Playgrounds for kids in Hanoi

Playgrounds for Kids, Hanoi Photo: Wilfried Eckstein © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

The Goethe Institute Vietnam, in cooperation with the Institut Français Hanoi and the Vietnam non-profit Think Playground, is running a publicity campaign to advocate for more public playground spaces. 

The project is funded by the Franco-German Cultural Fund and supported by Ford. Stuttgart-based play-and-learn designer Bianca Elgas joined us in Hanoi for a panel discussion. Her German employer, the non-profit KuKuk Kultur recently deployed her to Nigeria, where worked with children and teenagers and a team of volunteers from Germany to design and build a playground for children of all abilities.

Interview with Bianca Elgas, KuKuK Stuttgart

You were invited to Vietnam to join a public discussion about the value of playing for learning. What is the core message at this event?

​Bianca Elgas: Parents worry that their children do not learn enough and get left behind in our modern performance-driven society. This is why children pressured to learn at an ever younger age. Time for free play is falling by the wayside. But even neuroscience tells us that play is the key to the world for children. By playing, they absorb everything that surrounds them, which helps them understand their world. Especially during the preschool years, it is eminently important to give children ample unstructured time to play. They get to determine what they want to learn at any given moment, and then, they are highly motivated to learn.

One Saturday, 100 participants attended the event. Five television stations joined us. What do you think stirred this keen public and media interest?

​Bianca Elgas: I think there are several reasons why people are eager to hear more about the topic of play as a catalyst for development. One aspect is Hanoi´s rapid pace of urbanization. There are hardly any unencumbered public spaces. You step out of your home and right into dense urban traffic. Safe free play is not possible in this kind of environment. Parents are helplessly watching this development.

Another factor might be a growing awareness that children are spending too much time in front of screens and are hardly able to occupy themselves in any other way.

You had two days to familiarize yourself with Think Playground, the Vietnamese organizer of this initiative. What are your impressions?

​Bianca Elgas: I work for KuKuk Kultur because I care deeply about creating as many safe play places for children as possible. That is why I am very excited that there are many similar organizations around the world, because together, we can do so much more for the children! I really like the team of Think Playground. They think and act at the same time: On the ground level, they have a workshop where ten craftsmen are welding, painting, assembling, building… and upstairs, they design playgrounds and do all the planning and administrative work.

The team is highly motivated and open-minded. Since its formation four years ago, it has been constantly evolving, both on its own merit as well as due to great networking. Right now, they focus on developing and introducing safety standards for playground facilities.
 
Today, we follow up on Saturday’s panel discussion with some hands-on activities. Think Playground was able to stake out a pretty large 200 sq.m. play zone in the pedestrian zone on Lake Hoan Kiem. It is scattered with objects that invite children to play. What are these items, and how did they get there?

​Bianca Elgas: At the free-play event on Sunday, we will use proven materials as well as random objects we found: car tires, pieces of wood, various pipes, empty cans, ropes, cardboard boxes, etc. Most of the materials are recycled and thus free of charge. For the children’s safety, we make sure that the objects are not too heavy, have no sharp edges or splinters, and are not easy to break. Prior to the event, we carefully checked all the materials for damage and cleaned them. 30 young volunteers will be serving as tutors. On Sunday, the motto is ‘let`s play’: the kids can build towers and huts, launch moon rockets and make tipis, do whatever they want and go wherever their imagination leads them. They are the true experts at this event. We don`t know what exactly is going to happen and how the locals will respond, because this is a pilot project/experiment and we are excited to see how it will play out!

Tomorrow you are heading back to Germany. Will you follow up on the dialog with your Vietnamese partners?

Bianca Elgas: For Think Playground and KuKuk Kultur, this event was a kick-off for further collaboration. We will meet again in October to elaborate a joint concept for a publicly accessible playground in Hanoi. The space is already secured. We will also continue to share expertise.
 

Bianca Elgas

Bianca Elgas © afilii.com born in 1991.
Bianca Elgas graduated 2016 in „Design of Playing and Learning“ at University of Art and Design Halle, Saale. Since then she’s building playgrounds for children in need or difficult situations worldwide with the German NGO KuKuk Kultur. The approach is always participatory as KuKuk Kultur doesn’t just build for but with local people. Bianca’s field of interest focuses on the value of play for the healthy development of the child.

in co-operation with

Goethe-Institut Logo © Goethe-Institut L’espace © L’espace Hanoi KuKuk Kultur © KuKuk Kultur German-Franz funds © German-Franz funds

Spielplätze für Kinder in Hanoi

Spielplätze für Kinder, Hanoi Foto: Wilfried Eckstein © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Das Goethe-Institut Vietnam kooperiert mit dem Institut Français Hanoi und dem gemeinnützigen vietnamesischen Unternehmen Think Playground bei einer Öffentlichkeitskampagne, die für mehr öffentliche Freiräume für Kinderspielplätze wirbt.

Das Projekt wird vom Deutsch-Französischen Kulturfonds unterstützt. Für eine Podiumsdiskussion kam Bianca Elgas, Spiel- und Lerndesignerin aus Stuttgart, nach Hanoi angereist. Sie war mit ihrem deutschen Arbeitgeber, dem gemeinnützigen Verein KuKuk Kultur zuletzt in Nigeria und hat dort mit Kindern und Jugendlichen und einem Freiwilligenteam aus Deutschland einen behindertengerechten Spielplatz gestaltet und aufgebaut. 

Interview mit Bianca Elgas, KuKuK Stuttgart

Sie haben an einer öffentlichen Diskussion über den Wert des Spielens für das Lernen zu mitgewirkt. Was ist Ihre Kernmessage bei dieser Veranstaltung?

​Bianca Elgas: Eltern haben Angst davor, dass Kinder nicht genug lernen und den Anschluss an die moderne Leistungsgesellschaft verlieren. Deshalb stehen immer jüngere Kinder unter Lerndruck. Was auf der Strecke bleibt ist Freispielzeit Doch selbst neurowissenschaftlich ist es nachgewiesen, dass das Spiel für Kinder der Schlüssel zur Welt ist. Spielerisch greifen sie zunächst alles in ihrer Umgebung auf, um dadurch die Welt um sich herum zu begreifen. Vor allem in den Jahren bis zur Schulreife ist es enorm wichtig, Kindern viel Freispielzeit zu geben. Dabei entscheiden sie selbst, was sie aktuell lernen wollen und tun dies dann auch hochmotiviert.

100 Teilnehmer kamen am Samstag zu diesem Austausch. Fünf Fernsehstationen waren dabei. Was ist aus Ihrer Sicht auf besonders Interesse bei Zuhörern und Medien gestoßen?

​Bianca Elgas: Das Thema Spiel als Katalysator für die Entwicklung stößt hier meinem Eindruck nach aus unterschiedlichen Gründen auf offene Ohren. Ein Aspekt ist die rasante Urbanisierung von Hanoi. Es gibt kaum Freiräume in der Stadt, wer das Haus verlässt, steht direkt im dichten Stadtverkehr. Das ist keine Umgebung, in der ein sicheres Freispiel möglich ist. Eltern stehen dieser Entwicklung hilflos gegenüber.
Ein weiterer Punkt dürfte das steigende Bewusstsein dafür sein, dass Kinder zu viel Zeit vor Bildschirmen verbringen und sie es abgesehen davon kaum schaffen, sich eigenständig zu beschäftigen.

Sie hatten zwei Tage Gelegenheit, Think Playground, den vietnamesischen Organisator der Kampagne, genauer kennen zu lernen. Welche Eindrücke konnten Sie sammeln?

​Bianca Elgas: Ich arbeite für KuKuk Kultur, da es mir ein tiefes Anliegen ist, so vielen Kindern wie möglich sichere Orte zum Spielen bereitzustellen. Deshalb freue ich mich sehr, dass es weltweit viele ähnliche Organisationen gibt, und wir in Summe viel mehr Kinder erreichen können! Das Team von Think Playground ist mir sehr sympathisch. Da wird zeitgleich gedacht und gemacht: im Erdgeschoss haben sie eine Werkstatt, in der zehn Handwerker schweißen, lackieren, schrauben und schreinern... im Stockwerk darüber werden Spielplätze entworfen und alles Planerische und Organisatorische erledigt.

Das Team ist hochmotiviert und offen. Seit seiner Gründung vor vier Jahren entwickelt es sich qualitativ sowohl aus eigener Kraft, als auch durch gute Netzwerkarbeit konstant weiter. Momentan liegt der Fokus beispielsweise auf der Entwicklung und Einführung eines Sicherheitsstandards für Spielgeräte.
 
Die Podiumsdiskussion vom Samstag findet heute eine ganz praktische Fortsetzung. Auf der Fußgängerzone am Hoan Kiem See, hat Think Playground ein stattliches Areal von 200 qm als Spielzone markiert. Dort liegen Gegenstände, die Kinder zum Spielen einladen. Was sind das für Gegenstände, woher kommen sie und was passiert jetzt hier?

​Bianca Elgas: Für das Freispielevent am Sonntag greifen wir auf bewährte Materialien, sowie Fundstücke zurück: Autoreifen, Holzabschnitte, unterschiedliche Rohre, leere Dosen, Seile, Kartons usw. Ein Großteil der Materialien ist recycelt und somit kostenlos. Zum Schutz der Kinder achten wir darauf, dass die Sachen nicht zu schwer sind, keine scharfen Kanten oder Splitter haben und nicht schnell brechen. Vor dem Event haben wir alle Materialien sorgfältig auf Beschädigung geprüft und gereinigt. 30 junge Freiwillige betreuen das Spielangebot. Am Sonntag heißt es dann „Spiel frei“: da dürfen Türme gestapelt und Hütten gebaut, Mondraketen gestartet oder Tipis errichtet werden, ganz nach Lust, Laune und Fantasie der Kinder. Sie sind die wahren Experten an diesem Tag! Was schlussendlich passiert, und wie die lokale Bevölkerung von Ha Noi dieses Angebot annimmt, wissen wir noch nicht, denn: es handelt sich um ein Pilotprojekt/Experiment auf dessen Ergebnis wir gespannt sind!

Morgen fliegen Sie wieder zurück nach Deutschland. Gibt es eine Fortsetzung des Dialog mit den vietnamesischen Partnern?

​Bianca Elgas: Für Think Playground und KuKuk Kultur war diese Veranstaltung der Auftakt zu weiterer Zusammenarbeit: bei einem weiteren Besuch im Oktober arbeiten wir gemeinsam an einem Konzept für einen öffentlich zugänglichen Spielraum in Ha Noi. Der Platz dafür ist wohl bereits gesichert. Auch fachlich bleiben wir im Austausch.
 

Bianca Elgas

Bianca Elgas © afilii.com geboren in 1991.
Bianca Elgas  hat 2016 ihr Studium im Spiel- und Lerndesign an der Kunsthochschule Burg Giebichenstein in Halle an der Saale abgeschlossen. Seither baut Sie mit KuKuk Kultur weltweit Spielplätze für Kinder in Not- und Krisensituationen. Der Ansatz ist dabei immer partizipativ: es wird nicht nur für, sondern mit den Menschen geplant und gebaut. Bianca interessiert sich im Besonderen für den Stellenwert des Spiels in der gesunden Entwicklung eines Kindes.

in zusammenarbeit mit

Goethe-Institut Logo © Goethe-Institut L’espace © L’espace Hanoi KuKuk Kultur © KuKuk Kultur Deutsch-Franz Fonds © Deutsch-Franz Fonds