Virtual Installation From Below, Upward

From below, upward
© Manzi

A Virtual Installation by Oanh Phi Phi
Lightwell in Hôm Market, entrance from Huế Street, Hai Bà Trưng District

Located in a populated area of Hanoi, Hôm Market is a bustling marketplace where fabrics, cheap clothing, foodstuff and general knick-knacks are sold. Every square metre of this market is a utilitarian commercial space, except for its sky well. In a sea of things, this little interstitial space is a slice of heaven.

Through this work, Oanh Phi Phi tries to connect some personal memories about space to a collective and inherited nostalgia about sky and water. In her childhood in the coastal plains of Texas, where the land is flat and anywhere you look there is sky filling up most of the landscape, offering up a sense of vastness. After moving to Hanoi when she thinks of home, Oanh mostly misses her parents and the wide horizon.
 
The artist chose this lightwell to frame the urban space most significant to her: the open air around us and the sky. A microcosm in constant motion, a fish pond or ao nhà is a motif Oanh often revisits for its symbolic place in village architecture and for the nostalgia it brings to many Vietnamese. This is not her own nostalgia for growing up in Texas, but rather an inherited nostalgia from her father who grew up in a small village in Hải Dương. For him, ao nhà was a place of childhood memories, free play and endless time. Oanh Phi Phi embraces his stories as though they are her own, and through these stories and other deeply affecting moments she is connected to this place. Oanh is strangely moved when visiting her father’s village, the construction site where the pond once existed, lighting incense on the bodiless tomb of her grandfather’s resting place on a wet paddy field, though it no longer belongs to her.

The viewer, standing under the lightwell looks through a digital device from below looking upwards to see an inverted pond, something that is usually looked down into. Playing off the bodylessness of augmented reality, the source of this image file is lacquer painting on glass, a surface the artist has used in previous projects to experiment with dematerialisation and projected scale. The ever-changing light on a lacquer image suggests movement even though the image is static.

Nguyễn Oanh Phi Phi

Born in Houston in 1979, Phi Phi Oanh received her BFA at Parsons School of Design (2002) and a Masters in Art and Investigation at the University of Madrid Complutense (2012). In 2004, she received a Fulbright Grant to study lacquer painting in Hanoi. Since then, Vietnamese lacquer has become central to her work, which focuses on its potential as a painting medium to convey memory or reflection, examine current theories of the image and expand into more experimental methods and scale.

Oanh has participated in a number of exhibitions including Pro Se, National Gallery Singapore (2016); Make Shift (2016) and Palimpsest (2014) FOST Gallery, Gillman Barracks, Singapore; A Woman’s View, Goethe Institut, Hanoi (2014); If the World Changed, Singapore Biennale (2013); Specula, Hanoi City Exhibition Hall (2009); Black Box, Vietnam National Arts Museum, Hanoi (2007).

Virtuelle Installation Von unten, aufwärts

From below, upward
© Manzi

Eine virtuelle Installation von Oanh Phi Phi
Lichtquelle in Hôm Markt, Eingang der Huế Straße, Hai Bà Trưng Distrikt

In dem bewohntem Gebiet von Hanoi ist der Hôm Markt ein wuseliger Marktplatz, wo Stoffe, günstige Kleidung, Lebensmittel und allgemeiner Schnick-schnack verkauft werden. Jeder Quadratmeter des Marktes ist genutzte Werbefläche – mit Ausnahme des Himmels. In Flut von Dingen ist dieser Zwischenraum ein Stück Himmel.
 
Durch dieses Werk versucht Oanh Phi Phi einige persönliche Erinnerungen über Raum mit der kollektiven und vererbten Nostalgie von Himmel und Wasser zu verbinden. Ihrer Kindheit in der Küstenebene von Texas vermittelte ihre einen Sinn von Weite. Nachdem sie nach Hanoi zog, vermisst sie bei dem Gedanken an ihre Heimat am meisten ihre Eltern und den weiten Horizont.
 
Die Künstlerin entschied sich für diese Lichtquelle um den ihr auffälligsten Stadtraum zu rahmen: Die Luft um uns und den Himmel. Ein Mikrokosmos in ständiger Bewegung, eine Fischteich oder ein Seehaus ist das Motiv, welches Oanh oft aufsucht hat wegen seiner symbolischen Bedeutung im Dorf und der Nostalgie, die es bei vielen Vietnamesen hervorruft. Es ist nicht ihre eigene Nostalgie, da sie in Texas aufgewachsen ist, vielmehr die ihres Vaters, der in einem kleinen Dorf in Hải Dương aufgewachsen ist. Für ihn war das Seehaus ein Ort der Kindheitserinnerungen an das sorglose Spielen und die unbeschwerte Zeit. Oanh Phi Phi nimmt seine Geschichten auf als wären es ihre eigenen. Und durch diese Geschichten und weitere tiefbewegende Momente ist sie mit diesem Ort verbunden. Oanh ist seltsam bewegt, wenn sie das Dorf ihres Vaters, die Baustelle, wo der Teich damals lag, besucht und Räucherstäbchen am Grab ihres Großvaters an einem Reisfeld anzündet, welche nicht mehr länger ihr gehört.
 
Der Besucher steht unter der Lichtquelle und schaut durch seine digitales Endgerät hoch in den Himmel, um in einen umgedrehten Teich hinauf zu sehen, in den er normalerweise von oben hineinschauen würde. Um die Körperlosigkeit der erweiterten Realität nutzen zu können, wurde als Bildquelle eine lackierte Glasplatte verwendet. Diese Oberfläche nutzte die Künstlerin breites in vorangegangenen Projekten, um mit der Entmaterialisierung und projizierten Größen zu experimentieren.
Das changierende Licht des Lackbildes täuscht eine Bewegung des Bildes vor, obwohl es statisch ist.

Nguyễn Oanh Phi Phi

1979 in Housten geboren, erhielt Phi Phi Oanh ihren Bachelor of Fine Arts an der Parsons School auf Design (2002) und ihren Master in Kunst und Forschung an der Universität von Madrid Complutense (2012). 2014 erhielt sie eine Fulbright Stipendium um Lackmalerei in Hanoi zu studieren. Seitdem ist die vietnamesische Lackmalerei zentral in ihren Arbeiten, die sich auf ihr Potential als Medium zur Vermittlung von Erinnerungen oder Reflektion fokussiert, aktuelle Bildtheorien untersucht sowie sich auf experimentellere Methoden und Größen erweitert.
 
Oanh hat an vielen Ausstellungen teilgenommen wie Pro Se, National Gallery Singapore (2016); Make Shift (2016) und Palimpsest (2014) FOST Gallery, Gillman Barracks, Singapore; Die Sicht einer Frau, Goethe Institut, Hanoi (2014); If the World Changed, Singapore Biennale (2013); Specula, Hanoi City Exhibition Hall (2009); Black Box, Vietnam National Arts Museum, Hanoi (2007).