Soundwalk Calm Realities

Calm Realities by Nhung Nguyen & Christian Grothe
© Manzi

A Soundwalk by Nhung Nguyễn & Christian Grothe
Ba Đình Square

Ba Đình Square is one of Hanoi’s rare green public spaces. Although the square is a tourist attraction located in the city centre, it is not as noisy as other public sites or parks in the capital.
 
“Calm Realities” reflects the artists’ approach to connect human emotions and imagination to tranquil sonic realities. By combining 3D audio effects with relaxing ambient tones, this work creates parallel, contrastable sonic realities to the constantly busy, noisy urban environment in Hanoi. “Calm Realities” provides an immersive yet delicate sonic experience to relax and escape one’s worries, stress and anxiety. This soundwalk encourages the audience to find their own calm sonic reality by walking, listening and interacting with the physical landscape and the sonic space created by binaural recording from the app.
 
“Calm Realities” is activated once you step in and walk around the colourful zones on the map. Please put on your headphones and enjoy the calm sounds coming from all directions around you! This soundwalk is about connecting the immersive soundscape inside your headphones with the green surrounding of Ba Đình Square’s physical atmosphere. Feel free to create your own route to explore the colourful zones and stay there as long as you want.

Nhung Nguyễn

Nhung Nguyễn has been creating sonic waves in Hanoi’s underground music scene for the last couple of years. In addition to her solo projects, she has teamed up with artists working across various media and from around the world to add audio elements to visual experiences. Since 2014, Nhung has been releasing music under the project Sound Awakener and eventually under her real name. She has worked with labels such as Time Released Sound [US], Unknown Tones Records [US] Soft [FR], Flaming Pines [UK], Fluid Radio [UK] and Syrphe [Germany].

Christian Grothe

Christian Grothe is a musician and music producer based in Berlin. He is producing and performing music under the alias Kryshe and collaborates with many artists, such as the trio Unland. His work combines trumpet, guitar and his voice with live electronics to create sound pieces for exploration and deep listening. Every piece is based on the use of improvisation and experimentation, to produce a variety of moods from soft and dreamy to dark and distorted.

Soundwalk Ruhige Realitäten

Calm Realities by Nhung Nguyen & Christian Grothe
© Manzi

Ein Soundwalk von Nhung Nguyễn und Christian Grothe
Ba Đình Platz

Der Ba Đình Platz ist einer von Hanois seltenen, grünen Plätzen. Obwohl der Platz einen Touristenattraktion in Stadtzentrum ist, ist es dort nicht so laut wie an anderen öffentlichen Orten der Hauptstadt.
 
„Ruhige Realitäten“ reflektiert den Versuch der Künstler menschliche Emotionen und Vorstellungen miteinander zu verbinden, um Akustikrealitäten zu überwinden. Durch die Kombination von 3D Audio-Effekten mit entspannten Tönen kreiert das Werk parallele und kontrastierende Akustikrealitäten zur ständig belebten und lauten Umwelt in Hanoi. „Ruhige Realitäten“ bietet eine immersive, dennoch leichte, Akustikerfahrung um zu entspannen und den eigenen Sorgen, Stress und Ängsten zu entkommen. Der Soundwalk ermutigt die Zuhörer ihre eigene, ruhige Akustikrealität zu finden, indem sie gehen, hören und mit der physischen Landschaft und dem akustischen Raum, der durch die binauralen Aufnahmen der App entsteht, interagieren.
 
„Ruhige Realitäten“ wird aktiviert, sobald man in die kolorierten Zonen der Karte eintritt und herumläuft. Kaum sind die die Kopfhörer aufgesetzt, lassen sich die ruhigen Klänge aus allen Richtungen genießen. Der Soundwalk verbindet das Eintauchen in eine virtuelle Klanglandschaft aus den Kopfhörern mit der physischen Anwesenheit der grünen Umgebung des Ba Đình Platzes. Besucher sind dazu eingeladen, ihre eigene Route zur Entdeckung der bunten Zonen zu finden und sich dort so lange aufzuhalten, wie sie wollen.

Nhung Nguyễn

Nhung Nguyễn kreiert schon seit einigen Jahren akustische Wellen in der Undergroundmusikszene von Hanoi. Neben ihren Einzelauftritten, hat sie sich mit Künstler verschiedener Medien auf der ganzen Welt zusammengetan um ihre auditiven Elemente durch visuelle Eindrücke zu ergänzen.
Seit 2014 veröffentlicht Nhung Musik unter dem Projekt Sound Awakener und schließlich auch unter ihren echten Namen. Sie arbeite mit Labels wie Time Released Sound [US], Unknown Tones Records [US] Soft [FR], Flaming Pines [UK], Fluid Radio [UK] and Syrphe [Deutschland].

Christian Grothe

Christian Grothe ist ein in Berlin lebender Musiker und Musikproduzent. Er produziert und tritt unter dem Pseudonym Kryshe auf und arbeitete mit vielen Künstler zusammen wie mit dem Trio Unland. Er bringt Trompete, Gitarre und seine eigene Stimme mit live Elektronik zusammen, um eine Stück zum Entdecken und Eintauchen zu kreieren. Jedes seiner Stücke basiert auf Improvisation und Experimentieren. So schafft er unterschiedlichste Stimmungen von leicht und verträumt bis hin zu dunkel und übersteuert.