A symposium on African building construction A playground for concrete. The fastest growing cities in the world

Afritecture Konferenz in München, 2013
Afritecture Konferenz in München, 2013 | Photo: Simone Bader

It all begins with a word. At a visit to the Red Location, an apartheid museum located in one of the oldest townships outside Port Elizabeth in South Africa, irregularities in lettering caught the eye of the architect and author Lesley Lokko.

All signposts - museum exit, museum gift shop and museum coffee shop - were explained in several languages. However, unlike English and Afrikaans, the local language isiXhosa uses a different euphemism for museum on each sign. She asked why. "Because isiXhosa doesn't have a word for it", the staff responded. "Museums are only for white people and tourists".

Does this mean that museums should not be built in Africa? Most certainly not. However, on a two-day symposium held on building construction in Sub-Saharan Africa in the framework of the exhibition "Afritecture (- Exchanging Knowledge)" at the Museum of Architecture in Munich this November, this small anecdote illustrates how difficult and conflict-ridden it still is to realise projects on the continent that will do it justice and also provide what each respective location requires. Or as Lien Heidenreich-Seleme, the Goethe Institute's Head of Cultural Programmes in South Africa, says: "We need to ask ourselves why we are acutally doing this. Is it for a common purpose or for ourselves?" Guilt because of a colonial past, money that NGOs make available without imposing requirements or for the opportunity to provide "our architectural students with a playground for their ideas - regardless if the buildings are used after completion or not”.

The critique is correct. The interest shown from Western universities in so-called Design/Build projects have increased in the last couple of years. In addition to their academic framework, prospective architects create a building from design to completion. This is of course easier in countries such as Kenya, Congo or Ghana compared to Germany or Switzerland, where costs and construction laws pose almost impossible obstacles. But, how does one guarentee that these buildings not only serve to give architectural students a practical insight to the building process but also that they have a positive affect on its environment? After all, the mentoring professors will knowingly choose a poor region for theses Design/Build projects that otherwise have no schools, training centres or medical access. This environmentally sustainable building is of little use when its use is not guaranteed or when lack of technology and know-how prevent repairs.

The question of what architecture Africa actually needs is not just asked by foreigners but also by the continent itself. A continent that is experiencing an urbanisation of unpredictable proportions, exceeding Asia in the process. The urban population doubles within a generation. However, there are no new ideas of how the million new houses will look that will be built in Angola over the next four years nor for the cities that will emerge through this building boom. The benefits have gone abroad and never stayed on the continent with fatal consequences: 80 per cent of Ethiopa's trade deficit goes towards import of concrete, steel, glass and building machinery. These materials are only required when you are copying the West.

Angela Christina Mingas, a historical urban quarter researcher in Angola's capital Luanda, says "we must redefine the architectural prototypes so that we can adapt them to African dimensions". How do you create a street in Africa that allows for the pervasive street vendors to do their job without obstructing the general traffic? South African architect Luyanda Mpahlwa has come up with an answer for a metro station. This metro station allows for small vendor stands and can be evacuated in a case of emergency. The search for new designs has just begun.

Eine Tagung zum Bauen in Afrika Nirgends wachsen die Städte schneller

Afritecture Konferenz in München, 2013
Afritecture Konferenz in München, 2013 | Foto: Simone Bader

Mit dem Wort fängt es an. Als die Architektin und Schriftstellerin Lesley Lokko das Red Location besuchte, ein Museum über Apartheid mitten in einer der ältesten Townships außerhalb des Zentrums von Port Elizabeth, Südafrika, fiel ihr eine Unregelmäßigkeit in der Beschriftung auf. 

Alle Wegweiser – zum Museumsausgang, Museumsshop, Museumscafé – waren in mehreren Sprachen ausgeführt, aber anders als im Englischen oder in Afrikaans tauchte in Xhosa, der lokalen Sprache, bei jeder Markierung eine andere Umschreibung für Museum auf. Warum? „Weil wir dafür kein Wort haben“, so das Aufsichtspersonal. Ein Museum sei eben vor allem ein Haus für Weiße und Touristen.

Heißt das nun, in Afrika sollten keine Museen gebaut werden? Ganz bestimmt nicht. Doch die kleine Anekdote auf dem zweitägigen Symposium über Bauen in der Subsahara, das im Rahmen der Ausstellung „Afritecture“ im Münchner Architekturmuseum jüngst stattfand, verdeutlicht, wie schwierig und konfliktbeladen es nach wie vor ist, Projekte auf dem Kontinent zu realisieren, die wirklich dem gerecht werden, was der jeweilige Ort auch braucht. Oder wie Lien Heidenreich-Seleme, die für das Goethe-Institut die Kulturprogramme in Südafrika leitet, sagte: „Wir sollten uns fragen: Für wen machen wir es eigentlich? Für die Gemeinschaft oder doch für uns selbst?“ Die Gründe für letzteres seien dabei zahlreich. Schuldgefühle aufgrund der kolonialen Vergangenheit, Geld, das NGOs ohne bestimmte Auflagen zur Verfügung stellen, oder auch die Möglichkeit, „unseren Architekturstudenten einen Spielplatz für ihre Ideen zu bieten – egal, ob das Gebäude danach benützt wird oder nicht“.

Die Kritik trifft. Das Interesse von westlichen Universitäten an sogenannten Design-Build-Projekten wird seit einigen Jahren immer größer. Im Rahmen des Studiums realisieren die angehenden Architekten dabei ein Gebäude vom Entwurf bis zur Fertigstellung. Das ist natürlich in Ländern wie Kenia, Kongo oder Ghana einfacher als in Deutschland oder in der Schweiz, wo Kosten und Baugesetz schier unüberwindbare Hindernisse darstellen. Nur: Wie garantiert man, dass die Gebäude nicht nur den Studenten praktische Einblicke in den Bauprozess liefern, sondern auch langfristig positive Auswirkungen auf ihre Umgebung haben? Schließlich suchen die betreuenden Professoren bewusst arme Regionen für ein Design-Build-Projekt aus, Orte, die sonst keine Schule, kein Ausbildungszentrum oder keine Krankenstation hätten. Nur hilft der ökologisch nachhaltigste Bau wenig, wenn die Nutzung danach nicht gesichert ist oder später Technik und Know-how fehlen, wenn Reparaturen anfallen.

Die Frage, welche Architektur Afrika tatsächlich braucht, stellt sich aber vor allem dem Kontinent selbst, der eine Urbanisierung von bislang unbekannten Ausmaßen erlebt; sie übertrifft sogar Asien. Die städtische Bevölkerung verdoppelt sich innerhalb einer Generation. Doch wie die eine Million neuen Häuser aussehen sollen, die etwa Angola in den nächsten vier Jahren baut, dazu gibt es keine neuen Ideen, genauso wenig wie für die Städte, die durch den Bauboom entstehen werden. Von dem profitiert bislang vor allem das Ausland. Mit fatalen Folgen: In Äthiopien gehen 80 Prozent des Handelsdefizits zurück auf die Einfuhr von Zement, Stahl, Glas und Baumaschinen. Solche Materialien benötigt man nur, weil man den Westen kopiert.

„Wir müssen die architektonischen Prototypen neu definieren, um sie an das afrikanische Maß anzupassen“, so Angela Christina Mingas, die über historische Stadtquartiere in Angolas Hauptstadt Luanda forscht. Wie kann etwa eine Straße aussehen, die den in Afrika allgegenwärtigen Straßenhandel zulässt ohne den Verkehr zu behindern? Für eine Metrostation zumindest hat der südafrikanische Architekt Luyanda Mpahlwa eine Antwort gefunden. Sie räumt kleinen Ständen Platz ein und kann im Notfall trotzdem evakuiert werden. Die Suche nach neuen Formen hat erst begonnen.