Internet and society

Digital society © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Lectures and Discussion about the effects of digitization on us and the world around us.

The current rapid social and technological and social change brings about enormous uncertainties – a great need for explanations and sense-making but also of shaping our common future. This high-profile lecture series thrives to develop a European-Vietnamese perspective on the processes of transformation that our societies are currently undergoing.

What is changing in society? What is power in the digital society, and how is it distributed? Is there more democracy through increased participation and transparency? Or less privacy protection and more surveillance and fragmentation of social life? Are services fuelled by algorithms and artificial intelligence improving our private and business lives, or do they enforce social inequalities? How does urban life change in times of digitization, what role do infrastructures take?

This series has been produced by the Alexander von Humboldt INSTITUTE FOR INTERNET & SOCIETY (HIIG) and the German Federal Agency for Civic Education (bpb). Its adaption for Vietnamese audiences wants to serve as source for information, inspiration and discussion.

Internet und Gesellschaft

Digitale Gesellschaft © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Vorträge und Diskussion über die Änderungen unserer Lebenswelt durch Digitalisierung.

Der rapide voranschreitende technologische Wandel löst Veränderungen aus – und als auch die Suche nach Erklärungen, die uns dabei helfen unsere Situation besser zu verstehen und die Zukunft zu gestalten. Diese hochkarätige Vortragsreihe hat das Ziel eine europäisch-vietnamesische Perspektive zu den gegenwärtigen Transformationsprozessen zu entwickeln.

Was ändert sich in unserer Gesellschaft? Wie äußert sich Macht in der digitalen Gesellschaft? Wie ist Macht verteilt? Bedeutet Digitalisierung mehr Demokratie durch verstärkte Transparenz und Partizipation oder mehr Überwachung und fragmentierte Öffentlichkeit und Beschneidung der Privatsphäre? Verbessern Dienste durch Algorithmen und künstliche Intelligenz unser Leben, oder verstärken sie soziale Ungleichheiten? Wie verändern sich Städte und welche Rolle nehmen Infrastrukturen dabei ein?
 
Diese Reihe wurde vom Alexander von Humboldt INSTITUT FÜR INTERNET & GESELLSCHAFT (HIIG) und der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb) produziert. Die vietnamesische Adaption soll der Informationen, Inspiration und Diskussion dienen.