Concert Handwerk INTER

craft INTER © Goethe-Institut Hanoi

27.09.2020, 8 PM

Bürgermeisterhaus Essen-Werden

Concert intermedia and intercultural

Handwerk makes the intercultural exchange and the dialogue tangible between tradition and experiment, between the acoustic and the visual. Music by Feliz Anne Reyes Macahis and Michael Maierhof meets new works by Vietnamese Lương Huệ Trinh and Dieter Mack.

The selected pieces open up new perspectives. INTER performs new works by Luong Hue Trinh, Dieter Mack, Michael Maierhof and Feliz Anne Reyes Macahis.

Luong Hue Trinh fuses Western and traditional Vietnamese instruments, chamber music and video art. The composer and ethnomusicologist Dieter Mack has since 1978 been working on music from Indonesian and Japan. He developed an independent, intercultural New Music. Feliz Anne Reyes Macahis' Bardo is inspired by the imagery of Daoism, smooth transitions, soft sounds change steadily but subtly. Michael Maierhof's Shopping 4, on the other hand, shows a refreshing and captivating independent position on the topics of intermediality and interdisciplinarity. Handwerk cultivates a penchant for experimentation and plays pieces with the utmost care and quality.

Handwerk INTER is an intermedial and intercultural concert tour performing in Cologne, Münster and Essen. Presented by the Society for New Music Münster, the Society for New Music Ruhr.

Funded by the Musikfonds e.V. with project funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and Media, the Goethe-Institut, the City of Münster's Department of Culture, the Münster New Music Society, the Allbau Foundation and the Ruhr New Music Society.

Dieter Mack - The Shining of Abyss and the Darkness of Light (2020, WP)
for flute, clarinet, violin, violoncello, piano, Japanese percussion instruments and tape
 Michael Maierhof - Shopping 4 (2005-06) for 3 players with balloons
 Feliz Anne Reyes Macahis - Bardo (2014) for clarinet, violoncello and piano
 Lương Huệ Trinh - 'It is not raining, it is misting' (2020 WP) for piano, Đàn Tranh and tape
Lương Huệ Trinh - Transit Zone (2020 WP) for flute, clarinet, violin, cello, piano, Đàn Tranh, tape, video and sound direction


Daniel Agi - flute
Heni Hyunjung Kim - clarinet
Lola Rubio - violin
Niklas Seidl - violoncello
Claudia Chan - piano
Nguyễn Thanh Thủy - Đàn Tranh
Lương Huệ Trinh - video and sound design