Welcome to Paradise Post-apartheid South Africa in Pictures

We People Who Are Darker Than Blue. Istanbul, 2013. © Thabiso Sekgala
We People Who Are Darker Than Blue. Istanbul, 2013. | © Thabiso Sekgala

Thabiso Sekgala is one of the few younger photographers whose work is featured in The Rise and Fall of Apartheid. Born in 1981, he completed the Market Photo workshop’s programme and recently lived in Berlin, Germany on a residency programme. He told us about the perception of African photography in Europe and why his latest show is titled Paradise.

This year, South Africa is celebrating the 20th anniversary of the end of apartheid. How are the celebrations going?

I don’t really know. There is not much going on in public – people are just moving on with their lives. Under normal circumstances, I think, people don’t celebrate it. It’s more of a way of promoting democracy and the new South Africa in the media, and companies use it as a marketing tool.

Until the end of June, the exhibition The Rise and Fall of Apartheid is on show at Museum Africa. Some of your work is included in the exhibition. How does it feel to have your images exhibited alongside renowned photographers such as Peter Magubane, Santu Mofokeng and David Goldblatt?

I feel humbled and honoured that people recognise my work.

Which of the seasoned photographers from the exhibition have influenced your work?

There are definitely a few. I’d like to think that so many of the older photographers from the apartheid era were influential to my work today. There is Peter Magubane, but also David Goldblatt and Omar Badsha who photographed life in the townships. Especially the photographers form the Afrapix Collective, for example Cedric Nunn, Santu Mofokeng and others had a great impact on my images. I think all the images in this exhibition are equally important, because of their historical significance. 

What does the end of apartheid signify after 20 years? How relevant is it still today?

Most definitely it’s relevant; one cannot say that it’s not relevant. The end of apartheid is relevant and the democracy is relevant. Things happen today because we had this transition to democracy. I cannot speak on behalf of other people, but on behalf of myself. And for me it is incredibly important, because we now all have opportunities and can do what we do. But of course, such a transition process is not easy. Change takes time...

Many young photographers from South Africa and the African continent have emerged over the past years. Do you feel there are certain expectations in Germany of your artistic work?

Yeah, it’s funny because if you look at how photography from Africa is promoted in Europe, you easily see that it’s always about certain topics: poverty, crime and other negative stuff. This does say something about how our photography is perceived and consumed. People want to see a certain picture of Africa. But for the type of photographs I take, this is not all that important, because my images are really subtle. I’m always running away from all that negative stuff. I think there’s a lot of better stuff to photograph than this negative stuff – better than poverty and violence, you know. But I think now things are changing a bit because there are alternative ways of portraying the continent in the arts. The new generation artists have a positive approach and focus on topics that empower them. 

How do people deal with your more recent images which weren’t taken in South Africa, but for example in Berlin and Istanbul? Do European audiences miss the exotic aspect?

It seems to me that people from Europe are interested in seeing photographs from somewhere else. If you show them images of themselves and their environment, they seem less interested because they feel like they know it. They want to see African subject matter. If it is not African, although the photographer is African, they are confused or disappointed. But when I take pictures, I feel like I can really laugh about this and instead focus on what I’m thinking of and what matters at that moment.

You recently lived in Berlin-Kreuzberg for a year-long residency at the Künstlerhaus Bethanien. How was your experience in Berlin?

The residency really opened a lot of doors for me because I met very different people from many different places. This had an effect on my thinking and my work. Before, everything revolved around a South African context; but once you start to move out, you start to see things from a different perspective. So I think, being there for a year also made me revisit my work and see things that I would not have been able to see before. And I think Berlin has a lot of inspiring things to offer in terms of art, people and places… artists from different countries. You kind of get inspired by the work of others.

How is your work received by international galleries, curators and collections?

2013 was a very good year in terms of international residencies and travelling. I think I had great support from people who I met and the institutions that I worked with. Apart from the residency in Berlin, I was also invited by Durant Al Funun to Amman, Jordan for two months and I showed work there as well. That was also a very fruitful experience in 2013.

Your latest exhibition, entitled „Paradise“, did not only include photos from Berlin. Can you tell us a bit about the work?

Yes, the photos are form Istanbul and Berlin.  

Why did you choose to put these two cities into a dialogue?

For the obvious reasons. When I was in Berlin, I saw so many people from the Turkish community who had migrated to Germany after the war and later in the 1970s. For me it was interesting to investigate the relationships between these two cities, but also the two cultures in Berlin’s urban space: especially in Kreuzberg, so many businesses and tea shops are owned by Turkish people. Also I had a chance to go to Istanbul and so it made sense to combine the two cities. When I first came to Berlin, I was drawn to these tea shops where only Turkish men spend time. Most Germans I met had never been to these shops, especially women. So I started to ask women to join me there and to have their portrait taken. The hesitation to go there is purely cultural; it is not enforced by any law. I was interested in these invisible borders.

You usually choose short titles for your series of works. There is “Homeland” and “Second Transition”. Why did you choose the word “Paradise” for your latest exhibition?

Whenever I came to Germany, people would say to me: “Congratulations, you have made it to Berlin!”. But if someone comes to South Africa, we don’t say “congratulations”, we rather say “Welcome to South Africa”. That’s why I called the project Paradise. It speaks about the idea that if you’re African, when you arrive at any European airport, you get reminded that you’re from Africa. They check your visa meticulously to see if everything is correct. There was one time when I arrived in France coming from Lagos. By the time they opened the doors of the plane they were standing right there, checking the visas. With Paradise, I’m interested in spatial politics. On the one hand, people from Africa are looking to Europe; they want to live or work there. On the other hand, Europeans want to go somewhere warm when it’s cold, but they don’t question why it is hard for Africans to enter Europe, while Europeans can go anywhere they want without any problems of getting a visa – to some sort of paradise. It’s this irony that led me to the title.
 

Thabiso Sekgala’s work is on show at the Goodman Gallery in Cape Town from 3 – 31 May 2014. The exhibition is called Running and includes three bodies of work from Amman as well as Berlin. The Rise and Fall of Apartheid runs until 29 June 2014 at Museum Africa in Newtown, Johannesburg.

Willkommen im Paradies Südafrika nach der Apartheid in Bildern

We People Who Are Darker Than Blue. Istanbul, 2013. © Thabiso Sekgala
We People Who Are Darker Than Blue. Istanbul, 2013. | © Thabiso Sekgala

Thabiso Sekgala ist einer der wenigen jüngeren Fotografen, deren Werk in der Ausstellung The Rise and Fall of Apartheid zu sehen ist. Er wurde 1981 geboren, hat den Market Photo Workshop in Johannesburg absolviert und das letzte Jahr für eine Künstlerresidenz in Deutschland gelebt. Er sprach mit uns über die Wahrnehmung afrikanischer Fotografie in Europa und wieso seine jüngste Ausstellung Paradise heißt.

Momentan feiert Südafrika den zwanzigjährigen Jahrestag des Endes der Apartheid. Wie laufen die Feierlichkeiten?

Ich bin mir nicht sicher. Im Alltag merkt man nicht viel davon – die Leute leben einfach ihr Leben. Normalerweise wird das Jubiläum nicht gefeiert. Es ist eher ein Anlass, um Demokratie und das neue Südafrika voranzubringen; und für Firmen ist es auch ein willkommenes Marketinginstrument.

Bis Ende Mai ist die Ausstellung „The Rise and Fall of Apartheid“ im Museum Africa zu sehen. Einige Ihrer Arbeiten sind Teil der Ausstellung. Wie fühlt es sich an, seine Fotografien neben denen von Größen wie Peter Magubane, Santu Mofokeng und David Goldblatt zu sehen?

Ich bin sehr geehrt und freue mich, dass meiner Arbeit diese Anerkennung zuteil wird.

Welche der älteren Fotografen haben Sie auf Ihrem Werdegang beeinflusst?

Sehr viele der Fotografen, die in der Zeit der Apartheid gelebt und gearbeitet haben, hatten großen Einfluss auf meine Werke heute. Da ist zum Beispiel Peter Magubane, aber auch David Goldblatt und Omar Badsha, die das Leben in den Townships gezeigt haben. Besonders die Fotografen, die zum Afrapix Kollektiv gehörten, also Cedric Nunn, Santu Mofokeng und andere, haben mich stark geprägt. Alle Werke in der Ausstellung sind jedoch gleich wichtig, wenn es um ihre historische Bedeutung geht.

Was bedeutet das Ende der Apartheid heute, 20 Jahre nach dem friedlichen Umbruch? Wie relevant ist das heute noch?

Es ist auf jeden Fall noch relevant, es wäre wirklich falsch zu sagen, dass es keine Rolle mehr spiele. Das Ende der Apartheid und die Demokratie sind sehr wichtig. Ohne den Wandel hin zur Demokratie hätten wir heute nicht die Möglichkeiten, die wir haben. Ich kann nicht für andere sprechen, sondern nur für mich selbst: für mich ist es unglaublich wichtig, weil wir nun alle die vielen Möglichkeiten haben, das zu tun, was wir eben tun. Aber natürlich ist so ein Übergangsprozess nicht einfach. Wandel braucht Zeit… 

Viele junge Fotografen aus Südafrika und vom ganzen Kontinent sind in den letzten Jahren auch international bekannter geworden. Haben Sie das Gefühl, dass es in Deutschland bestimmte Erwartungen an Ihre Arbeiten gibt?

Ja, es ist lustig: Wenn man sich nur anschaut, wie Fotografie aus Afrika in Europa angekündigt wird, dann merkt man schnell, dass es immer um bestimmte Themen geht: Armut, Kriminalität und andere negative Dinge. Das sagt natürlich viel darüber aus, wie die Arbeiten wahrgenommen werden. Die Menschen erwarten, ein ganz bestimmtes Bild von Afrika gezeigt zu bekommen. Aber für die Art von Bildern, die ich mache, spielt das keine so große Rolle, weil sie sehr ruhig sind. Ich versuche die negativen Klischees zu vermeiden, denn ich glaube, es gibt so viele bessere Dinge als Armut und Kriminalität, die sich zu fotografieren lohnen. Aber ich glaube auch, dass sich das Bild langsam wandelt, denn es gibt inzwischen viele alternative Darstellungen Afrikas in den Künsten. Die neue Generation von Künstlern hat einen positiveren Ansatz und konzentriert sich auf Themen, die sie selbst stärker machen. 

Wie gehen die Leute mit Ihren aktuelleren Bildern um, die nicht in Südafrika aufgenommen wurden, sondern unter anderem in Istanbul und Berlin? Für ein europäisches Publikum sind die Menschen und Gegenstände in Ihren Arbeiten nun nicht mehr unbekannt und exotisch.

Ich habe das Gefühl, dass die Leute in Europa daran interessiert sind, Arbeiten aus dem Ausland zu sehen. Wenn man Bilder von Europäern und ihrer Umgebung zeigt, dann interessieren sie sich weniger dafür, weil sie denken, dass sie das schon kennen. Sie wollen afrikanische Thematiken sehen. Wenn die Themen nicht afrikanisch sind, obwohl der Fotograf aus Afrika kommt, dann irritiert oder enttäuscht sie das. Aber wenn ich Fotos mache, dann lache ich darüber und konzentriere mich stattdessen auf das, was mich bewegt und was in dem Moment für mich eine Rolle spielt.

Bis vor kurzem hatten Sie in Berlin-Kreuzberg am Künstlerhaus Bethanien eine einjährige Künstlerresidenz inne. Wie ist Ihr Eindruck von Berlin? 

Die Residenz hat mir wirklich sehr viele Türen geöffnet, weil ich ganz unterschiedliche Menschen von unterschiedlichen Orten kennengelernt habe. Das hatte einen Einfluss auf mein Denken und Arbeiten. Vor der Residenz war ich sehr mit dem südafrikanischen Kontext beschäftigt, aber als ich daraus ausgebrochen war, habe ich die Dinge aus einer anderen Perspektive gesehen. Ein Jahr in Berlin zu sein hat dazu geführt, dass ich meine Arbeit überdacht habe und jetzt Dinge wahrnehme, die mir vorher nicht aufgefallen wären. Außerdem glaube ich, das Berlin eine Menge an Inspiration bietet, in Sachen Kunst, Menschen und Orten… Künstler aus ganz unterschiedlichen Ländern treffen sich dort und man wird von den Arbeiten Anderer inspiriert.

Wie wird Ihre Arbeit von internationalen Galerien, Kuratoren und Sammlern wahrgenommen?

2013 war ein tolles Jahr für mich, was internationale Residenzen und Reisen angeht. Ich habe große Unterstützung von allen Leuten und Institutionen erfahren, die ich getroffen habe. Neben dem Aufenthalt in Berlin wurde ich auch für zwei Monate von Durrant Al Funun nach Amman in Jordanien eingeladen und habe dort Arbeiten gezeigt. Das war eine weitere sehr fruchtbare Erfahrung.

Ihre jüngste Ausstellung mit dem Titel „Paradise“ bestand nicht nur aus Bildern aus Berlin…

Ja, die Fotos wurden in Berlin und Istanbul aufgenommen.

Wieso haben sie gerade diese beiden Städte ausgewählt?

Aus den einfachsten Gründen. Als ich in Berlin war, habe ich so viele türkische Migranten gesehen, die irgendwann nach dem Krieg und in den 70er Jahren nach Deutschland gekommen sind. Für mich war es also interessant, mehr über die Beziehungen der beiden Städte, aber auch über die Beziehungen der beiden Kulturen im öffentlichen Raum zu erfahren: Besonders in Kreuzberg, wo so viele Geschäfte und Teeläden von Türken betrieben und besucht werden. Und dann konnte ich noch nach Istanbul reisen, also machte es Sinn, die beiden Städte in einen Dialog zu setzen. Als ich in Berlin ankam, reizten mich diese Cafés, in denen ausschließlich türkische Männer Zeit verbringen. Die meisten Deutschen, die ich traf, waren noch nie in einem solchen Laden gewesen, besonders Frauen. Deshalb fing ich an, Frauen zu fragen, ob sie nicht mit mir in eine solches Café gehen möchten, damit ich sie porträtieren kann. Das Zögern, dort mal hinzugehen ist rein kulturell. Es gibt ja kein Gesetz, was es verbieten würde. Diese unsichtbaren Grenzen interessierten mich. 

Ihre Ausstellungen tragen häufig kurze Titel, wie „Homeland“ oder „Second Transition“. Wieso haben Sie nun das Wort „Paradise“ gewählt?

Immer wenn ich in Deutschland ankam, sagte irgendwer zu mir: „Gratulation, du hast es nach Berlin geschafft!“. Aber wenn jemand in Südafrika ankommt, dann gratulieren wir ihm nicht, wir sagen „Willkommen in Südafrika!“. Deshalb habe ich das Projekt Paradise genannt. Damit wird auch der Umstand angesprochen, dass wenn man als Afrikaner an irgendeinem Flughafen in Europa landet, einem direkt klargemacht wird, dass man aus Afrika ist, denn das Visum wird akribisch untersucht ob auch wirklich alles korrekt ist. Einmal bin ich aus Lagos nach Frankreich geflogen. Direkt als die Türen des Flugzeuges geöffnet wurden standen sie dort um unsere Pässe zu kontrollieren. Mit Paradise untersuche ich die Politik des Raumes. Einerseits wollen viele Afrikaner in Europa leben und arbeiten. Auf der anderen Seite wollen Europäer, wenn es kalt ist, in wärmere südliche Länder reisen – in eine Art Paradies. Dabei fragen sie sich nicht, wieso es so schwer für Afrikaner ist, Europa zu besuchen. Europäer können reisen wohin sie wollen und haben keine Probleme ein Visum zu erhalten – Es ist diese Ironie, die mich auf den Titel gebracht hat.
 

Thabiso Sekgalas Fotografien werden vom 3.-13. Mai 2014 in der Goodman Gallery Kapstadt gezeigt. Die Ausstellung mit dem Titel Running zeigt unter anderem Arbeiten aus Berlin und Amman. The Rise and Fall of Apartheid ist bis zum 29. Juni 2014 im Museum Africa in Newtown, Johannesburg zu sehen.