Minibus Taxis Johannesburg's informal transport industry

Noord is the second biggest taxi rank in the heart of the Johannesburg Central Business District (CBD), transporting people to the suburbs and the townships, and as far as Pretoria. The taxi industry has created many jobs outside of the formal employment sector.
Noord is the second biggest taxi rank in the heart of the Johannesburg Central Business District (CBD), transporting people to the suburbs and the townships, and as far as Pretoria. The taxi industry has created many jobs outside of the formal employment sector. | © Lerato Maduna

Photographer Lerato Maduna took to Johannesburg's major taxi ranks where she documented the daily life of taxi drivers.

Mobility is a prerequisite for any city to function. So how do people who cannot afford a private car get to where they need to be in a city as sprawled out as Johannesburg, where public transport fails to efficiently connect the various commercial centers and residential areas?

Every day, thousands of so-called minibus taxis haul passengers across town along the major traffic routes. The cityscape is characterised by mostly white Toyota Quantum buses or alternatively colourfully painted minibuses of other makes, adorned with bumper stickers and easily identifiable as taxis by their reckless driving style. Minibus taxis have established themselves as a commonly used option to public transport means such as metro buses, trains or the ultramodern but expensive Gautrain. The taxi industry creates a large amount of informal jobs, including auxiliary services such as street vendors, also referred to as hawkers.

Photographer Lerato Maduna took a closer look at Johannesburg‘s major taxi ranks Bree, Noord and Wondrous where she spoke to taxi drivers about their daily lives.

A long busy day at the taxi rank

  • The taxi industry creates jobs © Lerato Maduna
    Noord is the second biggest taxi rank in the heart of the Johannesburg Central Business District (CBD), transporting people to the suburbs and the townships, and as far as Pretoria. The taxi industry has created many jobs outside of the formal employment sector.
  • Long working hours © Lerato Maduna
    A taxi driver working at the Noord taxi rank in Johannesburg´s Central Business District takes a nap while waiting for his turn to transport passengers to Vosloorus on the East Rand. Taxi drivers work long hours, usually from 4am to 9pm.
  • Mdu © Lerato Maduna
    Mdu, age 37, has been a taxi driver for years; he started driving a taxi when he could not get a regular job. He services the Vosloorus Johannesburg return route. What he loves about his job is that he takes money home every night and does not have to sit in an office all day long with a supervisor watching him.
  • Mandla © Lerato Maduna
    Mandla, age unknown, is a queue marshal at the Noord Taxi rank in Johannesburg´s Central Business District. His job is to register incoming taxis in the morning, collect their rank fee and throughout the day, help passengers find the right taxis for their respective destinations. He loves his job as he considers himself a people´s person and enjoys helping others.
  • Ancilliary industry © Lerato Maduna
    Informal traders cater to taxi drivers and commuters at Noord taxi rank, selling food, sweets and cigarettes. Like their clientele, they arrive in the wee hours of the morning and only leave late in the evening. Hawkers are sometimes subjected to stock confiscation and abuse by the police who are infamous for such acts.
  • Noord taxirank © Lerato Maduna
    Noord is the second biggest taxi rank in the heart of the Johannesburg Central Business District (CBD), transporting people to the suburbs and the townships, and as far as Pretoria. The taxi industry has created many jobs outside of the formal employment sector.
  • Bree, Joburgs biggest taxi rank © Lerato Maduna
    Bree, Joburgs biggest taxi rank Bree taxi rank in Newtown is the biggest rank in Johannesburg. Taxis departing from Bree transport passengers to many parts of Gauteng province.
  • Lift clubs as a transport option? © Lerato Maduna
    A billboard on Joe Slovo Drive, encouraging the community to use lift clubs in order to reduce traffic congestion. Many people prefer private rather than public transport as they deem taxis unsafe. Yet the majority of people still have to rely on public transport, such as taxis, to get from point A to B.
  • Many feel Gautrain is not for ordinary people © Lerato Maduna
    Taxis waiting outside the Gautrain station. Many feel that Gautrain is for the rich population and not for ordinary people to use on a daily basis, unlike taxis, regular trains, or buses.
  • Dreaming of a life as a farmer © Lerato Maduna
    Oxy Gabada, 37, from Botswana, has been working as a taxi driver since 2000. He got into this line of work for the love of driving. The only thing he doesn´t like about his job are the police. “Cops... Cops... Cops...” he says, “when they see taxi drivers they think ‘free money’”. Oxy would like to move to the countryside and become a farmer in the near future.
  • Round-the-clock operation © Lerato Maduna
    Taxis at Wondrous rank operate long-distance routes to other provinces and neighbouring countries; services run from 4am to 10pm.
  • Sharing the spirit of Ubuntu © Lerato Maduna
    Bangani Maekane, 48, from Tshepisong, has been working as a taxi driver since 1998. He got into this line of work by hanging around with taxi drivers. While he enjoys working with different kinds of people and sharing the spirit of “Ubuntu”, he dislikes miscommunication and bad attitudes from passengers.
  • Long hours and long distances © Lerato Maduna
    Taxis at Wondrous rank operate long-distance routes to other provinces and neighbouring countries; services run from 4am to 10pm.
  • Joburg skyline © Lerato Maduna
    Noord is the second biggest taxi rank in the heart of the Johannesburg Central Business District (CBD), transporting people to the suburbs and the townships, and as far as Pretoria. The taxi industry has created many jobs outside of the formal employment sector.
Lerato Maduna is a freelance photographer from Johannesburg. She documented Johannesburgs informal taxi industry for this feature.

Minibus Taxis Johannesburgs informelle Transportindustrie

Noord ist der zweitgrößte Taxistand im Herzen von Johannesburgs zentralem Geschäftsviertel. Von dort aus werden die Passagiere in die Vororte, die Townships und sogar in die Landeshauptstadt Pretoria transportiert. Die Taxiindustrie hat viele Stellen außerhalb des formellen Arbeitsmarkts geschaffen.
Noord ist der zweitgrößte Taxistand im Herzen von Johannesburgs zentralem Geschäftsviertel. Von dort aus werden die Passagiere in die Vororte, die Townships und sogar in die Landeshauptstadt Pretoria transportiert. Die Taxiindustrie hat viele Stellen außerhalb des formellen Arbeitsmarkts geschaffen. | © Lerato Maduna

Die Fotografin Lerato Maduna hat die Taxiszene in Johannesburg in Bildern festgehalten und mit den Taxifahrern über ihr Leben geredet. 

Mobilität ist eine Grundvoraussetzung für das Funktionieren einer Stadt. Doch wie kommen die Menschen in Johannesburg, das sich über eine riesige Fläche erstreckt und dessen kommerzielle Zentren und Wohngegenden nur unzureichend durch öffentlichen Transport verbunden sind zur Arbeit, zur Schule, oder ins Spital wenn sie sich ein Privatauto nicht leisten können?

Tausende von sogenannten Minibustaxis transportieren jeden Tag Passagiere quer durch die Stadt entlang der Hauptverkehrsadern. Johannesburgs Straßenbild ist geprägt von meist weißen Toyota Quantums oder alternativ farbig bemalten und mit Aufklebesprüchen verzierten Minibussen, anhand der unberechenbaren Fahrweise leicht als Taxis erkennbar. Minibustaxis haben sich als rege genutzte Alternative zu öffentlichen Verkehrsmitteln wie Stadtbussen, Bahn oder dem ultramodernen aber teuren Gautrain etabliert. Die Taxibranche schafft zahlreiche informelle Arbeitsplätze und weitere kommen durch die Zubringerdienste wie Straßenhändler dazu.

Die Fotografin Lerato Maduna hat sich in Johannesburgs größten Taxiständen Bree, Noord und Wanderers unter die Taxifahrer gemischt und sich mit ihnen über ihr tägliches Leben unterhalten.

Rund-um-die-Uhr Betrieb in Johannesburgs Taxiständen

 
  • Die Taxibranche schafft Arbeitsplätze © Lerato Maduna
    Noord ist der zweitgrößte Taxistand im Herzen von Johannesburgs zentralem Geschäftsviertel. Von dort aus werden die Passagiere in die Vororte, die Townships und sogar in die Landeshauptstadt Pretoria transportiert. Die Taxibranche hat viele Stellen außerhalb des formellen Arbeitsmarkts geschaffen.
  • Ruhepause © Lerato Maduna
    Ein Taxifahrer im Noord Taxistand schläft während er auf Passagiere für die Strecke nach Vosloorus in Johannesburgs East Rand wartet. Der Arbeitstag eines Taxifahrers ist lang; meistens von vier Uhr morgens bis neun Uhr abends.
  • Mdu © Lerato Maduna
    Mdu, 37 Jahre, fährt seit Jahren Taxi; er hatte damit begonnen als er keinen regulären Job fand. Er fährt die Strecke von Johannesburg nach Vosloorus und zurück. Was ihm an seiner Arbeit gefällt ist, dass er jeden Abend Bargeld mit nachhause nehmen kann und nicht den ganzen Tag in einem Büro sitzen muss, überwacht von einem Vorgesetzten.
  • Mandla © Lerato Maduna
    Mandla, Alter unbekannt, ist ein Ordnungshüter im Noord Taxistand in Johannesburgs zentralem Geschäftsviertel. Sein Job ist es, ankommende Taxis am Morgen zu registrieren, die Standgebühr einzukassieren und tagsüber Passagieren zu helfen, das richtige Taxi für die gewünschte Destination zu finden. Er liebt seine Arbeit denn er hilft gerne seinen Mitmenschen.
  • Straßenhändler © Lerato Maduna
    Informelle Straßenhändler beliefern Taxifahrer und Pender am Noord Taxistand; sie verkaufen Esswaren, Süßigkeiten und Zigaretten. Wie ihre Kundschaft auch, kommen sie in den frühen Morgenstunden an und gehen erst spätabends nachhause. Die Polizei wird gefürchtet, da es manchmal zu Übergriffen kommt, wobei die Waren der Händler beschlagnahmt werden.
  • Noord Taxistand © Lerato Maduna
    Noord ist der zweitgrößte Taxistand im Herzen von Johannesburgs zentralem Geschäftsviertel. Von dort aus werden die Passagiere in die Vororte, die Townships und sogar in die Landeshauptstadt Pretoria transportiert. Die Taxibranche hat viele Stellen außerhalb des formellen Arbeitsmarkts geschaffen.
  • Bree, Johannesburgs größter Taxistand © Lerato Maduna
    Bree in Newtown ist Johannesburgs größter Taxistand. Von hier aus werden Passagiere in weite Teile Gautengs gefahren.
  • Fahrgemeinschaften als Alternative? © Lerato Maduna
    Eine Werbetafel am Joe Slove Drive ruft dazu auf, Fahrgemeinschaften zu nutzen um Verkehrsstaus zu vermindern. Viele Leute ziehen private Transportmittel dem öffentlichen Verkehr vor, denn Taxis werden als unsicher wahrgenommen. Die Mehrheit der Bevölkerung ist allerdings weiterhin auf öffentlichen Transport angewiesen um von A nach B zu gelangen.
  • Gautrain - ein Transportmittel für Privilegierte © Lerato Maduna
    Taxis warten außerhalb der Gautrain-Station. Viele halten den Gautrain für ein Verkehrsmittel für Privilegierte, und nicht für gewöhnliche Leute. Letztere benutzen weiterhin täglich Taxis, reguläre Züge, oder Stadtbusse.
  • Ein Taxifahrer träumt vom Leben als Bauer © Lerato Maduna
    Oxy Gabada, 37 Jahre, aus Botswana, arbeitet seit 2000 als Taxifahrer. Dazu gekommen ist er aufgrund seiner Vorliebe fürs Fahren. Das Einzige was ihm an seiner Arbeit nicht gefällt ist die Polizei. „Die Polizei denkt, mit Taxifahrern sei ein einfaches Zubrot zu machen“, sagt er. Oxy würde in naher Zukunft gern aufs Land ziehen und dort als Bauer leben.
  • Wondrous Taxistand © Lerato Maduna
    Die Taxis am Wondrous Taxistand bedienen Langstrecken; sie fahren in andere Provinzen sowie in Nachbarländer. Der Taxistand operiert von morgens um vier Uhr bis abends um zehn Uhr.
  • Von Ubuntu und Mißverständnissen © Lerato Maduna
    Bangani Maekane, 48 Jahre, aus Tshepisong, arbeitet seit 1998 als Taxifahrer. Ursprünglich war er viel mit Taxifahrern unterwegs, bis er selbst einer geworden ist. Er hat gerne mit verschiedenen Menschen zu tun, ganz im Sinne der südafrikanischen „Ubuntu“-Philosophie; was er jedoch nicht mag sind Mißverständnisse und unfreundliche Passagiere.
  • Rund-um-die-Uhr-Betrieb © Lerato Maduna
    Die Taxis am Wondrous Taxistand bedienen Langstrecken; sie fahren in andere Provinzen sowie in Nachbarländer. Der Taxistand operiert von morgens um vier Uhr bis abends um zehn Uhr.
  • Johannesburgs Skyline © Lerato Maduna
    Noord ist der zweitgrößte Taxistand im Herzen von Johannesburgs zentralem Geschäftsviertel. Von dort aus werden die Passagiere in die Vororte, die Townships und sogar in die Landeshauptstadt Pretoria transportiert. Die Taxibranche hat viele Stellen außerhalb des formellen Arbeitsmarkts geschaffen.
Lerato Maduna ist freie Fotografin aus Johannesburg. Für das Goethe-Institut hat sie die Taxiszene in Johannesburgs Innenstadt dokumentiert.