bester Improvisator auf den internationalen Musik Wettbewerb XL-Jass und Gent Jazz Festivals. Er war beteiligt an experimentellen Musik- und Jazzprojekten wie auch interdisziplinaren Projekten mit bildenden Künstlern und künstlicher Intelligenz.

Er ist Bandmitglied der Junk Orbits, des Duos Siedl/Cao mit zwei Projekten, Ziclam, Parallel Asteroid, der DOKOs, dem Auralisation Ensembles, dem Osmosis Projektes und den Kritik gefeuerten European-Saxophone-Ensambles.

Gregor trat europaweit, in Asien und Südamerika auf internationalen Musikfestivals und Konzerten auf, wie zum Beispiel: Festival Ankunft Neue Musik Berlin, Festival Internacional de Musica Experimental Sao Paulo, Jazz D`Or Strasbourg, HdKW Berlin und dem Belgrade Jazz Festival.