Peter Magubane on his Iconic Work

 Europeans Only, 1956. © Peter Magubane
Europeans Only, 1956. | © Peter Magubane

Peter Magubane talks to Percy Mabandu about the day he took the famous and evocative "Europeans Only" photograph 58 years ago.

He had just turned 24 and was looking to make a name for himself at the legendary Drum magazine. So he would drive through the city and walk the streets looking for good shots to impress his editors. Which is how his famous image, Europeans Only, came about. Magubane takes up the story: “I was driving on Oxford Road. I was not on assignment, but was always looking for human interest pictures … I saw these people sitting there [the nanny and child] and stopped the car.” Magubane says he just lifted his camera and took the picture. “I didn’t ask for permission. I would only apologise if a person objected to me photographing them. It was only after I took the picture that I went over and asked the lady: ‘Do you work with these people?’ She said yes and I left.”

Human interest

Europeans Only became a much-published image that showed the bizarre yet domestic nature of apartheid. It is an image that captures the unstated humanity of people involved in the everyday experience of the oppressive system that lasted more than 40 years. By law, the black woman is only allowed to sit on the Non-white side of the bench. This is behind the child who is perched on the side marked Europeans Only. The care and love they share is palpable in the nanny’s gaze. Only the child looks up at Magubane’s lens.

The ambitious young photographer headed back to the Drum newsroom to show his picture editor, the equally renowned Jürgen Schadeberg, what he’d got. The upshot was that Magubane won Drum’s monthly prize of £80 (R1 459 at today’s exchange rate) for best human interest picture.

Sorry my baas

On another hot summer’s day 58 years later, Magubane, now 82, sits in his home sharing his memories of working as a photographer at the height of apartheid. His home in old hipster Melville is a treasure trove of his collections – from antique furniture to classic cars. He speaks in short sentences, punctuated by sharp gasps of breath – a sign of his deteriorating health. Magubane’s work often got him in trouble with the apartheid state. In the early 1970s, he spent more than a year in solitary confinement. Yet the reality of hard time never put him off. He says: “Apartheid did not bother me. My work as a learning photographer came first. I would die for a picture. I remember I went to Parliament and saw the prime minister. I don’t remember whether it was [DF] Malan or [Hendrik] Verwoerd sitting in an office – I just walked in and took the picture. “He jumped up and asked: ‘What are you doing?’ I said, ‘Sorry my baas’ and walked away.”

We laugh and move on to other topics of conversation. 
 

Europeans Only and other images by Peter Magubane are featured in The Rise and Fall of Apartheid: Photography and the Bureaucracy of Everyday Life at Museum Africa in Johannesburg. Coinciding with the 20th anniversary of democracy in South Africa, this award-winning exhibition, organized by the International Center of Photography, and curated by Okwui Enwezor with Rory Bester, offers an unprecedented and comprehensive historical overview of the pictorial response to apartheid. The Goethe-Institut South Africa supports the exhibition as a partner.

The Rise and Fall of Apartheid: Photography and the Bureaucracy of Everyday Life
13.02.2014 – 29.06.2014 at Museum Africa, Newtown, Johannesburg

Magubanes exhibition, A Struggle without Documentation is no Struggle, a retrospective of his work, ran from 18.02. – 13.03.2014 at the Absa Gallery in Johannesburg.

Picture Perfect Peter Magubane über sein ikonisches Werk

 Europeans Only, 1956. © Peter Magubane
© Peter Magubane

Peter Magubane spricht mit Percy Mabandu über den Tag vor 58 Jahren, an dem er dieses berühmte und aufrüttelnde Foto schoss. 

Im Sommer 1956 begann Peter Magubane eine fotografische Laufbahn, die ihn zu einem der Meister seines Fachs in Südafrika gemacht hat. Er war gerade 24 geworden und wollte sich beim legendären Drum Magazin einen Namen machen. So fuhr er durch die Stadt und lief durch die Straßen, auf der Suche nach einem guten Foto um die Redakteure zu beeindrucken. Auf diese Weise kam sein berühmtes Bild Nur Europäer zustande. Magubane erzählt: “Ich fuhr auf der Oxford Road. Es war kein Auftrag, aber ich schaute mich nach Fotos mit menschlichem Aspekt um … dann sah ich das Kindermädchen mit dem Kind und hielt das Auto an.” Magubane sagt, er hob die Kamera an und schoss das Bild. “Ich fragte nicht nach Erlaubnis. Ich hätte mich nur entschuldigt, wenn eine der fotografierten Personen einen Einwand erhoben hätte. Erst nachdem ich das Bild gemacht hatte, lief ich zu der Frau und fragte: ‚Arbeiten Sie bei diesen Leuten?‘ Sie sagte ja und ich ging.”

Menschlicher Aspekt

Nur Europäer wurde zum oft gedruckten Foto, das die bizarre und doch häusliche Natur der Apartheid zeigte. Das Bild fängt die unausgesprochene Menschlichkeit derjenigen ein, für die das unterdrückerische System, das mehr als 40 Jahre andauerte, zum alltäglichen Erleben gehörte. Nach Gesetz durfte die schwarze Frau einzig auf der nicht-weißen Seite der Bank sitzen. Dies ist hinter dem Kind, das auf der mit Nur Europäer markierten Seite sitzt. Die Fürsorge und Zuneigung ist im Blick des Kindermädchens spürbar. Nur das Kind schaut in Magubanes Kameralinse.

Der ehrgeizige junge Fotograf fuhr zurück zum Newsroom von Drum wo er dem nicht weniger berühmten Bildredakteur Jürgen Schadeberg sein Foto zeigte. Magubanes Ausbeute war der Gewinn von Drums monatlichem Preis (£80, zum heutigen Wechselkurs 1459 Rand) für das beste Foto in der Kategorie „menschlicher Aspekt“.

Entschuldige Boss

An einem heißen Sommertag 58 Jahre später sitzt der heute 82-jährige Magubane in seinem Haus und teilt seine Erinnerungen als Fotograf zum Höhepunkt der Apartheid. Sein Zuhause im alten hippen Stadtteil Melville ist eine Schatztruhe – seine Sammlung reicht von antiken Möbeln bis hin zu klassischen Autos. Er spricht in kurzen Sätzen, betont durch keuchende Atemzüge –  ein Zeichen seiner schwindenden Gesundheit. Magubanes Arbeit brachte ihn oft in Schwierigkeiten mit dem Apartheidsstaat. In den frühen 70er-Jahren verbrachte er über ein Jahr in Einzelhaft. Doch die Realität dieser harten Zeit schreckte ihn nie ab. Er sagt: “Die Apartheid kümmerte mich nicht. Meine Arbeit als lernender Fotograf stand an erster Stelle. Ich wäre für ein Bild gestorben. Ich erinnere mich, als ich zum Parlament ging und den Premierminister sah. Ich erinnere mich nicht, ob DF Malan oder Hendrik Verwoerd in einem der Büros saß  – ich lief einfach hinein und schoss das Bild. Er sprang auf und fragte: ‘Was tust du?’ Ich sagte, ‘Sorry my baas’ (Entschuldige Boss) und lief weg.”

Wir lachen und wenden uns anderen Gesprächsthemen zu.
 

Nur Europäer und weitere Fotos von Peter Magubane sind in der Ausstellung The Rise and Fall of Apartheid: Photography and the Bureaucracy of Everyday Life im Museum Africa in Johannesburg zu sehen. Diese preisgekrönte Ausstellung fällt mit dem 20-jährigen Jubiläum der südafrikanischen Demokratie zusammen. Organisiert vom International Center of Photography und kuratiert von Okwui Enwezor, zusammen mit Rory Bester, bietet die Ausstellung einen beispiellosen und umfassenden historischen Rückblick auf die bildliche Reaktion auf die Apartheid. Das Goethe-Institut Südafrika ist einer der Partner der Ausstellung.

The Rise and Fall of Apartheid: Photography and the Bureaucracy of Everyday Life
13.02.2014 – 29.06.2014 im Museum Africa, Newtown, Johannesburg

Magubanes Einzelausstellung A Struggle without Documentation is no Struggle, eine Retrospektive seiner Arbeit, war vom 18.02. bis zum 13.03.2014 in der Kunstgalerie der Absa Bank in Johannesburg zu sehen.