Interactive exhibition Get in Touch with Mathematics


Mathematics – an abstract science? Far wrong! Over 5.000 visitors explored even the most complex mathematic phenomena by solving puzzles, unraveling riddles and doing playful experiments at the interactive exhibition Get in Touch with Mathematics shown from March 26 until April 12, 2014 in the context of the project Schools: Partners for the Future at Goethe-Institute Hanoi. At the opening, Prof. Dr. Hoang Xuan Phu from the Vietnamese Academy of Science and Technology (VAST) gave an enthusiastic introduction into the world of mathematics.
 
The exhibition Get in Touch with Mathematics displayed an exciting selection of the most appreciated experiments from the first interactive mathematics museum worldwide, the Mathematikum in Giessen. All exhibits banked on a playful approach to mathematics – one that is hands on. Visitors of all ages and all educational backgrounds could experiment: They solved puzzles, built a Leonardo-bridge without tools and screws, scratched their heads while unraveling riddles, watched a sphere race, let wonderful soap bubbles come into being and recognized: Maths doesn’t have to be abstract, it is fun.
 
One aim of the exhibition was to arouse interest for the so-called MINT-Subjects (Mathematics – Informatics – Natural Sciences – Technology). Therefore, we were especially delighted that more than fifty school classes visited the exhibition. In total 1.500 pupils of primary, secondary and high schools were welcomed not only with playful explorations and mental problem solving, but also with exciting competitions and great gifts. Many thanks to the dedicated volunteers from the Asia-Pacific wide learning network Live & Learn.
 
Financed by the funds of the German Federal Foreign Office this popular exhibition travels to the Goethe-Institutes of the world, before coming to Hanoi the exhibition was in Karachi (Pakistan) and continued on its way to Bangkok (Thailand).

Interaktive Ausstellung Mathematik zum Anfassen


Mathematik – eine abstrakte Wissenschaft? Weit gefehlt! Knobeln, puzzeln, ausprobieren konnten die über 5.000 Besucherinnen und Besucher der interaktiven Ausstellung Mathematik zum Anfassen, die im Rahmen der Initiative Schulen: Partner der Zukunft vom 26. März bis zum 12. April 2014 am Goethe-Institut Hanoi zu Gast war. Eine begeisternde Einführung in die Welt der Mathematik gab Prof. Dr. Hoang Xuan Phu von der Vietnamesischen Akademie für Wissenschaft und Technik (VAST) bei der Ausstellungseröffnung.
 
Basierend auf der Konzeption des Gießener Mathematikums, dem ersten mathematischen Mitmach-Museum der Welt, wurde eine der ältesten Wissenschaft anhand von zwanzig ausgewählten Exponaten für die Besucher/innen spielerisch erlebbar. Jung und Alt legten mathematische Puzzles, bauten eine Leonardo-Brücke ganz ohne Werkzeug und Schrauben, zerbrachen sich den Kopf bei Knobelspielen, schauten einem Kugelwettrennen zu, ließen wunderschöne Seifenhäute entstehen und stellten fest: Mathematik ist alles andere als abstrakt und macht richtig Spaß.
 
Ein Ausstellungsziel war es, Lust auf die Beschäftigung mit den sogenannten MINT-Fächern (Mathematik – Informatik – Naturwissenschaft – Technik) zu machen. Daher hat es uns ganz besonders gefreut, dass mehr als fünfzig Schulklassen den Weg in die Ausstellung fanden. Auf die insgesamt etwa 1.500 Schülerinnen und Schüler der Grund-, Mittel- und Oberschulen warteten nicht nur spielerisches Erkunden und gedankliches Problemlösen bei den Exponaten, sondern auch spannende Wettbewerbe und tolle Sachpreise. Ein großes Lob und Dankeschön geht an dieser Stelle an die engagierten Volunteere von Live & Learn.
 
Finanziert mit Mitteln des Auswärtigen Amtes reist die beliebte Ausstellung durch die Goethe-Institute der Welt und wurde schon in zahlreichen Ländern Europas, Amerikas und Asiens gezeigt.