Theater
My Vietnam

What is “my Vietnam”?

A project about Vietnamese identities across borders.
A cooperation of the Goethe-Institut Vietnam & the literary online magazine Zzz Review.

Four second-generation Vietnamese writers from the Czech Republic, Germany, France and the US, and five young authors from the North and the South of Vietnam write short plays of five minutes length on what Vietnam means to them. Each piece draws upon personal experience and questions of cultural identity.

Each piece will be performed in a non-theater-space that will be AV-recorded. The plays will be performed and filmed in the language of the respective writers. Each audio-visual recording will be subtitled in English, Vietnamese and German and placed online onto the project-landing page of the Goethe-Institut. This creates a basis for an important cultural dialogue across boundaries.

This fundraising serves to finance the five plays by the Vietnamese authors. The four productions from Germany, France, the Czech Republic and the USA are financially secure.

Events


Talk with authors


A brief about five plays


A Buddhist nun recalls her past lives, which span over myths and realities, fiction and nonfiction, ancient and modern times. She is contemplates the (Viet/Vietnamese) female experience of disappointment, suffering, love and enlightenment.

Author: Maik Cay (Nguyen Phuong Anh)

During an anxiety- and suspicion-laden trip to Germany to attend a prestigious art exhibition, a man ruminates on the day in the 1990s when as a boy he emerged for the first time from the refugee camp in Hong Kong, where escapees from Vietnam had ended up, to buy vegetables.

Author: Do Van Hoang

A couple who are saving money to open a Vietnamese restaurant overseas contemplate on the type of restaurant they would run and on the multicultural complexities related to the fate of their family and their country.

Author: Le Khai Viet

A young woman comes back to her childhood home in Saigon and meets the original owner, who after fleeing after 1975 and becoming a Vietnamese-American, now lives in Vietnam and is the new owner of the house. They share their memories of living in the house amid the upheavals of Vietnamese history.

Author: Vu Anh Duong

A conversation between a young avant-garde poet, all ties with his birth place severed, and two elderly traditional lyricists. What does it mean to be a Vietnamese writer, what does poetry to patriotism? Conflicting opinions emerge.

Author: ChuKim (Nguyen Anh Tuan)

Five Vietnamese Authors


Vietnamese literature from the diaspora


Support through Crowdfunding

The crowdfunding did not meet its target. Money will be returned to the donors. If you like to continue your support of this project, please turn to: thiloan.le@goethe.de. German taxpayers can receive a tax rebate in their tax income declaration for donations to Goethe-Institut e.V.

Organizers



Supported by



Top

Theater
Mein Vietnam

Was ist „Mein Vietnam“?

Ein Projekt über Vietnamesische Identität in der Welt.
Zusammenarbeit zwischen Goethe-Institut Vietnam und der Online Zeitschrift Zzz Review.

Vier vietnamesische Schriftsteller*innen der zweiten Generation aus Deutschland, Frankreich, Tschechien und den USA sowie fünf Autorinnen und Autoren aus Süd- und Nordvietnam schreiben Theaterstücke von fünf Minuten Länge darüber, was Vietnam für sie bedeutet. Jedes Stück schöpft aus persönlichen Erfahrungen und Fragen zur kulturellen Identität.

Jedes Stück wird in der Sprache der jeweiligen Autoren an einem authentischen Ort aufgeführt und filmisch aufgezeichnet. Jede audiovisuelle Aufzeichnung wird auf Englisch, Vietnamesisch und Deutsch untertitelt und auf eine speziellen Projekt-Landingpage des Goethe-Instituts online gestellt. Dies schafft eine Grundlage für einen Kulturdialog zu einem sensiblen Thema über Grenzen hinweg.

Dieses Fundraising dient der Finanzierung der fünf Stücke der vietnamesischen Autorinnen und Autoren. Die vier Produktionen aus Deutschland, Frankreich, Tschechien und den USA sind finanziell abgesichert.

Veranstaltungen


Gespräch mit Autorinnen und Autoren


Fünf Theaterstücke


Eine buddhistische Nonne reflektiert ihre früheren Leben, in Mythen und Wahrheiten, in Sinnestäuschungen und Offenbarungen, aus alter Zeit und heute. Sie denkt über die Frau in Vietnam nach, über Erfahrungen von Enttäuschung, Leiden, Liebe und Offenbarung.

Autorin: Maik Cay (Nguyen Phuong Anh)

Während einer gruseligen Reise nach Deutschland zu einer renommierten Kunstausstellung erinnert sich ein Mann an einen denkwürdigen Tag in den 1990er-Jahren, als er als kleiner Junge im Aufnahmelager von Hongkong, wo Flüchtlinge aus Vietnam untergebracht waren, heraustrat, um Gemüse einzukaufen.

Autor: Do Van Hoang

Ein Ehepaar hat Geld gespart, um ein vietnamesisches Restaurant im Ausland zu eröffnen. Sie diskutieren, welche Art von Restaurant sie führen wollen und wie vielschichtig ihre Kultur ist und wie multikulturell ihre Familie und ihr Land sind.

Autor: Le Khai Viet

Eine junge Frau besucht in Saigon das Haus, in dem sie aufwuchs. Sie trifft dort auf den ursprünglichen Besitzer. Er war 1975 geflohen, nahm amerikanische Staatsbürgerschaft an, kehrte später nach Vietnam zurück und erwarb aufs Neue das Haus. Das Haus verbindet ihre Erinnerungen während der turbulenten Zeiten der vietnamesischen Geschichte.

Autor: Vu Anh Duong

Ein Gespräch zwischen einem jungen Avantgarde-Dichter, der mit alle Bindungen zu seiner Heimat gebrochen hat, und zwei älteren traditionellen Lyrikern. Was heißt es, vietnamesischer Schriftsteller zu sein? In wieweit trägt Poesie dem vietnamesischen Patriotismus Rechnung?

Autor: ChuKim (Nguyen Anh Tuan)

Fünf vietnamesische Autorinnen und Autoren


Vietnamesische Literatur der Diaspora


Crowdfunding für das Projekt

Das Crowdfunding hat sein Ziel nicht erreicht. Das einbezahlte Geld wird an die Spender zurückerstattet. Wenn Sie dieses Projekt weiterhin unterstützen möchten, wenden Sie sich bitte an: thiloan.le@goethe.de. Deutsche Spender können für Spenden an Goethe-Institut e.V. eine Spendenbescheinigung erhalten, die Sie bei der Einkommensteuererklärung geltend machen können.

Organisatoren



Unterstützt durch



Top