Quick access:
Go directly to content (Alt 1)Go directly to second-level navigation (Alt 3)Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
Pazifik-Leipzig_LIA_with_logos© Goethe-Institut

Artist-in-residence
Pazifik - Leipzig

In collaboration with LIA (Leipzig International Art Programme) the Goethe-Institute offers artists from Southeast Asia a three-month residency at the Art and Culture Centre Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei. At the beginning of the 20th century the Baumwollspinnerei (cotton mill) was the site of Europe’s largest processing centre for cotton, today it houses the cultural centre for one of the most exciting places for the production and exhibition of contemporary art and culture in Europe.


Participants of the residency program

Harit Srikhao

Harit Srikhao © Harit Srikhao Harit Srikhao, born 1995, lives and works in Bangkok. He started taking photos when he was 13 years old. In 2012 he produced his first series "Red Dream", referring to the military crackdown in Thailand in 2010. He got a BA in photography and applied art at King Mongkut’s Instutute of Technology Ladkrabang (KMITL), Bangkok, Thailand and graduated in 2019 with MA in photography and visual design at Nuova Accademia Di Belle Arti (NABA), Milano, Italy.

Srikhao continually creates works in photo essay style, lately containing elements of documentary, fiction and fashion. He plans to start a new series in Leipzig exploring art and club scenes, under an idea of ‘the variety of youth culture’.

This plan is driven by his experiences during the "Wave-Gothic-Treffen" he visited in 2019 as well as by his fascination for dance culture and alternative fashion styles of underground and queer scenes as a matter of self-expression that can be even a weapon for liberation and fighting against dictatorship and the radical conservative.

Harit Srikhao

  • Harit Srikhao 1 © Harit Srikhao
  • Harit Srikhao 2 © Harit Srikhao
  • Harit Srikhao 3 © Harit Srikhao
  • Harit Srikhao 4 © Harit Srikhao
Top

Schnelleinstieg:
Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1)Direkt zur Sekundärnavigation springen (Alt 3)Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
Pazifik-Leipzig_LIA_with_logos© Goethe-Institut

Residenzprogramm
Pazifik - Leipzig

In Zusammenarbeit mit LIA (Leipzig International Art Programme) ermöglicht das Goethe-Institut Künstlerinnen und Künstlern aus Südostasien eine dreimonatige Residenz im Kunst- und Kulturzentrum Leipziger Baumwollspinnerei. Zu Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts noch Europas größte Anlage zur Verarbeitung von Baumwolle, handelt es sich beim heutigen Kreativzentrum um einen der spannendsten Produktions- und Ausstellungsorte für zeitgenössische Kunst und Kultur in Europa.

Pazifik - Leipzig

Teilnehmer des Residenzprogrammes

Harit Srikhao

Harit Srikhao © Harit Srikhao Harit Srikhao, geboren 1995, lebt und arbeitet in Bangkok. Schon mit 13 begann er seine Leidenschaft für die Fotographie zu entdecken. 2012 schuf er seine erste Serie "Red Dream", welche auf den Durchgreifen des Militärs 2010 anspielt. Srikhao erlangte seinen BA in Photographie und angewandter Kunst am King Mongkut's Institut of Technology Ladkrabang (KMITL) in Bangkok und schloss 2019 sein Masterstudium in Fotographie und visuellem Design an der Nouva Accademia Di Belle Arti (NABA) in Mailand ab.

Srikhao kreiert hauptsächlich Serien im Stil eines Essays. Seit kurzem inkorporiert er auch Elemente aus der Dokumentation, Fiktion und Mode in seine Arbeiten. in Leipzig plant er eine neue Serie zu produzieren, in welcher er die Kunst- und Clubszene in Leipzig unter dem Motto 'the variety of youth culture' erkunden möchte.

Zu seinen Plänen wurde er durch seine Erfahrungen auf dem "Wave-Gothic-Treffen" inspiriert, welches er 2019 besuchte. Ein zusätzlicher Antrieb für sein Projekt ist seine Faszination für alternative Tanz- und Modestile der Untergrund- und Queerszene. Für Srikhao stellen sie eine Form des Selbstausdrucks dar und können gleichzeitig auch als eine Form der Befreiung oder des Kampfes gegen die Diktatur des radikalen Konservativismus gedeutet werden.

Harit Srikhao

  • Harit Srikhao 1 © Harit Srikhao
  • Harit Srikhao 2 © Harit Srikhao
  • Harit Srikhao 3 © Harit Srikhao
  • Harit Srikhao 4 © Harit Srikhao
Top