Quick access:

Go directly to content (Alt 1) Go directly to first-level navigation (Alt 2)
HAN 25 Jahre Header Banner© Goethe-Institut Hanoi

25 years of Goethe-Institut Hanoi! We take this anniversary as an opportunity to celebrate the successful history of the German language and culture institute in Vietnam and to thank our network of partners for their valuable cooperation.


Welcome words

Oliver Brandt 300 Oliver Brandt, director | © Goethe-Institut Hanoi As the sixth Director at the Goethe-Institut Hanoi, I invite you to discover the milestones of our history and get to know the personalities who have shaped our work in German-Vietnamese dialogue. 

My predecessor, director Wilfried Eckstein, presented me with this website as a gift upon my arrival. I am now pleased to be able to share this gift full of surprising, courageous, and inspiring stories with you.

Based on the bilateral cultural agreement of 27 January 1997, the Goethe-Institut was inaugurated on 22 December with the participation of the Secretary General of the Goethe-Institut Joachim Sartorius, the German Ambassador Wolfgang Erck, the Minister of State of the Federal Foreign Office Hoyer and Vietnamese VIPs. From the beginning, the Goethe-Institut has been guided by the desire for dialogue and equal encounters. The work does not pursue the goal of national self-representation or a post-colonial occupation of topics, but places intellectual and cultural exchange and the search for understanding at the centre of all activities. This is never done alone, but with local experts, socio-politically committed organisations and local European partners. With our language work, we promote the teaching and learning of the German language in the Vietnamese education system and thus empower Vietnamese people of all ages with professional and personal mobility. Our work is rounded off by pre-integrative and intercultural offers that prepare for a possible stay in German-speaking countries.

I cordially invite you to discover the history of our anniversary website through events, themes, artistic genres, and interviews with our staff. A common thread running through all the reports is the cooperation with local and European partners on site, with whom we are constantly on the lookout for spaces for art and creativity and fill them with life.

I am delighted to celebrate the 25th anniversary with you, all friends and partners of the Goethe-Institut Hanoi. We are so strong because engaging with you gives us strength and encouragement. In this spirit, we look forward to the next 25 years of the Goethe-Institut Hanoi with confidence and vigour!

Yours
Oliver Brandt

Our milestones in 25 year


Sections


Topics

The Goethe-Institut promotes the exchange of information and knowledge. We co-create our dialogs with local experts, institutional partners in Vietnam, European cultural institutes, and embassies. When we hold events, our ambition is neither vain self-promotion of the nation of Germany, nor is it a postcolonial attempt to occupy certain topics. What we seek is to promote intellectual exchange and search for common ground and understanding.


Interviews with employees of the Goethe-Institut Hanoi

Top

Schnelleinstieg:

Direkt zum Inhalt springen (Alt 1) Direkt zur Hauptnavigation springen (Alt 2)
HAN 25 Jahre Header Banner© Goethe-Institut Hanoi

25 Jahre Goethe-Institut Hanoi! Dieses Jubiläum nehmen wir zum Anlass, um die erfolgreiche Geschichte des deutschen Sprach- und Kulturinstituts in Vietnam zu feiern und unseren Wegbegleitern des Partnernetzwerkes für die wertvolle Zusammenarbeit zu danken.


Willkommensgruß

Oliver Brandt 300 Oliver Brandt, Institutsleiter | © Goethe-Institut Hanoi Als sechster Institutsleiter am Goethe-Institut Hanoi lade ich Sie ein, die Meilensteine der Geschichte zu entdecken und die Persönlichkeiten, die unsere Arbeit im deutsch-vietnamesischen Dialog geprägt haben, kennen zu lernen.

Mein Vorgänger, der Institutsleiter Wilfried Eckstein, hat mir diese Website bei meiner Ankunft als Geschenk überreicht. Ich freue mich nun, dass ich dieses Geschenk voller überraschender, mutiger und inspirierender Geschichten mit Ihnen teilen kann.

Auf der Basis des bilateralen Kulturabkommens vom 27. Januar 1997 wurde das Goethe-Institut am 22. Dezember unter Mitwirkung des Generalsekretärs des Goethe-Instituts Joachim Sartorius, des Deutschen Botschafters Wolfgang Erck, des Staatsministers des Auswärtigen Amts Hoyer und vietnamesischer Prominenz eröffnet. Von Beginn an leitet das Goethe-Institut der Wunsch nach Dialog und gleichberechtigter Begegnung. Die Arbeit verfolgt nicht das Ziel nationaler Selbstdarstellung oder einer postkolonialen Besetzung von Themen, sondern setzt den geistigen und kulturellen Austausch und die Suche nach Verständigung in das Zentrum aller Aktivitäten. Dieses geschieht nie im Alleingang, sondern mit lokalen Expert*innen, sozialpolitisch engagierte Organisationen und den europäischen Partnern vor Ort. Mit unserer Spracharbeit fördern wir das Lehren und Lernen der deutschen Sprache im vietnamesischen Bildungssystem und befähigen damit Vietnames*innen jeden Alters zur beruflichen und persönlichen Mobilität. Abgerundet wird unsere Arbeit durch vorintegrative und interkulturelle Angebote, die auf einen möglichen Aufenthalt in deutschsprachigen Ländern vorbereiten.

Ich lade Sie herzlich ein, auf unserer Jubiläums-Website die Geschichte anhand von Ereignissen, Themen, künstlerischen Sparten und Interviews von den Mitarbeiter*innen zu entdecken. Wie ein roter Faden durchziehen alle Berichte die Zusammenarbeit mit den lokalen und europäischen Partnern vor Ort, mit denen wir gemeinsam immer wieder nach Freiräumen für Kunst und Kreativität Ausschau halten und mit Leben füllen.

Ich freue mich mit Ihnen, allen Freund*innen und Partnern des Goethe-Instituts Hanoi, das 25-jährige Jubiläum zu feiern. Wir sind so stark, weil die Begegnung mit Ihnen uns Kraft und Ansporn gibt. In diesem Sine blicken wir voller Zuversicht und Elan auf die zukünftigen 25 Jahre des Goethe-Instituts Hanoi!

Ihr
Oliver Brandt

Unsere Meilensteine in 25 Jahren


Sparten


Themen

Das Goethe-Institut fördert den Informations- und Wissensaustausch. Dialoge sind so angelegt dass sie von lokalen Expert*innen, institutionellen Partnern Vietnams, europäischen Kulturinstituten und Botschaften mitgestaltet werden. Solche Veranstaltungen gelten nicht eitler nationaler Selbstdarstellung oder einer postkolonialen Besetzung von Themen, sondern dem geistigen Austausch und der Suche nach Verständigung.


Interviews mit Mitarbeiter*Innen des Goethe-Instituts Hanoi

Top